Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


47 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Applied Learning Academy 5

Posted November 18, 2011
- a community member
I am an alumni from ALA, I am now a Senior in High School and i feel like it helped me so much in high school and now going off to college. I learned to work hard, hands-on work, & how to solve problems in different ways. The school was very good about handling trouble, and to the reviews that say you only have to be in the "in-crowd", you don't. Most of the people who were bullied i noticed tried to fit in, and when they didn't get their way, threw a fit and people tried to get away from them, because they felt uncomfortable. it's nice to fit in, but not nice to fit in where you are almost forcing yourself on others, that only makes people scared & mad at them. Besides that, there are people of all types & groups, you don't have to just be in the in-crowd to fit in because you will find people of all different kinds! If you have a child that wants a better future, I would suggest to send them here, it really was a great school & everyone really did bond for the most part, even the "nerds" & the "populars", I actually talk to some even now!

Applied Learning Academy 3

Posted February 13, 2011
- a community member
This Skewl Iz Awesomee!!!(: But Likee Da Down Sidee Iz.NO I Am A Student! -Rafa Gonzalez-


Applied Learning Academy 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
I love ALA's approach to learning. Its not traditional and gives the students varies outlets for expressing their work. What ALA teaches at middle school level is what most schools teach at the high school level.

Applied Learning Academy 4

Posted June 30, 2010
- a community member
This was a great school and was probably one of the best middle schools in fort worth and I am not sure where these people are getting that kids use drugs, and that it is a terrible school. They are obviously talking about the wrong school

Applied Learning Academy 1

Posted June 04, 2010
- a community member
Possibly the worst place i've ever been to, this school is nothing but a living nightmare. I am a student, and so many horrible things have happened to me during my two years at ALA. There are problems with bulliying and many demotivational things going on in that school. The V.P has kids favored over others, and many things are handled unfairly. If you want YOUR child to not have to go through pain,suffering, or being pulled into a crowd that will drag them into drug ussage and bulling, DO NOT send them here.


Applied Learning Academy 0
no rating

Posted April 01, 2010
- a student
Nooo! this school is the worst school i ever went to kids getting in fights everyday the kids were awefull to me and my friends some teachers were good but some picked on the kids along with the kids! it was out raguse! what ever you do dont put your kids in this school it will pull there confedence level waaaaaay down! and if they are in hte 'in crowd' they will just have friends that will tlk about them behind there backs and if not you will see there activity with you and your family fall and no friend would come over grades will most likey fall!

Applied Learning Academy 0
no rating

Posted December 07, 2009
- a parent
This school is un - organized and not helpful. There are alot of fights and people being tormented . if i knew my child was going to be in an enviroment like this, i would never let them go

Applied Learning Academy 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
The students opinions/comments are the key. They help make the choices in how activities are run, what activities/learning to have and also help in decisions about changes they feel should be made with the school. You do not see that in a normal 6th-8th grade environment.


Applied Learning Academy 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
I'm happy with my choice to send both my sons to ALA. I think project oriented learning is more like real life than just doing worksheets and tests. The teachers are paying attention to how the students are doing because, in two different classes, a teacher recognized that one of my sons was working so far above the rest of his class that they moved him up to a more challenging class.

Applied Learning Academy 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The school provides great education to all of its students, the teachers are caring and attentive. It is a school in which the kids want to learn and have fun while doing it! Applied Learning Academy is a school that is good for a child who can work well in groups and is self-motivated, they work on projects throughout the school year which can be hard. But from this your child will become strong in their study habits and will be ready for High School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Applied Learning Academy
7060 Camp Bowie, Fort Worth, TX  76116
(817) 815-5500
Last modified Applied Learning Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Applied Learning Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top