Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Hi Mount Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Principal Koppes and Assistant Principal Baeta for providing a strong leadership structure to the staff.

North Hi Mount Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
My oldest is in 3rd grade and I had heard from parents from a variety of schools that 3rd grade is hard. From day 1 the amount of homework he had this year was definitely more than last year, but he rose to the challenge. I realized the increased difficulty in homework-and the teacher's insistence that it be "student led" this year-was proportionate to his increased ability as a 3rd grader. Yes, it's hard, but it's just the right amount of challenge. Also both my 3rd grader and 1st grader LOVE to read. From day 1 in kindergarten the teachers emphasize reading and it is evident to me they both have found a lifelong love of learning.


North Hi Mount Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
The staff and teachers at this little neighborhood school are very invested in the students' success. Most of the parents are also very involved, which I think lends to the overall academic achievement of the student body. We moved to this neighborhood b/c of its proximity to downtown, but we're staying b/c of the school.

North Hi Mount Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Koppes, the principal leads a group of fully committed teachers and faculty. The team is devoted to delivering an education to their students that will propel them successfully into middle school. They are focused on being a team that continues to grow as teachers. The students are a charming mix of several cultural backgrounds. My two daughters attend this school and are in 3rd and Kindergarten. We have been so pleased and happy with their teachers. There is a special spark and a wonderful atmosphere at the school. In 2014, North Hi Mount received a Bronze level award by the National Center for Urban Schools Transformation.

North Hi Mount Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
The school promotes integrity and caring in all students. The student champion in each class, each six weeks is chosen on the leadership qualities and the integrity of each student.


North Hi Mount Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Each six weeks, each class recognizes a student champion. The student champion is the student in the class who exhibits the three focuses of North Hi Mount.

North Hi Mount Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to all the teachers, faculty and principals for their commitment to our children. Thank you for the loving, safe, fun environment that fills the classrooms and the halls.

North Hi Mount Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2015
- a parent
This school is awesome! From the teachers to the principal, this school is AMAZING! It is truly a hidden gem in Monticello!!


North Hi Mount Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
We LOVE N. Hi Mount!! We tried a charter school for one semester then came right back!

North Hi Mount Elementary School 5

Posted June 26, 2014
- a parent
NHM is a hidden gem on the Westside. The school is small which is a benefit for the students. The principal is very passionate about this school and greets each student outside in the mornings. The PTA is up and running and growing each year. The teachers are very caring and involved in extracurricular activities with the school outside of their teaching duties. They have numerous clubs for kids to get involved in including Garden Club, Lights, Camera, Action (video production/newscast), Choir, Running Club and Art Club. They now have a dual language program for Spanish that will be in kinder and 1st grades for the 2014-2015 school year and will go on from there. Neighborhood support for the school is also improving year by year. This school really does function as a family. If you have any interest or concerns about this school you should definately make a visit to see for yourself.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Hi Mount Elementary School
3801 West 7th Street, Fort Worth, TX  76107
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (817) 815-1500
Last modified North Hi Mount Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top