Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Venable Village Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 534 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fort Hood

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $89,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

I just got out of 5th grade on June 5,2014. It was such a awesome learning experience for me!


Posted April 26, 2014

My son has gone to Venable Village for 2 years now, Pre-K, and K. I give his Kindergarten teacher 5 stars, she has a genuine interest in the kids, and reaches out to parents. However, the principal and administrative staff in the office are awful. When you walk in the office you are greated with attitude and unpleastantness - unexpected and shocking for an elementary school. You would think it would be pleasant and friendly, but never once have I been greated with anything close to that. The closed campus is weird and off-putting. How can a parent not be able to visit their child at school or eat lunch with them?? I can't wait to PCS. If it weren't for my sons Kindergarten teacher I would have tried to move or pull my kid out. This is not the case for all the teachers, I have heard horror stories about other teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

Loved this school. The best teacher and staff. we just moved and already miss this wonderful school and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Venable Village is a newer school.... My child has done very well, and the teacher seems exceptional, with a very genuine interest in his well-being. My only complaint, is what other reviews have already touched on---- 'the unfriendly' office. Just the looks I get, I feel like I am in trouble when I walk through the doors. I wish it was more of a friendly, smiling, happy feeling, but it isn't. - Also, I think the not allowed to eat with your child if you wish is kinda strange. Have a special table so it is not a distraction- maybe just for birthdays, or special occasions... Loosen up a bit. geez.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

Front staff is rude. The teachers are okay but really strict which is not for every child. Any behavior that is not good behavior gets the child written up. Some kids need more instructions and they don't give that to them. They rather punish a child instead of teaching them. The school is in relatively new shape compared to other schools we have seen. The parent drop of in the mornings is nice for those who need to rush off to work but would like to walk my kids into the school. The parent pick up is horrible unless you go 30-40 minutes before school gets out its hard to find parking. And people are rude parking side ways instead of straight in and out to get more cars in. Kids get walked out at different times never the same time daily and often the bell rings when we are getting in our vehicles. There is a walking trail but its over a mile to the school and there are bugs/bees/wasp on the way home. Parent's are not allowed in the school only in the office and then escorted into the bldg after signing in. They have volunteers but very limited not seen any PTA involvement since we have been here. Can't wait to move so my kids can be educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

When my kids started 3 years ago it was a pretty nice school. One day I had to pick my child up about 20 min early because she had hurt herself. As I was leaving the parking lot, a teacher aid stopped me to inform me that the parking lot was closed between the hours of 2:45-3:30 or somewhere close to those times. I explained to her that I was there before the time that it closed and it was because my child was injured. She told me it doesn't matter what I was there for or what time I got there if the parking lot is closed then it is closed and she was rude about it. I contacted the principle to inform her and all the principle said was that it was too bad that the teacher's aid wasn't as nice as I would like her to be. I recently had a another concern and contacted the principle to assist me with it. When I was voicing my concern in a very respectful way because I do understand I had fault she was very rude and didn't even let me finish my 2nd sentence! I asked her not to interrupt me because I wasn't done but she kept talking. The principle and office staff keep getting more disrespectful as the years come. I will say that all of the teachers have been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

I love this school! My child was in Kindergarden las year and is now in first grade. I am so sad to have to leave this school in about a month because we are moving. I wish we could take this school with us!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

If you want to send your child to a punitive, military environment then send them to this school. I had lunch with my kids and couldn't believe the drill sergeant atmosphere. Also, there is no accountability for the unprofessional behavior of the teachers. We are currently looking for another place to live to get our kids out of this school.


Posted July 30, 2012

This school is #1 for a reason! My daughter went here for pre-k and had mrs.ibarra. She loved her teacher and the school. The principal is very informative and nice. The councelors are there for you. I am moving this year to another neighborhood but am going to be driving the distance to say at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2012

My son went to this school for Pre-k and Kindergarten. Don't get fooled by the exemplary rating. The principle advocates for the teachers and not the parents. The only skill she has is talking too much! No one is holding the teachers accountable. It's always the parents fault. The only good thing going for this school is the school counselor. It takes Zeus to just have lunch with my son. The "discipline" secretary is unfriendly, rude, and is a good example of my impression of this school. It is extremely militarized with kids walking at parade rest and act as though they have a "bubble" in their mouth as to not talk. Mrs. Cooper, although overwhelmed with the extravacant number of students in her class, was described as "mean" by my son and that "she screams a lot". I went to a B-day party of one of my son's classmates and the parents said similar things. I want a school environment that reinforces my child's positive attributes and not constant ridicule to him just being a typical 6-year-old. As a matter of fact, I am moving out of Pershing Park into a better school district where parent involvement isn't riduculed and teachers won't label my child as an imp.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2012

I love this school and hope the next school my daughter goes to can match up to this one! We are ETSing and I'm nervous because we enjoyed the teachers, the staff, the learning process and the safety of the school. My child has excelled tremendously. I was a volunteer for several months and was able to witness the workings inside the school. All of the staff I encountered were professional, helpful, and truly had a love for the children they taught. They find creative ways to help children with all sorts of learning techniques. These teachers completely bless my heart. I have personal reasons to love the security at this school as well. Hopefully our next school will be this great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2012

the school is the worst ....they dont do anything to help stop or prevent the bullying on the kids...these children are not soldiers! you want the kids to respect you .how about respecting them as well as their parents...and not talk down to them (parents) like they are idots...the prinicpal also needs to just retire she is a joke...there are a couple teachers that i think are awesome ...but overall i wouldnt recommend this school for nothing


Posted March 25, 2012

I have been very happy with this school. The exemplary rating is not due to teaching only the TAKS test. My children have experienced a well rounded educational program at Venable. The staff has always been friendly and concerned about my children and family. Venable Village is one of the best schools in the Killeen/Ft Hood area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

***I really don't understand what these people are talking about! Also one of the rules in this website is that you can't name teachers and personnel*** I'm a military spouse and I have moved several times, so I know a difference between a good and bad schools, and school personnel. This is the best school my children have gone to. One of my boys was in special ed, ( AUTISM) these especially are the best teachers and IEP/ ARD team you could ever dream of. Experienced, dedicated and they love children. They are so good that my son ( we moved again) got a IEP meeting to review his status and his progress was so amazing that it got dismissed = he doesn't need special education anymore. I OWE THIS TO MY SPECIAL ED TEACHER AND THE TEAM TO HELPED THIS HAPPEN. THEY MADE THIS POSSIBLE FOR MY SON, WITHOUT THEM HE WOULD NEVER SPOKE. HE IS A REGULAR STUDENT IN REGULAR CLASSROOM EDUCATION. THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF AND SINCE I CAN'T NAME, THANK YOU, MY DEAR BELOVED TEACHER, SPECIAL ED TEACHER = MRS. G*****
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

The last years I would say that I was satisfied with the school but this year I encountered a big problem. My daughters teacher was extremely rude and unkind to the children. If my daughter did her homework for the next night on accident, I stead of the teacher just giving her praise for being ahead, she would literally erase my daughters homework and make her do it again. Also, during the middle of the year, my daughter came home telling me that her teacher already told the class the three names of the students that would not be going to pass to the second grade!!! Talk about privacy! Also my husband had a car accident and my daughter was absent from school that day. When she was approached by her teacher asking how come she was absent the day before, my daughter told her and instead of showing compassion and concern to my child she said... "that is no excuse for you to stay home.". It made me sick to hear my daughter say that to me while crying her eyes out because her teacher humiliated her in front of the class. When I took her out and told the principal, she acted like nothing was wrong in her eyes with her staff... Horrible!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

Office lady that signs children in and out is a complete WITCH. Very sarcastic and unfriendly. My child has many appointments for medical reasons and every time I sign her out she snickers " oh, wonder what it is for this time." Plus my child is singled out by teacher. If two kids are caught talking, only mine seems to be written up. Plus I have requested extra tutoring and my countless requests have gone unanswered. Teacher talks down to me during meetings, and says she has to bring "her class" down to my childs level once a day to get my child to work on same level as class. Worst part was it was said infront of my child. My child is denied requests to see nurse and today had a bloody nose and my child was to scared to ask teacher to see nurse. I am also not allowed to eat with my child and have been denied an observation day. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL. I will be switching ASAP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

Awesome school !!! My kids went there from pre-k all the way through 5th grade with no problems. I miss all the wonderful teachers. couldn't ask for a better school.:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

My daughter went to school here in Pre-K and 1st grade and she excelled! She struggled the year before but this school has such a wonderful and caring staff and I couldnt have asked for more! My only dislike was the pick-up process at the end of the day. Its so hot there and to have to park down the street and then stand outside was horrible for not only me but the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

The parents are NOT allowed to eat meals with their children. This is the ONLY school in the entire district with this closed door policy. Parents are not allowed to have any input in their children's education. If any complaints are put forward the parent is automatically blamed. The students that are dropped off in the morning are locked outside the school and left unattended for 5 minutes every morning. The Principal has instructed that the staff is not to let them in the building until 7:30, but the drop off time in the student hand book, letters home, and the "Tuesday" folder all state drop off time is 7:25. The District has been made aware of this but refuses to do anything about it. The school has not sent home or advertised ANY change in the school policy regarding drop off times. this started in Jan. 2011. Bullying is a HUGE problem at this school and nothing is ever done about it. Some of these poor kids go home an emotional wreck everyday. If I could leave zero stars for principal leadership I would. I put 1 star for parental involvement because they are not allowed to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2011

The principal is the biggest problem in this school. She s does not care about the students and parents. The teachers and staff are very disrespectful. They do not like parents with high education standards for their children. My child is learning absolute nothing but the TAKS test twice a day. I know now why the school is receiving exemplary school recognition because of grades on the TAKS test, that s all they seem to teach. We went to talk to the principal about my child not getting hardly any homework and taking any test, and the principal answers that is not important if my child is doing good at school and she always answers with We Are An Exemplary School . Parent s involvement not allowed this is very suspicious. I feel that kids are not really learning anything here at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

74 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

74 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

50 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

50 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

54 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education88%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education88%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female100%
Male79%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students88%
Female100%
Male79%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students91%
Female100%
Male82%
Black or African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students96%
Female96%
Male97%
Black or African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education80%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students98%
Female96%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education83%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female100%
Male82%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education63%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students81%
Female79%
Male82%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education75%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female89%
Male75%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students68%
Female72%
Male65%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students74%
Female70%
Male79%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female79%
Male91%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education60%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students76%
Female68%
Male83%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special education33%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented80%
Non-Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students63%
Female47%
Male77%
Black or African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education33%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 29%
Hispanic 27% 52%
Black 18% 13%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 7%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 7%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • CYNTHIA POTVIN
Fax number
  • (254) 519-5632

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

60160 Venable Road
Fort Hood, TX 76544
Website: Click here
Phone: (254) 336-1980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT