Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dunbar High School 1

Posted January 01, 2014
- a community member
Dunbar high school is terrible if i could give it no stars i would i am a student things constantly get stolen from me and my peers the athletic program is not as good as everyone thinks since when is it okay for the coaches to discipline the players with a paddle everyone constantly skips the teachers are pushovers just shut down the school and save the community there tax dollars
1 person found this helpful

Dunbar High School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a student
It`s Cool we could use more activities and make it more exciting butother than that i love it!


Dunbar High School 3

Posted April 14, 2010
- a community member
Dunbar High School is known for having: strong science and engineering program, good athletic program, low TAKS scores, undisciplined students and low parental involvement. This school has a new principal who has done a great job trying to turn the school back around. The school has young, new staff members dedicated to doing what it takes to educate the kids. The big problem is the parental involvement and lack of home training some of the students show. It's easy to say that this is a bad school, which is not true, teachers educate all students and do not exclude or discriminate on students like other high schools. If parents would care more about their student 's education and teach their child how to act and be respectful, then the teachers could spend more time teaching advanced concepts.

Dunbar High School 5

Posted March 31, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Dunbar High School 1

Posted March 29, 2010
- a student
Dunbar is great in it's athletic department but is that the only thing we want to be known for, NO Dunbar needs better security and discipline for it's students also better teachers that actually care and and a new carismatic prriincipal more parents need to get involved but over all Dunbar needs an academic come up it's not just about athletics we need to elevate our minds in the hood!


Dunbar High School 0
no rating

Posted July 14, 2009
- a student
I love this school because the extra curicular activities keep the kids out of trouble and there also very fun. I love the band, prancing kittens, and the step team. ;D

Dunbar High School 0
no rating

Posted May 15, 2009
- a student
I'm a junior @ dunbar high school and i think our school is great our teachers are very involved and accept our challenges

Dunbar High School 5

Posted February 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Dunbar High School 2

Posted November 09, 2008
- a student
I'm a student here, and I have to say that Dunbar used TO be one of the best school in Fort Worth with both vigorous academics and athletics programs. But after 2004 (2005 was when i was a freshman), when its original magnet program was destroyed by the district and the community - Stop Six - around, it has gone downhill with an infinite slope: everything is gone, only 2 or 3 good teachers stayed, but it could only do some tiny good when a few groups of students who still hopelessly tried to keep up with Dunbar's legend reputation. Now the school is filled with new staff, new principal, a whole bunch of bad students who will not cooperate and care for their future. the school's rate is unacceptable. The only reason I like Dunbar is that the UIL program is still going on. That's the only thing i care.

Dunbar High School 5

Posted August 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dunbar High School
5700 Ramey Avenue, Fort Worth, TX  76112
(817) 815-3000
Last modified Dunbar High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dunbar High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top