Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Hills High School 2

Posted August 19, 2011
- a student
The GOOD: at the time I attended the school, they were worked hard to improve building facilities and hired many young teachers, many of whom worked earnestly to assist and motivate the students to succeed (or, at the least, to do their work.) The science and math teachers seemed especially committed to working with the students to help them understand challenging concepts (one of whom was, surprisingly, a coach.) They also offered a wide range of AP and honors courses including physics, calculus, english, and psychology. I had a great time in drama. Of course you had a few teachers who didn't seem to care or who seemed so intellectually dense you wondered how THEY ever managed to graduate, but I would say that they were not the majority. Lastly I will say that I believe your ability to receive a decent education at this school lies mainly within you (or your child's) motivation to actually learn. There were opportunities to take more challenging coursework and to receive one-on-one help from willing teachers, but it's not like a private school where the kids are miraculously shoehorned into models of success and achievement. Again, it all comes down to intrinsic motivation.

South Hills High School 2

Posted December 28, 2010
- a parent
your child has to work to hard to succeed your child has to work to hard to succeed your child has to work to hard to succeed


South Hills High School 5

Posted August 30, 2010
- a parent
my daughter transfered from the Crowley ISD, Were the teachers did not care about the students passing or giving tutoring. They hired these first year teachers that have no idea of how to teacher high schoolers and they were more concerned with their own personal lives during class instead of teaching and helping the kids that had difficulty learning.My daughter is now a honor roll student has all the help possible and I am greatful to SHHS.

South Hills High School 5

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Hills High School 1

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
If you want your child to have a strong academic future south hills is NOT your school.


South Hills High School 5

Posted February 26, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

South Hills High School 2

Posted December 18, 2009
- a community member
All I have to say about this school is students who post anything good about the environment are blind as to what a normal functioning school is. And parents that believe that this school is a good place for there child must not know everything that goes on. Good and well being teachers and other staff doesn't always mean there's good environment.

South Hills High School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2009
- a student
I am a senior here and I love it. The enivroment is something you want for your child. Everyone needs to realize that all schools are going to have dicipline problems were just the school everyone picks on. I mean every school in the fort worth isd has issues. We are just one that gets thrown down for it. The kids work really hard for what they want. And everything is getting bigger and better as i have turned into a senior. And i wouldnt have choosen anywhere else to go. The teachers work hard to make sure you pass. And the AP classes here are to die for there tough. But like i said before the teachers are really commited to making a diffrence in these kids lifes.


South Hills High School 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Hills High School 0
no rating

Posted June 03, 2009
- a student
I am a student here at south hills high school and LOVE IT. Really I wouldnt go anywhere else. I mean there is not the normal groups that every other high school has. Here the teachers acually CARE about the future of the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Hills High School
6101 McCart Avenue, Fort Worth, TX  76133
(817) 814-7000
Last modified South Hills High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Hills High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top