Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wedgwood Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 901 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2014

Most of the negative reviews that I've read on here have to do with student behavior. They are from parents blaming the school. Behavior is first learned at home. If parents don't teach their children to behave well and respect adults, don't expect the teachers and staff to do that job for you. I've worked with children with behavioral issues for more than 15 years. One of the biggest issues I've run into with children with poor behavior is that the parents refuse to accept responsibility for raising their own children and want other adults, such as, teachers, principals and eventually probation officers to do that job for them.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 25, 2014

I can give this school a 3 star only because my child is in the special education department. I love the teacher and love the aide. I would not recommend this school to anyone who thinks there child should go for general education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Horrible. So glad my son is almost out of what he calls "Wedghood". It truly is like a prison on lockdown as someone else stated. Fights are an everyday thing, and after asking staff why my son never has homework, I was told in not so many words that they feel most of the students wont do it anyway so they just avoid the extra paperwork. Office staff is extremely unreliable and irresponsible. I go directly to the counselor if I ever need accurate information. I certainly cant afford private school for my younger children, but a move out of this ghetto school district is highly likely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

This is a terrible school. Our kid went to Shulkey, then WW 6th, but the Middle school is terrible. Our kid was told by more than one teacher "I don't care about your grades, I get paid no matter what you make." And most of the kids don't care about grades, etc. Drugs, fights, and kids talking about suicide are regular, daily issues there. We moved out of Fort Worth because of this school. If you can get away from this school, do it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I would not send my dog to that school or FWISD! It is full of thugs and drugs. The students know they can get away with anything and do! The teachers work their butts off but don't get the support needed from the building's administration or from the district. We left Ft. Worth on purpose so our children would not attend that school. It is a bigger issue than outsiders think!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

If you're wanting to send you're child to this school, you should read this. Although there's very little respect for adults here, allot of drama and very few students caring about their grades and studies, this school is great in many ways including the athletics department. The coaches bond with the students and care for them, they also show them team work. The team bonds very good too and forms a brother hood. Also their band is excellent, all the members bond like a family and the band is very good. So if you're wanting to send your child to this school I recommend for them to join a sport, club, or the band this will help them put more effort into their studies since they must pass all their classes to participate in these programs. This school is a bit like a prison but if you're child stays on the right track,and out of trouble, he/she should be fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

I don't know where to start to start. Wedgwood middle school is an awful place for a child. There are girl fights and boy fights daily. My son attended WEDGWOOD in 2012, and played football. The sports program was the best part of this school. However the academics where severely lacking, especially the English dept. They never pushed the kids to read or write and there was never any homework. I visited my child's classes on several occasions, every time the classes where loud and unorganized. I actually felt sorry for the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2010

Let me just say: The school is like a prison, it's on lock down at all times. Before school. During school. After school. The students are out of control, not the staffs fault, but they are. I have two students attending the school because we live in the area. They have a good staff who tries hard and does the best that they can, but the students are out of control (again). I would send my student(s) to a different school if I could. The leadership at the school is lacking the ability to transform the culture of the school into one that is lively and student centered. I just feel sorry for students who attend this school including my own and I can't change our situation right now. Go to the school and visit before school, during school, and after. You will see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

This is a very good school!! I recommend this school to everyone. All the Teachers are good at helping their students. They make sure the student will successful!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

I love wedgwood middle school, I would reccomend this to any parent who wants to send their child to a safe secure and great learning eviorment. The Band is supurb and they have a wonderful athletic program also. I give this school 5/5
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

I love wedgewood and all the people there and all the staff they are awsome!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2009

This school is a joke. I would not recommend this school to any parent. The teachers are not organized, they loose the children assignments and they have to redo the assignment again. I have seen some things that just don't seem right this school should be evaluated on a regular basis starting with the assistant principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2008

My kids have enjoyed attending wedgwood m.s. My son loves the athletic program. My daughter loves the extra curriculum programs they provide. My daughters honor classes is challenging but has enjoyed them. My son has a great bond with the football coaches, they are great motivators. My daughter's new orchestra instructor is uplifting. The staff is awesome, the assistant principal has a gift of knowing each student. Overall I am completely satisfied with this school and I would definitely recommend it to everyone....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

My son has enjoyed attending Wedgwood. The band program is awesome. The new principal and assistant principals try their hardest. It's parents that have got to get a hold of their children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

I am a substitute teacher that has visited this school regularly. If you are a parent, you must RUN. run far far away if you at all possibly can. I will NOT be sending my child there, even though this is our area's local school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 6, 2007

There is A few great teachers and some that have no business trying to teach. All assignments should be posted on the Internet. There are some parents who would volunteer to get this done if the school leaders would cooperate. Some teachers have no clue as to what there weekly or daily assignments will be. If there were a monthly, weekly, or daily assignment plan and it was posted on the Internet the work could be handed in if theres a sub or not. Not all parents have computers but could visit the library and use one if they choose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

yes wedgwood has gottin worse over years, but you cant just give up. As a student i have hope that our outstanding band program can change the school. In band you always have a friend to turn to and we learn great leadership qualitys now we just got to show them threw tot he other students and slowly but shorely we can turn the school around. We will always have that hand-ful of stubbern kids but for the majority we can change!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2006

Wedgwood was once a great school. Sadly, it is no longer. There is a well-meaning principal who hasn't been able to get a handle on the problems. There are great, motivated teachers at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Discipline, safety, and teacher accountability have greatly improved under the new principal. Our second child to go through this school is having a much more possitive experience. There is still a need for better and more timely communication from the teachers to parents about classroom performance. Wider use of class web pages and teacher email would help keep parents and ill students informed about what is happening in the classroom. The technology is widely available and extremely simple and not too time- comsuming. There is little excuse for not using it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

Little homework. Little sign of learning that made kids stretch in their knowledge/thinking. Discipline iffy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

398 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

397 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

391 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

400 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

401 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

397 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

397 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Female82%
Male77%
Black or African American73%
Asian100%
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education42%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Gifted/talented96%

Math

All Students67%
Female67%
Male67%
Black or African American57%
Asian71%
Hispanic69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education33%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant67%
Gifted/talented96%

Writing

All Students93%
Female97%
Male89%
Black or African American87%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education48%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education43%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students78%
Female80%
Male77%
Black or African American75%
Asian100%
Hispanic76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education27%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students70%
Female67%
Male74%
Black or African American59%
Asian78%
Hispanic70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education5%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Black or African American91%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education68%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

428 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

431 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
61%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Female73%
Male59%
Black or African American57%
Asian55%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education35%
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)34%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant66%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted63%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students40%
Female37%
Male44%
Black or African American33%
Asian33%
Hispanic42%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Special education33%
Not special education41%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant40%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted40%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students56%
Female62%
Male50%
Black or African American46%
Asian45%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education15%
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)18%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant56%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted52%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Female75%
Male69%
Black or African American68%
Asian60%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education48%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students72%
Female72%
Male72%
Black or African American68%
Asian63%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education43%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%
Gifted/talented97%
Not Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students62%
Female55%
Male69%
Black or African American51%
Asian67%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special education32%
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant62%
Gifted/talented88%
Not Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students57%
Female53%
Male60%
Black or African American47%
Asian70%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education32%
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant57%
Gifted/talented86%
Not Gifted52%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black or African American71%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented97%
Not Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
Black or African American71%
Asian100%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talented93%
Not Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 52%
Black 36% 13%
White 13% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 7%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • VALENCIA RHINES
Fax number
  • (817) 814-8250

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3909 Wilkie Way
Fort Worth, TX 76133
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 814-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Wedgwood 6th Gr School
Fort Worth, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT