Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Mother of Mercy

Private | PK-8 | 100 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fort Worth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $58,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2011

We are going into my child's second year at Our Mother of Mercy. Moving him to this school was the best move that I could have made. The classes are small and the school is close-knit. The students are reminded to be respectful. When I visit for whatever reason, I might find a young man waiting to open the door or hear student's greeting me, "Hello, Mrs. *****". Where the school lacks in "extras", it makes up in the solid educational foundation that my child is receiving. Dr. Yusuf is receptive to parental assistance. Every family is expected to be involved. The school has many needs. This school is great because of the parental involvement. I moved my child from one of the highest, state accredited school districts in the metroplex. I wanted my child to be able to score well on any test not just the state mandated tests. I felt that the local public school's focus was strictly teaching the students to master subjects on the state test. I realized that the local public school would not provide the type of education that I had as a child attending public schools. I found that Our Mother of Mercy provided the educational environment that I was familiar with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

Both of my children attend OMM. I really enjoy the attention the faculty places on our children in regards to academics. I strongly encourage any parent who is tired of the public school system to come and tour the school. You will be pleasantly surprised and your child's education is worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

This is our first year at Our Mother of Mercy (OMM) Catholic School. OMM is a well kepted secret - they have an advance curriculum, dedicated teachers and staff. Their teacher-student ratio is small, which is a plus!!!! Our first semester has been above expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

Our Mother of Mercy School has a brand new building and a great teaching staff. I highly endorse OMM for any parent who wants their child to learn in a safe, secure environment.


Posted September 3, 2008

My granddaugher has been attending omm for 3 years now, it was the best decision for us, her grades have improved, the teachers are great, this is a great school, i would recommend it to everyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

My daughter is in Pre-K and loves attending school. She is reading simple sentences and recognizes sounds, vowels, etc. I love the fact that she is getting a religious background with an emphasis on community service. I also love the afro-centrism and Hispanic heritage awareness the school provides. By no means is this a wealthy school, but I feel that Dr. Yusuf spends every penny and then some on the students and academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2006

OMM continues to develop the whole child in body, mind and spirit.The staff encourages the children to soar even beyond their expectations.I've had two sons attend, 1 is now a sr in high school the other is now in 7th gr at OMM who start from pre-K 4;I praise God for OMM and the priniciples on which they stand. Way to Go Mercy! Excellent job Dr Yusef & OMM Staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2006

Mercy has served me well. I have 2 children in mercy. The campus is small, classes are small,close-knit,family atmosphere.I nor my children are catholic but the curriculum is afro-centric enough to balance my concerns.If there is a draw-back it is that there are some young teachers who have not honed their skills to perfection,but they get the job done. Mercy is not a rich school,the need for money is evident, but the effort on everyones part makes me love this place all the more.This is my daughters last year and i am just sick.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 86% 13%
Hispanic 13% 51%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 31%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Carolyn M. Yusuf
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (817) 923-3368

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Ft. Worth
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Twenty hours of volunteer participation are required of each parent each year. parents share their skills by participating on the local school advisory committee, the pto, in classrooms, as nurses, etc. community members participate in ways such as school read-ins, career days, as judges of student work, etc.
More from this school
  • Our Mother of Mercy School is conveniently located near the medical district and the downtown area.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1007 East Terrell Avenue
Fort Worth, TX 76104
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 923-0058

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Starpoint School
Fort Worth, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT