Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Young Women's Leadership Academy 4

Posted August 31, 2015
- a community member
I am an inaugural member of this school. Being here since it opened, it has come a long way. The two inaugural classes have definitely decreased in size but has had improvements in some ways. Still being generally new, we haven't quite rooted ourselves in tradition. It has it's pros and cons. Allowing leeway to create new ones but also not really know what to do. Many inaugural teachers have left us, again stated by another review were "irreplaceable", but were replaced by good teachers. This year, there has been a good amount of trial and error for the staff, and things are coming along. This school has been and will continue to be a good experience. I often wish to leave but have made a family here and good relationships with my teachers. Also, at this point in high school there isn't much point in leaving.

Young Women's Leadership Academy 1

Posted April 11, 2015
- a community member
I am a former student. I would just like to say the intolerance here is a huge issue. Sexual orientation is a big subject and those who aren't straight are discriminated. The girls gossip and talk about each other all the time. It's really bad. There's a lot of bullying, and if the dean or principal doesn't like you, nothing will be done about it. Favoritism and intolerance are huge issues. I hope something will be done soon.


Young Women's Leadership Academy 5

Posted August 24, 2014
- a teacher
This is a non traditional school. In the 21st century, we need more schools that prepare students for college, careers and success in life.

Young Women's Leadership Academy 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and all staff are simply amazing!!! I'm so thankful for the opportunity to be a part

Young Women's Leadership Academy 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a community member
I am a student at this school it is amazing. They challenge us. Everyone here is like sisters. Our teachers will come early in the morning or stay after school to help us with anything or to get ready for upcoming projects. Our teachers are amazing instead of just giving us lectures they give us worksheets projects and mini projects. This is my favorite school I am planning on staying here until I graduate.


Young Women's Leadership Academy 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
I love the school . My daughter will be here until she graduates in 2016.

Young Women's Leadership Academy 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
I am very please with YWLA, the principal is very involve and the teachers are challenging the students. The girls are getting ready for true success!

Young Women's Leadership Academy 3

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
well i really cant complain except when it comes to the athletic department it has its favorites and they dont believe in giving every girl a fair chance at trying out for the sports


Young Women's Leadership Academy 1

Posted May 25, 2012
- a parent
We are removing our daughter from this school. She is being bullied and nothing is being done about it. While the academics are good, the girls do not treat each other well. Also, girls are constantly talking about their sexual orientation. My daughter feels uncomfortable here we are sending her back to private school. Intolerance is a big issue at YWLA. I hope they are able to fix the situation--as many girls have left recently.

Young Women's Leadership Academy 5

Posted January 09, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attends this school and my husband and I are pleased with the overall education she is receiving. She is in the 8th grade and transferred midway through the seventh grade. She came from a presitigious private school in Fort Worth and has found the school an acceptable substitute.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Young Women's Leadership Academy
1066 West Magnolia Avenue, Fort Worth, TX  76104
(817) 815-2400
Last modified Young Women's Leadership Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Young Women's Leadership Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top