Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Atwood Mcdonald Elementary School 3

Posted May 18, 2015
- a community member
I went to this school from 08-09 and 09-010. My first year from transferring from a previous school had me more advanced than all of the other students... Something must have went wrong with the teachers and the curriculum. Students were not the best. Teachers could have taught better. My old math teacher, Traci Reeve, was amazing. But, I would not recommend this school. Back when I attended this school, there was no morning or afternoon bus transportation.

Atwood Mcdonald Elementary School 4

Posted September 13, 2011
- a parent
I just moved into the are and was told to avoid this school, but I disagree this school is fine I don't see any issues my daughter's teacher seems great he correct the children's English language and that's what a teacher should do, he also treats the children as equals not one child is better than the other. So far I am pleased with the school and the teacher and the office and cafeteria staff is very nice and helpful as well! :)


Atwood Mcdonald Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
The teachers really care about the children. There is lots of parents who care about all the children.

Atwood Mcdonald Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 18, 2009
- a parent
Behavior is an issue with this school as well as parent support. Also the principal seems to not care and I don't normally talk like that. Because of that reason, I think that the teachers try hard but ....

Atwood Mcdonald Elementary School 1

Posted March 25, 2008
- a parent
Our experience with this school has been one of the worst ever. Before my child transferred he was an A student. While at Atwood, everything changed about his behavior and his grades. The teachers are constanly yelling and talking crazy to the children. Children arre screamed att while trying to eat lunch and sent to the office forsttanding on walls.


Atwood Mcdonald Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2006
- a parent
My granddaughter attends Atwood. When we first moved back to the Ft.Worth area I was so afraid for her to attend the school district. Due to the fact hse was in Arlington district for her first 2 years of her eduacation. The two district teach on different levels. To be truthful I thought Arlington district was a much better district.Once I started raising her on my own, and being more involved in her schooling and learning.I'm very thankful for the fort Worth I.S.D.teachers at Atwood. So I am giving the staff and teachers at Atwood their flowers now so they will be able to enjoy and smell them. I would like to give a very special thanks to Ms. Salih for teaching my Deajanay. Thank you and may God continue to Bless you with the Knowledge of teaching...Jacqueline Jackson

Atwood Mcdonald Elementary School 4

Posted February 02, 2006
- a parent
My son has been going to Atwood since Pre-K and he is now in second grade. This school has wonderful teachers and the principal is wonderful as well.

Atwood Mcdonald Elementary School 4

Posted October 06, 2005
- a parent
Excellerated programs for 3rd grade and above only. However, parent involvement is a must (daily signatures on all completed work..Including homework...Required). Safety and discipline is a very high standard this school follows. Would like to see more one on one excellerated learning programs with younger students (k and 1st).

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atwood Mcdonald Elementary School
1850 Barron Lane, Fort Worth, TX  76112
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (817) 496-7445
Last modified Atwood Mcdonald Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top