Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fossil Hill Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
Thanks to all the teachers who stay or go in early for tutorials to help students in need and coaches for not letting the kids slack off in being lazy! I've seen other schools just let their students sit on the bleachers and accept a failing grade if they don't want to work out!

Fossil Hill Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
I email them when either I am concerned about something and to receive an immediate reply or the other way around! They don't wait til it's too late!


Fossil Hill Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
My only concern is that my child gets sent home with a little homework from more than one class that it causes her to stay up late because she gets home between 5:45pm-6:15pm after cheer practice or later during games nights but it's not all the time so it's okay but what helps is coaches let them do their homework before the game or during the game while they wait their turn to cheer!

Fossil Hill Middle School 5

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is currently attending this school and she loves it! I like the way the teachers keep me updated through emails with what their assignments will be and unturned in work. I also love the home access because it shows me her graded assignments, any missing/late assignments, and her class grades! I also love that if I send teachers an email they immediately reply! My daughter has also told me that she is grateful that the teachers give her the opportunity to fix any failed grades and she's not afraid to ask for help! She enjoys being in athletics and being a cheerleader! She says she's glad FHMS has girl sports because the middle school her cousin attends only has volleyball for girls throughout the school year!

Fossil Hill Middle School 1

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a special needs child. The school failed to convene the appropriate committee to help her through school, even when asked. Due to failures on behalf of FHMS, too many to mention, she is behind "2 years" and was pushed to ninth grade. Did not pass starts! Was not offered mandatory instruction for summer etc...she has suffered....


Fossil Hill Middle School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a community member
FHMS has amazing teachers. I can't name them all. If I have a complaint about this school it is the parents that refuse to hold ther children accountable for things that not only affect them, but other students as well. Also, it is disheartening to see the way students at other district schools treat the students at FHMS. I have heard many racist and nasty comments about income. I have found the diversity to be an important lesson about life. Not everyone grows up the same color having mommy and daddy hover over them while paying the way to intolerance! God bless FHMS. Great things happening there.

Fossil Hill Middle School 1

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
I have no idea why this school is rated a 7. All schools around this area have gone down hill. Bullying is in every school and most schools know how to take measures in their own hands but be prepared. If your child becomes bullied and notifies a staff as they mention. Do not hesitate of keeping a close eye. The school and every school including Fossil Ridge High School will carelessly keeping a close eye on your child of bullying. Once your child becomes a victim of bullying, there is no saving your child. Your child may turn the tables and face his/her bully. By doing this your child will defend themselves. Sadly in the eyes of this school, your child becomes a suspect. Beware of this school towards bullying, your child will become a suspect. Hear it from the children as well as the parents.

Fossil Hill Middle School 1

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
Horrible about communication and don't focus on children with special needs. The teachers are nice but not warm and inviting


Fossil Hill Middle School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a community member
This school may not be in the best conditions but the teachers their are fab! Kelli Baker is a great history teacher! I saw a lot of improvement in my daughter with history In that class :)

Fossil Hill Middle School 4

Posted May 28, 2013
- a community member
The students behavior is another story, but in the hallways some students tend to be "insane", when the hallways are unmonitored. Ever since its opening back in 1987, it had been a hazard zone school for parents, even though they always expected it to be "normal" or "safe", as society expects the way that it is supposed to be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fossil Hill Middle School
3821 Staghorn Circle South, Fort Worth, TX  76137
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (817) 744-3050
Last modified Fossil Hill Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top