Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Worth Country Day School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fort Worth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $300,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2014

I am a junior at Fort Worth Country Day, and I can tell you it is a great school. The academics are rigorous, and I definitely feel challenged. The teachers great, and very caring. The administrative staff is phenomenal. All the students get along, and friendships last forever. All the college students who come back to visit say Country Day has more than prepared them for college, and they don't just mean in the academic sense.


Posted June 16, 2014

This school has the best faculty and staff who truly care about each student and students who actually respect each other. Students will leave their MacBook Pro, wallet, and iPhone on top of a trash can for several periods and come back to find not a single dollar missing; however, a bag of chips will be gone in 5 minutes so guard all snacks. The curriculum is hard but totally worth all the extra studying. Great safe environment where anyone can fit in well!


Posted May 28, 2014

They have let go of 30% of the lower school teachers this year! The Lower school head needs to be fired! Parents are in an uproar over this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

The workload is too much at FWCD. I am in 8th grade, and I have around 4 hours of homework each night, and the work is too advanced. The teachers never seem to know what other teachers have assigned. There is no parent involvement either. Overall. I have had a very bad expierience at Country Day, and plan to move schools next year.


Posted December 27, 2013

FWCD is a very good school. The teachers encourage us to work hard everyday. Not only are we challenged with higher levels of thinking, Country Day also teaches us core values. Respect, courage, integrity, kindness, scholarship, and responsibility. Yes, you will find a few snobby, mean, and disrespectful kids, but there are people like that at any school you go to. I have been to 6 different schools. Some of which were private and some were public, but overall Fort Worth Country Day is the best I've been to. I have never been happier at a school in my life.


Posted October 23, 2013

Fort Worth Country Day is a brand new experience. You will watch them struggle through classes, however there will never be a doubt in their mind that the are learning twice as much as you did as a child EVERY DAY! Students that graduate from FWCD are going to college and placing out of classes. let me repeat that.... YOUR CHILD WILL HAVE THE MATH SKILLS OF A SENIOR IN COLLEGE! They will leave knowing how to solve problems, speak, read, invent, write, perform, compete, study, observe, and live the most intellectual life they could have. Country Day creates challenged, caring, intelligent students who will without a doubt be the top of their classes in college. Is it an uphill battle for me as a freshman, sure, but there is a reason why Im looking forward to everyday at Country Day. Everyday there is another day of learning. It is getting closer to graduation. And guess what, IM SO EXCITED TO GO TO COLLEGE! Im looking forward to being that student that can challenge my professor with questions after class because the class is not challenging enough. I would not be expecting this without the preparation that Fort Worth Country Day has given me.


Posted October 13, 2012

This school is incredible! We are a new family this year with a child in lower school and one in middle school. All I can say is how impressed I am with the high level of academics and the amazing dedication of the teachers! A large number of teachers have been working at Country Day for many years, making them truly dedicated to the students and staff....and there is a reason why there is a low teacher turnover. The administration is fabulous and this trickles down to the teachers and ultimately the students. This close knit community really sets this school apart. It's such a happy, low key environment and as a new family we were immediately welcome with open arms! In addition, I am particularly impressed with how well rounded this school is, fostering the education of the whole child, without sacrificing the high level of academics. Country Day has truly achieved a perfect balance. My children are excited to go to school every day and excited when I pick them up. In my opinion, Fort Worth Country Day creates the fun learning environment we all wish we had as kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

This site and others like it are quite ridiculous. Who cares what 25 people have said over 6 years? FWCD has over 1100 students with over 2000 parents each year, but only 25 have commented in 6 years. And look at most of the comments: extremes on both sides, many of which sound as though they were written by a veiled administrator or a former disgruntled teacher. You should visit any school you are considering for your child and do your own due diligence. Don't listen to a handful of extremists. FWCD is a very good school, but it is not for everyone, and it could be better in many ways just as all schools could. Don't kid yourself!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2011

What a shame that you feel being able to answer a phone constitutes a good counselor. Could it be that Ms. Fuss is in the classrooms, eating lunch with a student that needs some support or meeting with a parent to provide guidance. She is rarely is in her office because she is accessible to all as she is constantly walking on the campus with a parent, student or teacher that needs a hug, advice or someone to eat lunch with. Did you try to ever make an appointment with her?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 8, 2011

As a current student at Country Day, the only thing I can say is, It's the Best High School! I came from FWISD where classes were large, here at FWCD the highest number of kids in my class has been 18. Everyone is respectful of each other, the teachers really care about you. If you ever need help they'll stay after school just for you! Plus, the campus is beautiful! Breakthrough Fort Worth is another great addition to the school the program helps high potential under served students from the public school system, through out the whole year! Any questions go visit FWCD.ORG you should come to FWCD!!!!


Posted May 11, 2011

We think FWCD is a great school and are very happy our child attends this wonderful school. We have a relative who came here from a dismal public school setting and just blossomed at FWCD. This relative is now at one of the top universities in the country. We have been very, very please with all of our child's teachers. The class sizes are small enough for individual attention and it seems they are working hard to teach to different learning styles. The campus is beautiful, the cafeteria food selection is generous, the parents are very involved and the teachers, in our experience, are warm and welcoming. Our experience has been a very pleasant one. Parents are kind and helpful and any encounters I've had with older children has been delightful as they have been nothing but respectful and polite. I recommend anyone tour FWCD and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

Country Day is the best school in Fort Worth no questions asked. I have been at FWCD since I was in 6th grade (I am now a junior) and I can't see myself anywhere else. The teachers and coaches push you to excell in everything you do! Our students are extremely diverse, and I feel that the environment fosters tons of growth and variety. Not only does FWCD have the most merit scholarship finalists in Fort Worth, seriously go check, we also were undefeated in football, winning our conference championship in the fall. If you want your child to be well-rounded and prepared for the "real world", FWCD is the best place you can send them.


Posted April 15, 2010

School provides good balance and has a good foundation of what it stands for- sometimes the amount of homework is overly taxing. The biggest concern? The teachers are hit and miss. You will have either a great or miserable experience based on what teachers you get - there have been a few defections to other local schools becuase of this; and sometimes the arrogance of the leadership is not open to seeing where the weeds are. Parent suggestions are seldom acted on as administration soften exhibits a know-it-all mentaility keeping FWCD from being what it could be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Country Day is an exceptional school and provides a fantastic educational foundation for its students. Two of my three children have gone to Country Day and I can say with confidence that they have received the best education available. Every teacher they had in their thirteen year journey through Country Day has added to their success. Overall it has been an educational bargin and my children have benefited from their time at Country Day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

I am very disappointed in the lower school principal and her attitude towards parents. She does not have an open ear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2009

FWCD is an excellent school. I was new as a freshman after attending FWISD public schools. The academics are challenging, there is no way that you would ever be able to sleep through a class and receive an 'A'. The population is small however, we really are like a family. Everyone cares about each other and are able to put apart our differences. Yes the children are privileged but they use their resources to give back to the community- as seen in Breakthrough Fort Worth. Students are well-rounded, everyone participates in the triple A: arts, athletics, and academics. The school provides college-counseling. Each week I receive a one-on-one session with an experienced professional, what other school can offer that? The workload is difficult and students will feel stretched however, I know that when I leave I will be fully prepared for college and success in my later life. Visit FWCD!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2009

I entered this school as freshman and on my first day i was scared to death, but within the first hour i had made many nice friends and they all show you around and treat you like youve been there your whole life. The athletics are tough, but the coaches dont give up on you as long as you try, and the same way with the academics. There are many teachers that should have retired a long time ago, but theyre all excellent no matter how much we dislike them. I have been to a few different schools and this is truly my favorite by far. I'll be a sophmore in a month and i cant wait.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2009

I do not reccomend coming to this school. i have had a bad expierence here and am considering going to another school. the academics here are very high but the teachers do not encourage the students to reach any goals.instead of using the money that we pay to improve education,they use it to update the school's appearence.the students are very stereotypical and your social life at school is based on how popular you are.over all i do not recomed this school at all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2009

FWCD is one of the best schools I've visited. Great people, classes, fine arts, and sports. The teachers encourage the children to reach for their goals and to go above and beyond. They also offer summerbridge, a free program in which high school and/or college students teach Fort Worth ISD middle school students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

This school was outstanding but with the leadership of new administrators and many new inexperienced or very little experienced teachers the focus has shifted to raising money and building not on the student, academics, or respectful behavior. The student must self teach and do well in an inconsistent enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 31%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Black 4% 13%
Hispanic 3% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (817) 738-6392

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4200 Country Day Lane
Fort Worth, TX 76109
Phone: (817) 302-3242

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT