Advertisement
Advertisement

Starpoint School

Private | 1-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fort Worth

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $57,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $863.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2013

Hi My name is Roger L Mackey .I wenr to Starpoint for two years in 1977 and 1978.This school taught me how to read and study.I am hard of hearing.I just want to say thank you for TCU for having Starpoint as a school that helps the disabled kids and mostly slow minded students.


Posted January 8, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Starpoint School. My daughter attended for 4 years. She will be graduating from high school in a few months in the top 15 percent of her class. At this point, she is discerning among academic scholarship offers to attend college. Her success can be attributed in part to her hard work and perseverance, but a large part of it goes to Starpoint for believing in her and helping her believe in herself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

After struggling with the local school district to get the help our child desperately needed, we finally found our answer at Starpoint. Words can't describe the feeling one gets of stress lifting from your shoulders, knowing you are finally in the right place with the right people - getting the help your child needs. It has been almost two years since our child's diagnosis at Scottish Rite Luke Waites Center [another group of remarkable people] and we can't imagine how else this could have been. Can ya' tell we like the place?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

I have known about Starpoint for many years. As a TCU alumni I have followed the progress and witnessed the success that each child has had the opportunity to achieve. The teachers are of the highest calibre, educating and nurturing children with learning differences with love and a firm but gentle hand. As a public school board member, I wish our schools could offer the level of personal and individualized instruction that Starpoint offers


Posted November 29, 2008

By far the best of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

If your child cries because they are unable to read and spell give them the gift of hope, give them Starpoint. Our child was in a Texas recognized school, she was also in their 'Dyslexia Program' boasting of their high success rates. However, two years later our daughter was still crying. Starpoint is refreshingly honest and open. They speak the language children with learning differences understand. Starpoint understands children that cry. Our evenings are no longer a horrible and tearful mess. Instead our daughter completes her homework and has many experiences with success. We drive approximately 60 miles per day and we would double it, even with present gas prices. What is an education, the gift of laughter and returned family time worth to you?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

If you have a true learning disability you might be displeased with Star Point. We attended briefly and determined that their curriculum is not tailored to fit special deficiencies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2004

Starpoint has change my life and my kids life. Starpoint has the kindest and most caring teachers. My girls have grown up at Starpoint and still go there. This year my oldest daughter had the highest GPA in her class. And that shows of much she has learned. Starpoint is one great big loving caring family. I don't know what I would have done without Starpoint. It is the best school ever. My oldest daughter graduated from Starpoint May 21, 2004 and is going to St. Pauls. I have never seen my daughter cry so hard before. She hated to leave because she has grown up there. Starpoint is undescribable. Starpoint is the best school in the world. I don't know what I would have done without Starpoint.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 37%
Hispanic 5% 47%
Black 3% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Disciples of Christ
Associations
  • CEC
  • NALS
Fax number
  • (817) 257-7168

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Tcu Box 297410
Fort Worth, TX 76129
Phone: (817) 257-6828

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Jane Justin School
Fort Worth, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT