Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oakmont Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 588 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2014

Ahh its an ok school I vately had good expiriences in this school but besides that the education is good


Posted May 29, 2013

Oakmont Elementary is a great school to attend, I recommend this school highly. Safe neighborhood, great teachers, A+ crossing guards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

My son attended kindergarten at this school and had a terrible experience. This school came highly recommended by a local private school; however, based on our personal experience, I cannot support this recommendation. The school seems plagued by overcrowding, lack of communication, and a general lack of support from the homeowners in the area. The administration also appears to have a general sense of the community and it's inhabitants which may not be accurate (low income, lack of involvement). My son's self confidence suffered immensely and I can truly state he learned nothing. His teacher seemed overwhelmed and disenfranchised. I do feel that the school principals were exceptional and extremely supportive; however, this value did not seem to transfer well to the staff. He has now transferred to a private school and his response has been exceptional. Being new to the community, this experience has definitely impacted my perception of the Crowley school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

I am so ready to move my children away from oakmont! Teachers & front office staff are horrible @ communicating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

This is a fantastic school. We are new to the area and have been made to feel very welcome. Any concerns are dealt with promptly and the school has a good zero tolerance for bullying and teasing. Teachers are dedicated and enthusiastic. The principal is friendly and professional. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

My nephew attends this school and loves it. He was in second grade last year and enjoyed the class he was in as well as his teachers. His teacher had a rewards program in which they received school bucks throughout the week that they could redeem at the end of the week for toys or other goodies.


Posted May 25, 2008

Now that the current administration has had two years to correct Mr. Lincolns mess, this school seems to be headed back to the old days of glory. The down fall to this school seems to be only one thing. The teachers at Oakmont work very hard in preparing the students only to find some parents not re-enforcing what has been taught at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

Our Daughter goes to this school. She started in the kindergarten and has had the most exceptional teachers since. Mrs Pennell, Ms Leavitt and Ms Derouen. The staff is great, the Old Principal Mr Charles Lincoln was awesome and the new Principal Ms Kim Scoggins is excellent too. The PTA is awesome and the parents are well connected. Our child comes home with straight A's the teachers we have had, work hard with her to achieve those standards of excellence and as responsible parents we have always reciprocated with our support. Overall its a excellent school and we are glad to be a part of the Oakmont family .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

My child has gone to this school since kindergarten and is in fourth grade. His first year at Oakmont started with the most wonderful teacher, Ms. Carlton. She made the transition a wonderful experience for he and us. He has had wonderful teachers each year, although all of them have had very different teaching styles, through support from home, and his efforts he adapted well and is an A/B student. One of the things I have been most impressed with is the monitoring of the students before, during, and after school. My child was never subject to being around much older children unsupervised when he was younger, which I liked. They also have zero tolerance for bullying. All of the teachers and staff care about all of the students. The PTA is great, and the parent network is better than most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

Our teacher is wonderful. She is not overly stern and manages her pupils efficiently while providing a warm environment. Some of the support staff is overly stern and cranky. Feels like a military school when these people are roaming the halls or helping out somewhere. I am there often and this negative attitude is constant with these folks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

My daughter attended Oakmont last year and we loved it! Ms. Biemeret is an excellent teacher! We were so impressed with this school and very disappointed when our daughter had to leave to attend a different school in the district. Our only complaint is the over-flow system used by CISD. If they are going to put a student in a school, they should allow the student to remain there until they 'graduate.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2006

Our family really like this school, the teachers we have ha are wonderful and most all of the staff is great. The only thing we really have issues with is the fact that there are so many children in that school that sometimes the ones that are having problems with certain areas of school work are not helped as quickly as they should be. The parent involvement in my opinion could be better after all they are our children. There is also too much emphasis on these TAX test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

This school does not cater to academically challenged children. My fourth grader failed even after several interventions such as tutoring and teacher change. The leadership of the school is very poor! Very uninvolved! As a parent, I had to initiate all correspodance between teacher and staff! Unless your child is at least a B student, this school's not for you! I will say that the PTA is wonderful, and my other two children are happy! Thumbs up for K-3rd grade! My reviews reflect 4th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

This is a fine school. Ethnically mixed but everyone gets along fine. Very nice teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 19, 2006

School has struggled to keep up with growth. Overall, school is good with mostly high quality teachers who are willing to offer tutoring, and test scores remain really good. There is a lack of art instruction available - it's offered only occasionally and especially for creative kids, that could be a major drawback. The gifted program begins in third grade and for younger children who need the supplement, that could be avoid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

Oakmont Elementary started its life as an exemplary school in the late '90s. Unfortunately, it has gone down in status over the past couple of years as more lower income families move into the area, although it did make 'recognized' for the 2004-2005 academic year. Most of the teachers are hard working and interested in providing a good education to the kids. Another indication of the school is that the PTA is very involved and active. All in all, Oakmont is a good school if it remains at its current level and does not degrade further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

Teacher bias in this school....some teachers have their own children here and if your child is not in their child's circle of friends then they are treated differently.....kids who are in the circle of friends are not made to follow rules and guidelines...it's now a popularity contest at Oakmont...very 'clickish' not all students are equal...some teachers unprofessional in this area...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2005

Poorly run school under the new administration. In addition, the Crowley School District has a very 'bare bones' curriculum. Nothing offered except for teaching children to take a state test. Also, I pay some of the highest property taxes in the state for the priviledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

Daughter completed 1st grade with great experience. Saxon math, Open court reading system, great parent support, active PTA. Music once/week, P.E. four/week, art taught by classroom teacher. Solid teachers, new principal. Wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

Not very academically challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

103 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

91 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

88 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female92%
Male71%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)77%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black or African American78%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female95%
Male80%
Black or African American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students90%
Female95%
Male87%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students93%
Female97%
Male90%
Black or African American92%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female83%
Male63%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students67%
Female69%
Male63%
Black or African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted65%
Bilingual100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Female72%
Male69%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students65%
Female68%
Male63%
Black or African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Special educationn/a
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)81%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted61%
Bilingual90%

Writing

All Students69%
Female78%
Male60%
Black or African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special educationn/a
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 13%
White 26% 29%
Hispanic 23% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 13%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6651 Oakmont Trail
Fort Worth, TX 76132
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 370-5610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fort Worth Academy
Fort Worth, TX



Trinity Valley School
Fort Worth, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT