Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Floresville High School 2

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
If you like small minds and small town politics in the school, then this is YOUR school! However, if you want your child to attend a place that is fair and inclusive for every student, even those who are not native to Floresville, then you want to avoid moving here and/or sending your kid here. This is especially true of the athletic programs. They have a student handbook and code of conduct, but act like it is written in pencil and they change the rules based on WHO the student, parent or staff member is. I am very glad that my youngest is almost finished here, I just wish I had known about this school prior to moving into Floresville a few years ago.

Floresville High School 3

Posted February 24, 2013
- a community member
This school isn't a bad school by any means. However, budget cuts are beginning to become too much to cope with. Teachers haven't recieved raises in 4 years and any teachers and staff that leave or retire are not replaced. So class sizes have climbed dramatically. These two things are beginning to erode the morale of teachers and staff. The quality of eduaction here will begin to take a hit as things get worse and worse. Pretty unfortunate, because there are great students and great teachers here that deserve the best.


Floresville High School 3

Posted November 13, 2012
- a student
This is both an excellent AND poor school. Some of the teachers do everything they can to help the student, going above and beyond the call of duty. However, with budget cuts, there are a lot of teachers that are too busy worrying about "How will I teach the test? How will I get them through all of this material in time?" Schools, especially FHS, are too focused on test scores. Also, whoever retires/leaves, is NOT replaced. This year (2012), a librarian retired. Now the library is closed often and is inaccessible to students because there is only one librarian who cannot be there all of the time. I personally have had to transfer into regular classes from Pre-AP and AP because the course load was too much. It was understandable, and I could have easily gotten it done- if the teachers had slowed down and taken the time to explain it! But they get a bad review if all of the material isn't covered in time, so students can get neglected. The Theater and English department are very good, and CSCOPE is ruining the school. Oh, and can we PLEASE have some more languages?? Spanish isn't enough. And a choir! Go Tigers and Jaguars!

Floresville High School 5

Posted December 02, 2009
- a student
this school is nice its smaller then most and teachers realy help you

Floresville High School 1

Posted February 25, 2009
- a parent
This school slacks. You can go through a whole week and not have homework, even in all 'advanced classes' teachers are not strict enough and learning is slowed by classroom distractions. However, Athletic programs are starting to excell..


Floresville High School 2

Posted February 14, 2008
- a student
Sports isn't the only factor here; the school's review is based on the test scores and ability to actually learn. While I would have to say this school is growing building wise, it certainly isn't helping the education...not yet at least. For example; our only language choice is Spanish. Why not French? German? Even Japanese would add some excitement! The teachers are good but some students, like always, disrupt class. So this, again, lowers the education and learning ability. I can only hope that FHS has a better education with the 'Brand new' high school getting built.

Floresville High School 5

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
Floresville is an excellent school. They have an excellent football team.

Floresville High School 5

Posted June 19, 2006
- a student
i think this school is an excellent school overall students excell wonderfully and the teachers are very good


Floresville High School 4

Posted May 07, 2006
- a student
Floresville is a growing community, therefore the schools are rapidly expanding as well. In the past few years the town has built a new elementary and middle school, but the high school has been unaltered for the most part. Sports are promoted a lot, and there are many to choose from. Other extracurricular activities are available (i.e., science club, student council, business professionals of america) but participation seems to be limited to the same few students who are interested. There seems to be a noticeable turnover in teachers year after year, but the good ones always stay (and usually teach the AP classes). The Advanced Placement (AP) classes are excellent, so if your child really wants to learn that is the best route to go. I think Floresville schools have a lot to offer, but the key is how are they going to adapt to the increase in population.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Floresville High School
1813 Tiger Lane, Floresville, TX  78114
(830) 393-5370
Last modified Floresville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Floresville High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top