Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
637 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coram Deo Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
Students work hard, but the work is purposeful not busy work. The school's writing program is especially strong.

Coram Deo Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
The students are challenged in every area, but also given the support they need to succeed. They find out that they are able to do more than they ever thought. Hard work pays off at CDA.


Coram Deo Academy 5

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
My daughter attended CDA from kindergarten all the way through high school graduation. She was challenged to excel in all subject areas and also able to participate in a variety of extra-curricular activities. It is not at all unusual at CDA for a football player to be in the school play and on the debate team--the school's size and flexibility allow the students to try out different activities. The teachers were excellent, supporting our daughter's academic and spiritual growth. Perhaps the best thing about the school is the culture as a whole. The tone is set by the administration, but carried out through the families and the students themselves--warm, welcoming, and serious about following Christ.

Coram Deo Academy 5

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
CDA has been an absolute blessing to our family. Our daughter is finishing first grade and her love for learning has blossomed beyond belief. The attention shown our child by the teachers and staff demonstrates how passionate they are for their work. The two-day a week home school aspect keeps us involved in her curriculum on a daily basis. For us CDA is the perfect mix – classical Christian education, the understanding that the parents are the primary educators of our children (I cringe every time I hear a school board trustee say “our children”), small class room size, athletics with a smaller-scale community feel, and genuine friendships and relationships with other CDA families. The investment in time and tuition may seem daunting at first but the reward is incredible.

Coram Deo Academy
Grateful to: Parent

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
The staff and teachers deservingly get a lot of credit. But the other families are tremendous. The welcome new families with open arms, hold classes and seminars on preparing for the two day per week home school work and they are a constant source of support to my wife.


Coram Deo Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
Our teacher has gone out of her way time and time again to endear herself to our daughter. It's truly amazing her love for teaching.

Coram Deo Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter attends Monday and Wednesday. Tuesday is our "crunch day" - we clear the decks to get a lot done. Thursday is a moderate day but we also leave time on Friday and the weekend to do some reviews and quizzes. It's not too much, she's prepared when going back to class Monday.

Coram Deo Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
We see it in how our daughter relates to her younger brother. CDA is helping develop a wonderful bond between the siblings.


Coram Deo Academy 5

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
CDA is an extraordinary school unlike any other in the area. My children have attended CDA in Flower Mound since first grade and are now in the CDA high school or college. The classical curriculum, taught from a Christian worldview, develops critical thinking skills that cross all disciplines. The curriculum provides a solid educational foundation for lifelong learning. My college student felt well prepared for college Honors classes - both the humanities classes and the math/science classes. The CDA faculty have a heart for teaching and pour themselves into their students. If a student is willing to learn, the CDA teachers will do whatever is necessary for that student to succeed. Students are encouraged to develop their God-given abilities for the glory of God. The choir, drama and band programs are truly remarkable. The lack of facilities develops the students' grit and flexibility - they can make do with whatever they have to work with. The athletic programs are welcoming to all students. CDA likes to win (and win we do!), but that is not the primary goal of all the activities. The primary goal is developing ethical servant leaders who will shape culture for the glory of God Almighty. The administration is wonderful. They are creative and welcoming to new ideas. CDA is not the easy way to educate your children. But I can't imagine any better model than the CDA model - Classical, Christian, Collaborative. Our family has been incredibly blessed by CDA.

Coram Deo Academy 5

Posted February 14, 2016
- a parent
CDA (Flower Mound Campus) is a diamond in the rough! My children have been attending CDA for over nine years. The administration is outstanding in their communication, devotion and love for our students. The teachers from Grammar all the way through High School have been fabulous -- they truly get to know the student's hearts---they are not just looking at academic performance. The teachers are invested in the students success and bend over backwards to help them if they are in need. The Christian World View is part of every subject, and CDA does a solid job of preparing the students to defend their faith when facing the realities of college/life after high school. The counselor is superior at keeping the seniors and their parents abreast of the intricate application process and the many due dates. I recommend CDA to anyone looking for a challenging, God-centered, college-prep education with educators who truly love their students!

Nearby schools

Coram Deo Academy
4900 Wichita Trail, Flower Mound, TX  75022
(682) 237-0232
Last modified Coram Deo Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top