Students enrolled 588
School leader PAULA DOUGLAS
Transportation options Yes

Contact this school

5917 Shelton Street
Fort Worth, TX 76112

School website
(817) 815-4500
(817) 815-4550
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Eastern Hills Elementary School address.

2 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school

October 07, 2014
My my my. I'm not sure about the other comments but when I went in as a concerned parent they handled my matter with the utmost urgency. The office staff greeted me and the halls were so nicely decorated all the time. "Teachers this"... and "Teachers that" But a lot of the time we're placing the blame on the teacher when we can help out by sending our kids to school with some act-right. Before you check the teacher and the principal, check your child.

- submitted by a parent
September 01, 2014
Eastern Hills Elementary is a school with great administration, teachers, and staff who support classroom learning. The teachers are caring and the students are expected to be actively engaged during instruction. This school offers amazing after school programs and extra-curriculur activities.

- submitted by a community member
November 14, 2013
EASTERN HILLS ELEMENTARY WOW WHAT CAN I SAY WALKED INTO THIS SCHOOL TODAY TO CHECK OUT SINCE WE ARE NEW TO AREA AND I CAN AGREE THAT THE STAFF IN FRONT OFFICE IS VERY RUDE, UNPROFESSIONAL, AND SENSE BIT OF DISCRIMINATION. MY CHILDREN WILL NOT BE ATTENDING DUE TO THIER UNACCEPATABLE PROFESSIONALISM IF THEY CAN NOT ACT PROFESSIONAL AND TAKE INTO IMPORTANCE THIER JOBS HOW CAN YOU EXPECT THEM TO CARE FOR YOUR CHILDRENS EDUCATION . RED FLAG THERE NOBODY GAVE US A TOUR WE BASICALLY WALKED AROUND WHICH MAKES ME BELIEVE THEY JUST ALLOW ANYONE TO ENTER THE SCHOOL THAT IS NOT SAFE FOR THE CHILDREN.THEN PEOPLE WONDER WHY THERE ARE SO MANY TERRIOST ATTACKS IN SCHOOLS. SO SAD FOR ALL THE CHILDREN THAT ATTEND THERE WILL DEFINTELY BE GOING TO FWISD TO REQUEST A TRANSFER I WOULD HOPE YOU DO THE SAME.

- submitted by a community member
September 03, 2013
Eastern Hills Elementary has a lot of work to do to turn around. The number one thing I can say would be parent and school admin cooperation. I felt totally lost when it came to getting information regarding changes at the school. Even the PTA had a hard time getting off and running do to the lack of collaboration from teachers and staff. There are some bright stars in the school. My son's 2nd grade year was a total lost. I would ask how he was doing and I was never giving any progress notes or anything I was used to from his 1st grade teacher Ms. Palmer. Who is excellent with the children and very experienced in teaching. So I really had in mind to leave the school. But then the next year he had Ms. McCray. Ms. McCray is a parents dream come true. My son started out as a child who basiclly lost a year of school to a Gifted and Talented Advanced student. This includes Ms.White and Ms. Scott my younger children teachers. These teachers care about the students and want them to succed and it shows. Our children have only excelled under these teachers. We can't tell you our graditude for them. I would recommend a mentoring system for teachers and community outreach from the admin

- submitted by a parent
July 26, 2013
This school is HORRIBLE!!! The administration team and office are so rude. Ms. Douglas and Ms. Richards are so unprofessional. I really do not understand how they keep their position. I have seen them run off good teacher because of their behavior.

- submitted by a parent
July 19, 2013
This was my son's second year coming to this school. The first year was good but it took them to long to get the ball rolling for his talented and gifted tests. The second year was AWESOME. Especially his teachers, his homeroom teacher Ms. McCray was AWESOME! She made sure he got tested for his talented and gifted class, my son got every achievement abd award that he could. I would recommend this school. We as parents must get involved with the school so that it can be better.

- submitted by a parent
June 19, 2013
I have not been pleased with the teachers nor staff at this school. This will be my son's first and last year attending this school.

- submitted by a parent
May 13, 2013
When I was in elementary school I can remember going outside on the playground for recess and getting some much meeded exercise. Apparently times have changed and that is not a neccessity for Eastern Hills Elementary School because I was informed by my daughter that their recess time is spent at their desk. I have not seen teachers and administration that are so lazy that they can not take the children outside for recess. My daughter said that they make up excuses for them not being able to go outside, like talking or something like that.

- submitted by a parent
April 26, 2013
If you are looking for a great school, EASTERN HILLS ELEMENTARY is not it. Trust me, I have a son and daughter that goes there, and I wish that I would have been wiser and transferred them when I had the chance. Next year I will not make the same mistake, my son will be in middle school and my daughter will attend another school.

- submitted by a parent
October 21, 2012
There is nothing to rate about this school. some teachers are just there for the paycheck they never 'worked for'. they are not interested in children in that school, is a pity i just realised it now, and making arrangements for my son's transfer. as far as am concern, that school should be closed down.The teacher my son has this year, does not have interest in his academic work. When asked how he's doing on school work the answer i get is 'he,s not acting responsible' How can u say that to a five years old child who is there to learn. Its not acceptable!

- submitted by a parent
August 21, 2012
how can i transfer my child to another school, even if i live closed to this school? i heard so many negative stuff about this school that i dont want my son to attend here.

- submitted by a parent
August 16, 2012
I received a letter from FWISD today regarding this school. Apparently this is the second year in a row that it's been rated "academically unacceptable" & we can request a transfer to a better school. I had already done this for the upcoming school year but it's just a shame for the other children there. I don't fault the staff AT ALL for this rating! My beef is with the parents of the children there. When you don't care whether or not your children are getting a good education, they won't care either. No matter how hard the teachers & administrators try, nothing will change until there is some parental involvement & some personal responsibility by the kids. The root of the problem at this school is the parents. I would lay odds that most parents who receive this letter will throw it away without a second thought. It's the main reason we decided to scrimp & save so our child can attend private school this upcoming year. We don't want our child to be in a school full of kids who think getting an education or being smart is "selling out."

- submitted by a parent
March 22, 2011
My children used to attend this school. Some of the staff didn't report incidents. My child had a broken tooth of which noone could tell me why. They are very secretive and the principal denied any of my complaints when I sought to take my complaints to the Dept of Civil Rights in Dallas. The teacher called my child names. At that time, the vice principal was unwilling to assist me. I noticed she is now the current principal. An employee there harassed my children repeatedly and nothing was done to discipline her. If you want your children to attend a school where the staff are truthful and open along with an administrator who is willing to help you, this is not the one. I too think the employees are too interested in getting a check to really teach the students to behave.

- submitted by a parent
May 05, 2010
2 years ago, I would have rated this school a strong 4. With the influx of enexperienced, lazy, and paycheck driven teachers, the quality of education has diminished greatly. As an active parent, that cares about my child education it has alarmed me that after 2 years of progression, my child has regressed. The same passion that I have for his education lacks in the teachers and it shows. The teacher that he has this year does not report accurately any issue that arises until its too late to do anything about it. When asked how is he doing on school work the answer is 'good' until the report card comes and he has 70's and N's on the report card. Those two measuring sticks are not 'good' to me. Its not acceptable! I find it offensive as a product of FWISD that a teacher finds 70's and N's acceptable.

- submitted by a parent
no rating April 08, 2010
I currently have three children attending Eastern Hills Elementary, and I am not impressed, at all, about the environment, the curriculum or the amount of parent involvement. It has become apparent that many of the teachers are here just for a paycheck and could care less if a student passes or fails. Also as a mixed couple, myself being a black woman and my husband an African-American (he's white) I do appreciate the teaching of black history, but not as the main lesson plan, and to the point that it alienates the few students that are not black.

- submitted by a parent
February 22, 2010
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
August 03, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
no rating January 15, 2009
I love this school. I have had three children to attend this school and they all have gotten the best treatment a parent could ask for. The principal is outstanding and works hard to keep the school on the recognized list. There were some teachers there that were so negative and didn't believe in our children but they are gone now and the atmospher is so positive since their departure. Eastern Hills is a wonderful school thanks to Mrs. Elliott the Principal>

- submitted by a parent
November 05, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
November 05, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
no rating October 23, 2008
This was a terrible place to work. The atmosphere was oppressive. I had a few amazing parents with whom I worked, but the majority of the parents with whom I came into contact did not appear to care whether their children failed or excelled.

- submitted by a teacher
no rating August 16, 2008
I have a daughter who just graduated from EHHS and a daughter who is starting EHHS and a son who will be in the 5th grd here at Eastern Hills Ele. He is the last one of mines to walk through the doors of Eastern Hills Ele. I have enjoyed each and every moment.The school has change some since my oldest was there as well as my 9th grader but I wouldn't accept no other school. When my son was in pre-k he made a song up while taking a shower about his teacher Ms.Impaye and to this day we tease him about it.If you knew my son and he's singing about a teacher man that's a wonderful thing.Yes there's room for alot of improvement with some of the teachers attitude and p.t.a. but over all it's a good school.

- submitted by a parent
October 24, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »

Ratings help families find and compare schools. Families should also use other factors when choosing a school.


Nearby homes for sale

     
Last modified: October 07, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eastern Hills Elementary School
5917 Shelton Street, Fort Worth, TX  76112
(817) 815-4500
Last modified Eastern Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eastern Hills Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top