Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Crowley High School

Public | 9-12 | 1758 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

67 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2014

I am a graduate of 2013, and my experience wasn't pleasant. I admit that the school have improved since my sophomore year, but a lot of the problems remained. the teachers I received were mostly powerless to teach us in a way that we could benefit, whether its because of the curriculum is forcing them to teach stagnant lessons or a few student's behavior. and by the end of the year those who at least tried to get something out of it give up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2014

I am a graduating Senior at North Crowley High School and I have to agree with the majority of the reviews I have read so far. The majority of the teachers at this school either have no idea how to teach or don't care whether the students learn or not. I always hear people saying they wish they attended a Crowley school because the academics are good and it's in a "good area" but the area seems to be getting worse and worse. North Crowley looks nice and shiny on the outside but the inside is filled with nothing but cramped hallways, annoying Assistant Principals, and teachers who care more about dress code than they do education. I think it is very sad that during the 2012-2013 school year, North Crowley had their first pep-rally in nearly 7 years. There is absolutely no school spirit. It is safe to say that I wish I could have spent my high school years at a different school, however; I do wish the best to all the upcoming students and especially the rising seniors.


Posted May 23, 2014

North Crowley has been a blessing to Tarrant county. Students are friendly and super smart and talented. The teachers and staff are dedicated to student success. The administrators are among the friendliest and most intelligent people I have ever had the pleasure of working with and knowing. Oh . . . and Java City rules! Go Panthers!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 9, 2014

As a student of NCHS, I would say that it's not that great. Some of the teachers don't care at all about teaching and as a result the students don't learn anything. However, there are one or two teachers who are absolutely amazing and know what they are doing. Cheating is also extremely prevalent in this school. This school has no orchestra or Academic UIL Programs which is disappointing. It would also be nice if we had clubs such as Whiz Quiz or TMSCA that allowed us to enter in academic competitions.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2014

i liked attending this school very much the teachers were excellent and i loved the experience!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2014

North Crowley High School is the worse school my children have attended! When we moved here four years ago I thought after coming from Everman North Crowley would be a much better educational service to my children. Boy was I wrong! You have teachers fighting students, coaches bullying athletes and with holding mail from colleges to the athletes. More so it seems that the dress code means more than the education! The kids can sag as long as the color of their shirt is right! We have tried to tuff it out, but even though our son will be a senior next year we are moving! This school is doing a great injustice to the students of this so called educational system.This year a male teacher jumped at my senior daughter in an aggressive manner in the name of joking with her. We reported him and all that happened was the teacher was "talked to" and my daughter was moved to a different class. It saddens me that we stayed this long. We have a daughter that will be graduating in June and feel that she did not get to experience the true feel of high school. She feels more like she was in prison than school! Needless to say, we are selling our home and getting far away from this area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

I graduated from this school and loved it. People over exaggerate on things around here. The average home around here is 175,000-300,000..... Great area just some need an attitude change.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2012

I can't wait to graduate this jail prisoned school because,the lunch lines are too long, the teachers care only about our strict dress code and not enough about education while others do, some of the teachers can't control the class because it's so loud in the class,the bathrooms are nasty and their is toilet paper on the floors while its not flushed, the principal is nice but all of our privilages have been taken away like early dissmal if a few kids are fighting they want to give everybody punishment coming from a student parents don't bring your kid here you guys will both hate it
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2011

I'm graduating this year, and I have to say I'm extremely happy to get out of this ridiculous school. The teachers could care less if you succeed or not, the lunch lines are huuuuuge to the point where you can't get your lunch. Just awful. And the dress code. The dress code is strict, and the colors that we can wear are so hideous and boring. It also isn't even clean! Bullying is ignored by teachers. That was a major thing I had a problem about. The test averages of our school is horrendous. The teachers can't teach because they can't control the class. Awful. Coming from a student, please parents don't bring your children here. You and your child won't be happy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2011

I believe that the quality of this school has gone down a great deal from when it first opened. Stricter guidelines and more security is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

As a teacher, I find it very frustrating that many of the problems we have in class DO NOT LIVE IN THE DISTRICT. I bring this to the administration's attention with viable proof and they tell me that it is not my job to check addresses but to teach. If these are the same children who are keeping me from teaching and the other kids from learning, don't you think something should be done? Other districts check residences and don't have this problem. Why does Crowley?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 12, 2009

I graduated from North Crowley in the class of 2009 and I believe that North Crowley is a good public school. If a student puts forth effort in making good grades and making the most out of their time at North Crowley, then they will be fine. There has been a problem recently with teacher lay-offs, meaning teachers will probably have more to deal with in the class rooms. This could cause problems as i'm sure the district knows. I also did not like the standardized dress code. It was a hassle only being able to wear one type of shirt in six mundane colors. At the end of the day, North Crowley is your typical public school... Not great, not horrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2009

North Crowley is a school that has quite a lot of pros and cons. I am a student who works hard for every grade i earn, and I do so with minimal help from teachers and staff. They not only have faculty that could care less about the students welfare, but also teachers who serve as more of a distraction then any help. Extra-curricular activities, like any school, may overlap and conflict but the head-staff seldom does anything to accommodate their students and student athletes. That as a student is very discouraging and frustrating as well. There is a lot of emphasizing on dress code, which at times is understandable, but more times than not, distracting. I as a student have been withheld from core classes because my shirt was the wrong shade of green. Then I was foolish enough to believe school was for an education not fashion, now know.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2009

North crowley is a very good school to come to academic wise and it would look really good on your college application but its not a school you would enjoy. I cant remember the last time they had any thing fun planned for the kids besides the year around talent show. Its like a prison camp. Kids are so afraid to do anything out of the routine and some seniors say that prom is even boring and thats sad all they seem to care about is if your shirt is tucked in do you have your id and are you doing what i say do. What a way to spend your 4 years of high school with nothing exciting ever happening but all you can remember is how good of grades i made and how north crowley would look on your college application thats all good but what about the fun!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2009

This school is truly wonderful! The teachers are very insistent on making sure the students learn a lot, especially at the AP level. Test scores at the AP level are consistently high due to preparation. There are many fantastic extracurricular and competition activities available, before and after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2008

My daughter gets good grades but I assure you it is not because of the school or the teachers. Most of the teachers do not care or even support the kids that really want to learn and alot of that is they have no control over the kids it is more like the kids are running the class which is really sad. We moved here from CA and my daughter was in advanced classes and Gate, but here she gets good grades but she struggles she can't get any help from her teachers and that panther thing they have after school is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

I would give the school 3 stars. My child has a 4.1 but it is due to her efforts not the teachers. The academic teachers have a few teachers who don't care about teaching but the performing arts teachers put out an extraordinary effort to teaching the kids high standards. The school recently hosted a Region Choir UIL and I was disappointed and embarassed that the school Principal didn't care enough about the school's reputation to have the bathrooms cleaned up in the areas where students and judges would be located. They were disgusting and it didn't go unnoticed by our guests. Shame on you NC for not caring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

I came from a school that had high academic credintials. Unfortunatley, my parents built a new house in Crowley ISD. I had no choice but to move. I started when I was a sophomore, and a I am now a senior. I have to say, since I began attending North Crowley my GPA dropped from a 3.875 to a 2.8 in one semeseter. I have successfully brought it up, although it won't be where it use to be. All I'm saying is it's harder to learn when teachers are more concerned with dress code than teaching.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2008

I am currently a 11th grader at NCHS from a students prospective I am not satiscfied with school, I feel like my teachers dont really support me,they arent teaching me,and some of my teachers dont care .I had a teacher last year I didnt even see till the 2nd week of school. he was there in the school he was just in the teachers class next door talking about the football team, mean while we were left to do busy work and were never tought how to do. half way through the year he still didnt know my name cause he was never there in class with his students.The only time he ever spoke to me was for dress code he was only concerened about what I wearing not if was learning.The class was failing when I asked for a new teacher I was denied by my principle.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2008

I love nchs.- Of course we have our good days and our bad other than that it is a great school striving for excellents. I play basketball and believe they put education first gooooooo panthers!!! 08 state basketball champs
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

52 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

539 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

535 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

536 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

536 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

465 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female95%
Male90%
Black or African American91%
Asian95%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Special education53%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%

Math

All Students80%
Female77%
Male83%
Black or African American72%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Special education40%
Limited English proficient (LEP)59%

Science

All Students91%
Female89%
Male93%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Special education50%
Limited English proficient (LEP)69%

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female98%
Male97%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
n/a
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
70%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
52%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

540 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

540 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

5 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

537 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students38%
Female50%
Male32%
Black or African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Special education17%
Not special education40%
Limited English proficient (LEP)20%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant38%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted38%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students95%
Female94%
Male96%
Black or African American96%
Asian90%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students71%
Female76%
Male65%
Black or African American63%
Asian73%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education44%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant71%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students18%
Female24%
Male12%
Black or African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged19%
Special education13%
Not special education19%
Limited English proficient (LEP)10%
Proficient in English19%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant18%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted18%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students17%
Female26%
Male11%
Black or African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White13%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged14%
Special education0%
Not special education20%
Limited English proficient (LEP)8%
Proficient in English18%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant17%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted17%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students73%
Female77%
Male68%
Black or African American65%
Asian79%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special education23%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)35%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students46%
Female52%
Male40%
Black or African American35%
Asian53%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Special education0%
Not special education48%
Limited English proficient (LEP)4%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant46%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted43%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Students15%
Female20%
Male12%
Black or African American11%
Asian9%
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged14%
Special education11%
Not special education16%
Limited English proficient (LEP)13%
Proficient in English16%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant16%
Gifted/talented57%
Not Gifted14%

Geometry

All Students78%
Female81%
Male75%
Black or African American72%
Asian86%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education58%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)45%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Students80%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted80%

World Geography

All Students13%
Female13%
Male14%
Black or African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged15%
Special education7%
Not special education15%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English15%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant13%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted13%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students59%
Female57%
Male62%
Black or African American51%
Asian69%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial55%
American Indian or Alaska Native60%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education21%
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant59%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 13%
Hispanic 25% 52%
White 18% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 5%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 1%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9100 South Hulen Street
Fort Worth, TX 76123
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 263-1250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT