Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marjory Vickery Elementary School 1

Posted October 11, 2014
- a parent
This Principal is a bully to its staff, its plain and simple. Schools promote and have programs in place against bullying and this school has a bully for its leader. This is unacceptable and I would NEVER send my child to this school.

Marjory Vickery Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
Between both of my boys we've been at the school for 6 years total and have been overall very happy with the school, principal, teachers, and staff. Any questions or issues we've had were all handled quickly and appropriately. PTA does a lot of fun and FREE activities for the school, and the Grateful Dads are a fun presence on campus. Communication is consistent, and most importantly open. LISD has made a lot of changes over the past few years to the curriculum design, and this school has done a great job of embracing the new culture in the district with lessons and classes focusing more on being driven from the inside out in line with the Strategic Design concepts rolled out.


Marjory Vickery Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
We just moved to Lewisville this summer from one of the top rated school districts in Texas - Highland Park ISD. I have to say that Vickery has already impressed us in many ways. Our 2nd grader has Ms O'Brien who is great with the kiddos! Our 3rd grader has Ms Blaylock who has also been very pleasant! The carpool lines are very organized and easy to understand. Principal Cheatham seems genuinely interested in the lives of her student body, and is really good at communicating things to parents as well. We LOVE the diversity here, and our girls are experiencing exactly what they need to grow into well adjusted middle schoolers, high schoolers, and adults. They can hardly stop talking about their "great day" at pickup time. Thank you Vickery for being a solid example that other elementary schools could learn a few things from.

Marjory Vickery Elementary School 4

Posted September 04, 2014
- a community member
pfff, parents with issues stop posting rubbish. School is not meant to be fun but educational, if you want your kids to have fun take them to Disney. No human is naturally enjoying authority and school is about authority. Stop getting in the way of educators you have no clue how to be a teacher. Our (US) education system is one of the worst (exception Uganda) in the world just because parents have too much authority over teachers. If a teacher is not good kick him/her out but stop interfering with education just because you can... after all some of you accept that common sense is not common...

Marjory Vickery Elementary School 1

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
I agree with the principal being a bully and yes this school looks nice inside and out but it lacks any kind of structure. I get dirty/weird looks from the office staff especially the principal, rude phone calls and emails, and if you have questions about anything be prepared to be talked to like you are a complete idiot. I've had that happen on numerous occasions and watched staff do it to many others. My son is dyslexic and his teacher wants to hold him back as of 5 weeks ago, but she has NOT returned my calls or responded to any of the 6 emails i've sent. This school will NOT excuse any absence without a doctors note, so if you are like me and can't afford to pay for a doctor visit every time your child is ill this is NOT the school for you, you will be a prime target for the principal for truancy. She has no sympathy for tragedies like a close family member dying, or being diagnosed with cancer.


Marjory Vickery Elementary School 1

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
Anything negative from prior reviews is unfortunately true. No leadership or positive, productive leadership whatsoever. The principal is hateful and pray your child going into their first year of school here doesn't have any kind of learning disability because he/she will not get the help or time from a teacher who really wants to help educate a child/parent on how to still have a successful school career despite having a LD. This school doesn't deserve even half a star. STAFF IS JUDGEMENTAL AND FAR FROM CARING OR HELPFUL.

Marjory Vickery Elementary School 1

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
I have 4 children. I would not recommend this school. LISD needs to wake up and realize that the principal is a bully and holds a hostile work environment for the staff. They have no structure for students with disabilities. DO NOT send your children there. The principal worked in the prison system before she began her education career.

Marjory Vickery Elementary School 5

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
I just wanted to say what a great job the staff and faculty do at Vickery! My son was blessed to have amazing teachers especially Ms. W. who taught him 1st and 2nd grade. She was amazing and really encouraged him academically. She was also great about communicating with me as well, regarding my son's progress. Even though he transferred to another school, he loves and misses Vickery.


Marjory Vickery Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2013
- a parent
I completely disagree with the parent that says teachers and principal don't care. We went to this school and a different school. My family would LOVE to be back at this school. The teachers are wonderful. They do more for the students and on their own time too. The communication between teacher, parent, principal and PTA is the best out of all the schools we have been to. They really care about the students not just to succeed but their well being. We have never had any problems. Keep it up. This is a great school.

Marjory Vickery Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
My son has been at Vickery a few years now and loves it. He has amazing teachers and they really care about the quality of education they provide. I have to say the PTA does a great job with all of fun events they put on for the kids and the school. Lots of parents get involved to help out as well like the Scholastic Book Fair and Grateful Dads to name a few. The office staff is very helpful and the principals are terrific!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marjory Vickery Elementary School
3301 Wager Road, Flower Mound, TX  75028
(469) 713-5969
Last modified Marjory Vickery Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marjory Vickery Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top