Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sidney H Poynter
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Mrs. Batla for giving my daughter the best first year of school she could have had. She is upset that you won't be her teacher again this coming school year.

Sidney H Poynter
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
Mrs Batla is Amazing. I can't speak with any of the other teachers however the office staff most have a snobbish attitude


Sidney H Poynter
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
My daughter was Bullied on the bus she was a Pre-K student and the school counsler treated her like she was lying. Instead of handling the issue they swept it under the rug. We took her to school the rest of the year. However I am really worried about the upcoming year cause my daughter has no choice but to have to ride the bus my husbands work hours conflict with her school hours and I currently don't drive

Sidney H Poynter 3

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
My daughter was in Mrs Batla's Pre-k class last year. Mrs. Batla was amazing. My daughter LOVED being in her class. Hoping the new school year is just as good. Reading other reviews and seeing that this school has a poor rating makes me want to home school her this year.

Sidney H Poynter 1

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
It's a shame that because of residential boundaries some of us are limited to this school. My complaint is also toward the principal. She doesn't seem to have any real genuine concern for the children's well being and her communication skills are lacking tremendously. And that's on a good day. We should be able to trust the judgment and handling of the people responsible for our kids while their at school. I've become increasingly uncomfortable and untrusting of the adults running this place. Actively searching for alternative options.


Sidney H Poynter 1

Posted March 03, 2015
- a parent
Worst school ever ....save your kids people if you want good quality education and atmosphere for your kids ......taking my son out as soon as i can he already got damaged enough academic and self steam wise zero star right here

Sidney H Poynter 1

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
Horrific pricipal is not there for the kids. She doesnt want a student council she doesnt care about the kids having extra activities pta cant do what they feel would be good for the school because of her stopping any and all fun and happiness my daughter was honor roll before this school now her grades suffer. The principal needs to go.

Sidney H Poynter 1

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
There seems to be a lot of neglect going on here starting with the principal. Shame.


Sidney H Poynter 1

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
This school is a joke. It seems like nobody has a clue what they're doing nor do they care. Teachers and staff just aren't what they use to be. I Had two children who attended this school who constantly told me about bullying and being ignored by their teachers when they asked for help or tried to inform them of a problem they witnessed or fell victim to. If possible, I'd advise parents to seek other options before settling for this place.

Sidney H Poynter 5

Posted August 10, 2014
- a parent
I am a public school administrator at another school. As a professional with over 15 years educating children I am confident students here are getting a great education. The math specialist is amazing and helps my student constantly. Every teacher we have encountered is professional and caring. The principal is doing great things here. I have observed top quality teaching going on. The online gradebook and communication tools keep me informed. The Texas accountability ratings just came out and Poynter earned the highest rating and an academic distinction in reading and ELA (and that isn't easy to do). This school and the intermediate it feeds into are both great schools with wonderful staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sidney H Poynter
521 Ashdale Drive, Fort Worth, TX  76140
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (817) 568-5730
Last modified Sidney H Poynter is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top