Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bruce Shulkey Elementary School 4

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school with wonderful teachers, but the front desk ladies are so rude and not helpful at all.

Bruce Shulkey Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a teacher
Bruce Shulkey Elementary is a great school! The principal is professional and personable and truly cares about her students and staff. We have a diverse student population where students learn to appreciate and accept others who are different from themselves. The teachers work hard and care about their students.


Bruce Shulkey Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
Lots of parents helping out and involved here. Teachers care about their job and helping the students. Principal is always involved and seen not just hidden away in an office. Only issue was the front office staff who were rude an acted as though I bothered them.

Bruce Shulkey Elementary School 4

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
This school is a good school overall. Principal and counselor have been helpful. It's the attendance clerk and Secretary in the front office that are horrible to interact with. I would like to volunteer at my kids' school, but having to walk in to the office and see those two is an awful thought. They are never smiling and are always rude and dismissive. Unfortunately, they are the first two people you meet when you walk in the school. This makes for a very tense and uninviting feeling. Maybe if there was a more welcoming feeling, there would be more parents volunteering. The children here are young and I have seen them interact with these two women and they are scared and intimidated. It's sad to watch.

Bruce Shulkey Elementary School 4

Posted January 20, 2014
- a parent
Bruce Shulkey is a school where children come first. Unlike other schools in Fort Worth they host a language center for new to the US students, a Linc program for handicap children, and a Behavior Improvement class where students with unruly behavior ( from Other schools) are reformed. Teachers and staff go the extra mile for students in this low economic area where English is no longer the dominant first language. Bruce Shulkey is a gem and so is its principal.


Bruce Shulkey Elementary School 1

Posted May 21, 2012
- a parent
The principal and counselor of this school over shadow the wonderful teachers here, unfortunately. Both of my children have health problems that if not properly dealt with, they will miss school. Both are preventable, but there is lack of help on their end. My youngest has severe asthma and when not controlled, it will flare and turn into bronchitis and he will miss. The principal withdrew him for missing, and once I received his medication, his inhaler was never used, and his nebulizer meds only had TWO used, meaning they were not giving him his meds when needed, causing his asthma to flare, resulting in more missed days. My oldest has a learning disability and I tried tooth and nail to get them to do a 504 on her, even my written request was ignored. I have since pulled her, and now homeschool both. On top of all of this, the principal once yelled and screamed in my face, in front of all 3 of my children about their absences, which they had dr notes for and would have been prevented had they allowed proper hydration and bathroom breaks for my oldest, simply given my youngest his asthma medications. I think this could be a wonderful school, if not for the witch of a principal.

Bruce Shulkey Elementary School 4

Posted June 09, 2010
- a parent
This school has wonderful teachers and the Principal & VP are great. The school counselor & nurse have been a problem for some. My children love this school. They have a lot of programs and activities. The parent involvement is not so great. We have the same parents volunteering over & over again. This school would be awesome if we had better parenting among our children.

Bruce Shulkey Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2008
- a parent
This is the best school I have ever seen , My kid really enjoys this school, and the parent involvement is great and their sports is good.Their academic is really good, the Principal was good and visited classes to check on them.


Bruce Shulkey Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bruce Shulkey Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bruce Shulkey Elementary School
5533 Whitman Avenue, Fort Worth, TX  76133
(817) 814-8400
Last modified Bruce Shulkey Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bruce Shulkey Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews.