Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Floresville High School 3

Posted February 24, 2013
- a community member
This school isn't a bad school by any means. However, budget cuts are beginning to become too much to cope with. Teachers haven't recieved raises in 4 years and any teachers and staff that leave or retire are not replaced. So class sizes have climbed dramatically. These two things are beginning to erode the morale of teachers and staff. The quality of eduaction here will begin to take a hit as things get worse and worse. Pretty unfortunate, because there are great students and great teachers here that deserve the best.

Floresville High School 3

Posted November 13, 2012
- a student
This is both an excellent AND poor school. Some of the teachers do everything they can to help the student, going above and beyond the call of duty. However, with budget cuts, there are a lot of teachers that are too busy worrying about "How will I teach the test? How will I get them through all of this material in time?" Schools, especially FHS, are too focused on test scores. Also, whoever retires/leaves, is NOT replaced. This year (2012), a librarian retired. Now the library is closed often and is inaccessible to students because there is only one librarian who cannot be there all of the time. I personally have had to transfer into regular classes from Pre-AP and AP because the course load was too much. It was understandable, and I could have easily gotten it done- if the teachers had slowed down and taken the time to explain it! But they get a bad review if all of the material isn't covered in time, so students can get neglected. The Theater and English department are very good, and CSCOPE is ruining the school. Oh, and can we PLEASE have some more languages?? Spanish isn't enough. And a choir! Go Tigers and Jaguars!


Floresville High School 5

Posted December 02, 2009
- a student
this school is nice its smaller then most and teachers realy help you

Floresville High School 4

Posted April 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Floresville High School 1

Posted April 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Floresville High School 1

Posted February 25, 2009
- a parent
This school slacks. You can go through a whole week and not have homework, even in all 'advanced classes' teachers are not strict enough and learning is slowed by classroom distractions. However, Athletic programs are starting to excell..

Floresville High School 2

Posted February 14, 2008
- a student
Sports isn't the only factor here; the school's review is based on the test scores and ability to actually learn. While I would have to say this school is growing building wise, it certainly isn't helping the education...not yet at least. For example; our only language choice is Spanish. Why not French? German? Even Japanese would add some excitement! The teachers are good but some students, like always, disrupt class. So this, again, lowers the education and learning ability. I can only hope that FHS has a better education with the 'Brand new' high school getting built.

Floresville High School 5

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
Floresville is an excellent school. They have an excellent football team.


Floresville High School 5

Posted June 19, 2006
- a student
i think this school is an excellent school overall students excell wonderfully and the teachers are very good

Floresville High School 4

Posted May 07, 2006
- a former student
Floresville is a growing community, therefore the schools are rapidly expanding as well. In the past few years the town has built a new elementary and middle school, but the high school has been unaltered for the most part. Sports are promoted a lot, and there are many to choose from. Other extracurricular activities are available (i.e., science club, student council, business professionals of america) but participation seems to be limited to the same few students who are interested. There seems to be a noticeable turnover in teachers year after year, but the good ones always stay (and usually teach the AP classes). The Advanced Placement (AP) classes are excellent, so if your child really wants to learn that is the best route to go. I think Floresville schools have a lot to offer, but the key is how are they going to adapt to the increase in population.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Floresville High School
1813 Tiger Lane, Floresville, TX  78114
(830) 393-5370
Last modified Floresville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Floresville High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top