Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harmony Science Academy - Fort Worth

Charter | K-6 | 589 students

Our school is best know for our academic excellence.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

We currently have our son in a private school in Fort Worth. While it is a good school, my husband and I both find Harmony to be superior. I teach college and know that it is difficult to find quality education in Fort Worth. Having said that several faculty I work with along with myself send their children to Harmony. Today we came to pickup the registration packet for our eldest and the principle offered to give us a tour, out of nowhere. She is hands down amazing. Having attended private school my whole life, I can assure you I know several former alumni that are currently doing jobs they could have done without a college degree. Just because you pay more for a school does not assure your children get into a better college or get a better job. It is about teaching your children respect, determination and how to learn from failure. Harmony helps with this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

HSA is the GREATEST!!! From the moment I stepped in the door and was greeted by the office staff, I immediately knew I made the right choice to enroll my children at Harmony Science Academy. The public school that was previously attended fell short providing the education my children needed. Staff members at HSA noticed a potential learning disability and with 24 hours my son was on a great track to achieve a high quality education. Mrs. Snow, Mrs. Templer, Mrs. Epps, Mrs. Longtin and Mrs. Marra, to name only a few, are dedicated to their profession and should be acknowledged for going beyond what is expected from a teacher. Thank you HSA staff for all you do! In addition, your Parent-Teacher communication is OUTSTANDING!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

This is my childs first year at Harmony and I have nothing but great things to say about it. My child has specialized needs and receives special education support. The staff and administration have gone above and beyond to ensure those needs are being meet and exceeded. Administration and teachers have always kept an open line of communication with accurate updates. I highly reccommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

Awesome!!! HSA exceeds my expeditions concerning my daughters education! The teachers are incredibly involved in every child's learning. I love the open communication I have with all of them! My daughter is currently in 4th grade and is having the best school year ever!! Her teachers have done so much making sure my daughters and my needs are always met. They are friendly, open and ALWAYS willing to help. I could not say enough nice things about Mrs. Knapp, Mrs. Nelson and Mrs. Snow, they make a GREAT team and have always been available and eager to help in anyway!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

This is my second year as an HSA parent and I must say that I've grown to appreciate the campus for my children's education. I've found the teachers and principals to be very concerned about my childrens' education. As a parent dealing with special needs children, I've encountered a lot of support, understanding, and knowledge from staff. My biggest complaint, however, is class size. I think even with a great teacher, it's a struggle for some children to learn at their best potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

This school was Great then it has become pretty bad, Teachers are leaving the school in the middle of the year, everybody has problems with the new principal who wont do anything about issues parents complaint about, Discipline teacher is AWEFUL and kids as well as parents dislike her A LOT! it used to be a happy place where kids love to go and learn and now they complain every day why they have to go to that school. 30 kids per classroom, more than our public school. Teachers try but its hard with so many kids and no help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

Class sizes are larger than I initially thought. There are about 26-30 children in a VERY small space. Lessons are not very hands-on and I suppose this is due to the lack of space and student-teacher ratio. The other comments on teacher turn over is true. It's the middle of the year and my child has a new teacher already.I transferred her to this school hoping to give her consistency. It's unfortunate that teachers do not last very long in Texas. The principal is virtually non-existent. She rarely greets parents. The secretaries are not very friendly. Teachers attitudes are a mix. Some are upbeat and polite, others look generally disgruntled.If your child is in the after school program, you should know that the doors are closed to parents.They do not have an open door policy for parents to monitor their children.You must wait at the locked double doors for your child to be escorted out of the school.I find the restrictive atmosphere odd, but other parents may find it safe.On the plus side, students are very well-behaved.My child's learning is evident. Parent-Teacher communication is excellent. Grades are updated regularly.STAAR scores are much better than area schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

Terribly unorganized, questionable security and way too many kids in a very, very limited space. 26-28 kids per classroom in a very small building where there should be no more than 16 kids in a classroom as it was before. Already looking for new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

HSA Fort Worth has been a great STEM school for our child. The teachers are incredibly involved in every child's learning. We love the communication and ease of access to student information (they have an app for that)! We cannot say enough about how HSA has challenged our child intellectually and improved our child's confidence in learning. The dedication and extra hours the teachers invest towards understanding and adapting teaching techniques to each child's strengths and weaknesses is truly what makes this school so great. We also love the positive reinforcement system (PRS points) that encourage the children to behave and participate in class. Thank you HSA for all your efforts, they are very effective and appreciated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

A++ school!! The children are actually challenged and kept accountable for their behavior. The communication between the school and the parents is exceptional. They are actually here to help your child succeed and live up to their potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

My children go to HSA Fort Worth for the last 4 years. We can not say enough about this wonderful school, teachers and students. They are very focused on Academics and work very hard on supporting their students to achieve the best education they need. The wonderful teachers at HSA work very hard to help the students during school and every activities their students have. The student participate in a lot of activities and competition such as Science Olympiad, Science Fair, Robotic, Math Count as well as Sport like Soccer, Basketball & Volleyball. Overall, we are very satisfied as a parent with HSA and our children are very happy and enjoy their school, their teachers and their friends. So to anybody who consider Harmony Science Academy, they make the perfect choice !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Being a VERY proud former student, I can clearly say that this is one of the best high schools in the nation ACROSS THE BOARD! If one is looking for a great high school for thier child, put HSA-FW at the TOP of the short list.


Posted April 23, 2012

My child has been a student at HSA Fort Worth for 3 years, and plans to continue on through graduation. The focus on academics and continuing on to a 4 year college has impressed me throughout our time at this school. Most of the teachers are caring which, along with the small school environment, prevents quieter students from being lost in the shuffle. There are academic clubs like robotics and Science Olympiad, which promote teamwork while helping to prepare students for a college education and for careers in science and engineering fields. The school does offer sports, but that is not a main focus at this school. The school offers a disciplined environment that helps prevent distractions in the classroom. Students who have too many disciplinary infractions are not allowed to return to school, which is invaluable to students who are at school to learn. I have found the administration to be responsive and supportive to my requests and problems. I would recommend this school to anyone with a student whose main focus is learning as much as possible and continuing on to college, particularly if they are interested in a science, math or engineering career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2012

I really like HSA due to their extracurricular activities and the teacher's involvement in helping students and speaking to parents. I would recommend any student to come here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

My sons are enrolled ta HSA Ft Worth. Our family loves this school and its academic environment! They are involved in academic competitions like Science Olympiad and the Exxon Mobile Science and engineering fair, extracurriculars like band, flag football, soccer and basketball. The teachers are highly skilled and valued, the parents are involved and the the administration is supportive! I highly recommend this wonderful family if you are considering enrolling your kids. No matter what field of study your child thrives in.. HSA has something to offer!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

Hands down the best public school in Fort Worth! I am so glad they are building another campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

Harmony has helped my son harness his academic potential and pushed him beyond his comfort zone. If you are looking for an academic boost in science, technology, and math then Harmony is the place. There are high expectations for each student and a process to ensure their success. Additionally, the school climate is conducive to learning. I would recommend Harmony to every parent, especially those with a child gifted in the areas of science, technology and math or looking for a smaller school with more academic focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2012

Harmony's small, private school atmosphere has helped my daughter thrive. I wanted my daughter to receive a quality, private school education, but my husband and I couldn't afford it. After doing research, we found HSA-Fort Worth. The teachers are amazing and provide extra help to all students when it is needed, including Saturdays. This is a change from the public school where teachers are hard to reach outside of school hours. The extracurricular activities are wonderful in gaining students' interest in the STEM fields. We are happy with our choice for our daughter, and so are most Harmony parents I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2012

My children are finally learning! I was shocked at the poor quality education my children were receiving at our local school. After being on the lottery for 2 years, my children were accepted. I have nothing but praise for the teachers and staff. Harmony's high academic success is the result of caring, dedicated teachers that go the extra mile. Keep up the great work Harmony!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

Harmony Science Academy Fort Worth has been an amazing choice for our children. The most important reason that I recommend it is small school size, more individual attention to the kids, (especially in high school), and a lot of extracurricular activities that they offer. Some of the private schools do not even have more after school events than they have. Thanks HARMONY for being such a great school. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

24 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

24 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

25 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

25 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

26 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

52 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

52 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

52 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

75 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

76 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female79%
Male90%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students75%
Female71%
Male80%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female100%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students92%
Female100%
Male88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students96%
Female100%
Male91%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students83%
Female79%
Male87%
Black or African American80%
Asian83%
Hispanic79%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female95%
Male84%
Black or African American73%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students82%
Female82%
Male82%
Black or African American73%
Asian100%
Hispanic81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Black or African American75%
Asian71%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native71%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)68%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students70%
Female69%
Male71%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native83%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female71%
Male70%
Black or African American67%
Asian85%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native50%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)35%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students63%
Female61%
Male65%
Black or African American67%
Asian77%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native33%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students58%
Female63%
Male53%
Black or African American63%
Asian85%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native50%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)29%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted54%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female85%
Male87%
Black or African American75%
Asian100%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female87%
Male85%
Black or African American76%
Asian80%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students80%
Female77%
Male82%
Black or African American61%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 31%
Hispanic 29% 50%
Asian 14% 3%
Black 10% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Arabic languages
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Best School Award at Fort Worth Regional Science Fair (2007)
  • Second Team Award at Tarleton Regional Science Olympiad (2007)
  • TEA Examplary Rating (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Angela Knapp
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (817) 263-0705

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
  • Special education
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5651 WestCreek Dr
Fort Worth, TX 76133
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 263-0700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Pinnacle School
Fort Worth, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT