Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hazel Harvey Peace Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 545 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

We transferred 7 months ago after having awful experiences at 2 other fwisd schools. They truly restored my faith in the fort Worth independent school district. The principals along with the staff go above and beyond to ensure our children are safe and nurtured in a loving environment. It's amazing to see. In the afternoons you will often find the principals out directing the traffic flow or mingling in the crowds of students and parents. We've dealt with several schools and never have I seen such an involved principal. I can't say enough about the teachers either. My daughter has a math disability and previous schools refused to give her the help she needed. The teachers and staff at Hazel Harvey worked so hard with her and she has progressed so much in just the short time she's been there. This school truly cares about their students. I just wish they had a better middle school to go into.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

Hazel Harvey Peace is a wonderful school. The teachers work hard to form a working team with the parents and administrators for the success of the students. The teacher make sure they are available for continuous communication throughout the entire school year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2013

For the most part I am pleased with this school, the only problem I have is every year they get a new person In their office who can't help with anything, not sure why that is but good thing they are able to hang on to their Secretary. She is the only one in the office area who is knowledgeable with what's going on and will assist you with anything you ask. She is very pleasant, very professional and very funny. I hope they hang on to her because she's the glue holding the front together. I also have a great relationship with my child's teacher and some of the other staff members. They are all getting better and each year brings a more confident staff. Keep up the good work at Peace and hang on to the Secretary because I really enjoy talking to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

Hazel Harvey Peace is a great school!! We provide our students with opportunities for leadership while also preparing them for college. Student achievement is our number one goal. The leadership team and staff, will continue to provide a quality education that is rigorous and relevant for all students. Stop by and find out how you can make a difference in the life of a child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 16, 2012

This school is not good, I moved here in 1959 and all my kid went through the wonderful J.T. Stevens, I never had any issues, bullying and stealing were never a problem, their grades weren't either. Now my kids have kids, my grand children. I'm told they will have to attend school at a new school. This school is located in a very unsafe area and the parents are idiots, my grandchild complains of being kicked, he has had two coats stolen, his lunch money has to be walked in by me now, trust me you don't want your kid going to this school, nothing is good about it, I put my home up for sale that's I've lived in for 53 years, my grandchildren will be attending the much better Tanglewood elementary....


Posted June 28, 2011

I am proud to be a part of the staff at HHP. We did an excellent job for a first year school. We were projected to be low-performing school, and our students proved that they are better than that. The principal is an outstanding leader, and the teachers are a dynamic team. We have high standards concerning academics and behavior. I can say with confidence that the future is very bright at HH Peace.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2011

I wish I had never sent my child there. We came from a wonderful school, where leadership was wonderful. There is "NO" zero tolerence policy !!! They do not follow the guide lines of no tolerence to bullying ..My child has been bullied from from the start. Nothing was done !!! I believe they were afraid to do anything because it would give the school a bad rating. There was no way to keep up with their homework. This school is not a place for children to learn. They are not prepared to teach children in the proper way. The lessons are hard to follow, making children confused about what they are learning. They skip, where they can go back form one thing to another. Children need books to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2011

This school has been such a disappointment. Their excuse for everything is because it's a new school. If they weren't ready - they should not have opened! Our children are suffering because of it. We're not notified of failing grades/progress until it's too late. As much as we'd LIKE to, we don't have time to go to the school and talk to the teachers on a one-to-one basis to ASK for this info every 2-3 weeks. And we shouldn't have to. We don't have any way to track homework/class work. We're just expected to sit back and hope that our FIRST GRADER remembers what he/she was told to do. We have great teachers. But, they seem just as discouraged as we do. They are not given the tools needed to help our children excel. Even the drop-off/pick-up line is a mess and there is no one controlling or correcting the situation. It will probably take an injured child to get them to do something. The crossing guard even told my child that he could not be on his cellphone while on school grounds. He calls me to let me know he is out of school and stays on with me until he reaches his destination. Overall, it's just been a HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2011

I have been disappointed with this school from the 1st week. I gave them the benefit of the doubt, being a new school, but nothing has changed. My son is in the 2nd grade, and his teacher is not equipped to teach at this grade level. There is a personality conflict between my child and the teacher and they would not move him. The teacher was out for several months, my son did not get in any real trouble while she was gone, and the week she returned I received a call from the principal. I have met with the principal and his teacher in regards to not receiving progress reports, graded papers, etc and I was reassured things would improve (in the fall) and still nothing has changed. They have allowed another child to use his lunch card, and the ONE day he had a school lunch, they yanked the tray out of his hands because someone put his account in the negative! STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCHOOL!!! My child NEVER WANTED TO MISS A DAY OF SCHOOL, NOW ALMOST EVERYDAY HE SAYS "MOM, I HATE SCHOOL" It is a shame that one place could completely change a child's outlook on education. We will be moving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

i HAVE to say that I thoroughly enjoyed visiting Hazel Harvey Peace! The staff were amazing and Sheila Turner is a definite keeper as a Principal! This review is coming all the way from one of your sister educators in Toronto, Canada! I hope to begin a long lasting relationship with the staff and students at Hazel Harvey Peace very soon with pen pals!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

76 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

77 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

92 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

91 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

93 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

73 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

73 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

73 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Female83%
Male74%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students74%
Female71%
Male78%
Black or African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Female78%
Male74%
Black or African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students86%
Female89%
Male83%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female90%
Male95%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students88%
Female83%
Male91%
Black or African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students90%
Female79%
Male98%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Female79%
Male76%
Black or African American70%
Asian100%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)91%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students49%
Female47%
Male52%
Black or African American26%
Asian100%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education51%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant49%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted48%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Female59%
Male58%
Black or African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant59%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students34%
Female31%
Male36%
Black or African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Special educationn/a
Not special education35%
Limited English proficient (LEP)27%
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant34%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted32%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students53%
Female59%
Male47%
Black or African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant53%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted51%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Female66%
Male57%
Black or African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant61%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students49%
Female48%
Male50%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special educationn/a
Not special education50%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant49%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted47%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students53%
Female53%
Male53%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special educationn/a
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant53%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted51%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • This school did not receive a rating in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a rating in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 13%
Hispanic 32% 52%
White 10% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 14%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • CASSANDRA GARDNER
Fax number
  • (817) 814-8850

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7421 Trail Lake Drive
Fort Worth, TX 76133
Phone: (817) 814-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT