Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miss May Vernon Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 552 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

As previously stated by other posters, the principal can be overbearing. However, the teachers here are, for the most part, top-notch individuals who cherish my son as if he were one of their own. My child's teachers are almost always available at the drop of a hat for an email or a phone call. I've never felt unwelcome and am encouraged to attend as much as I can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2014

Im very happy with the 4th grade teachers. They have helped my son tremendously in reading and writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

I am glad to see some parents are finally beginning to speak out. This could be a great school. We have had good experiences with most of teachers at this school. A school will always take on the personality of its administration.. If you have a negative attitude, so will your staff. So much for good ethics. I would not advise anyone to move in this school district. This needs to change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

The principal here is rude as another person previously said. She should be fired immediately! She has no self control if she gets the slightest bit annoyed. She will yell at parents in front of children for the smallest of things. She is a hotheaded principal, and I am sure that most people do not want their kids looking up to a leader figure with her kind of attitude. On a positive note, my daughter loves this school, and every teacher she has had over the past 3 years have been excellent. I would have given the school a 5 star rating if they would just get rid of the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

My son is in his second year at Miss May Vernon and so far we love it. The teachers we have interacted with have been kind and caring but also have high expectations (as it should be!). It seems like the teachers and staff really make it a point to get to know all of the students. This school also has an awesome Gifted and Talented program, led by a GT specialist teacher. I have been very pleased with the quality of my son's education and would highly recommend Miss May Vernon for any potential future students/parents moving to the Fate area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

Miss May Vernon is AWESOME!!! I can't ask for a better staff teaching our kids. They treat my son how I would treat him and use kindness and love in their classroom and school. I am thankful everyday for the time that the whole staff puts into preparing for our kids. I am have subbed, volunteered and I am on the PTO board. I LOVE EVERY mintute i get to spend at Miss May Vernon and look forward to the new year!!!!! I know i dont say it enough but THANK YOU FOR ALL YOU DO
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

Principal here is extremely rude & disrespectful! She aggressively yelled at me for a senseless reason in front of her staff and students. Anyone with authority whom finds delight in belittling people shouldn't be in charge! I hope this woman gets her act together or I'll be seeing with the school board!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

I have had 2 children go thru May Vernon and have had not one complaint. My youngest is now moving on to Herndon (another great school). The teachers and staff are truly incredible folks. If you are thinking if moving to Royse City/Fate this is the area to be in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Miss May Vernon is an outstanding Elementary school with a rating of Exemplary. Our entire family loves being involved in school functions. I am proud of the students and teaching personnel at Miss May Vernon Elementary.


Posted July 3, 2009

The teachers, staff and admin are very caring and helpful. the teachers that my son has had were always open and willing to see and/or talk to me at any time. My son and I have enjoyed being here for the past 2 years. The teachers work hard and have achieved an exemplary rating for these first 2 years of being open!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

I feel that the teachers and staff at this school truly care for each of the kids as though they were their own children. Thank you for taking care of our kids and teaching them so many valuable things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

Love this school The teachers are wonderful and encourage parent envolvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

The schools are behind in their teaching, most of the teachers do not appear to be fond of children and in some cases, they are quite rude. One of the teachers tells the students to 'shut up' all of the time. That is truly not acceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

Super school, with a Texas Education rating of an Exemplary Campus. This school opened Aug. 2007 and within one year has met the challenge of developing a strong community spirit as well as a top academic rating! We are proud of the students and staff of Miss May Vernon Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

89 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

90 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

89 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female96%
Male90%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male96%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education89%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students97%
Female100%
Male94%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education100%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female89%
Male84%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education71%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students81%
Female83%
Male78%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education25%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented91%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female89%
Male84%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students85%
Female91%
Male78%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education60%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students87%
Female89%
Male85%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education60%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 31%
Hispanic 31% 50%
Black 7% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Paula Walker
Fax number
  • (972) 722-8577

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Miss May Dr
Fate, TX 75132
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 635-5006

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT