Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-6|Private
63 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Starpoint School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
With each child there with their own learning differences they learn mutual respect. These children are so compassionate towards each other and know that each one brings a difference.

Starpoint School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
This is a special school for children with learning differences. My child came to this school fearful and defeated by his previous schools lack of resources. He really wanted to learn, but said he just couldn't get his brain to understand. Within two weeks of starting this school he was reading and had a better understanding of his dyslexia.


Starpoint School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
So grateful for Dr. Tolbert's leadership at Starpoint. All the teachers love their job and you see it in their teaching. Leadership starts at the top and trickles down. Thank you Dr. Tolbert for your respect, compassion and love for the teachers and students.

Starpoint School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
This school is for children with learning differences and the teachers are trained to teach accordingly. The teacher to student ratio is kept low so one on one is effective. My son instantly felt a sense of belonging. He felt the dedication and love from the teachers from day one.

Starpoint School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a community member
Hi My name is Roger L Mackey .I wenr to Starpoint for two years in 1977 and 1978.This school taught me how to read and study.I am hard of hearing.I just want to say thank you for TCU for having Starpoint as a school that helps the disabled kids and mostly slow minded students.


Starpoint School 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
I cannot say enough good things about Starpoint School. My daughter attended for 4 years. She will be graduating from high school in a few months in the top 15 percent of her class. At this point, she is discerning among academic scholarship offers to attend college. Her success can be attributed in part to her hard work and perseverance, but a large part of it goes to Starpoint for believing in her and helping her believe in herself.

Starpoint School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2009
- a parent
After struggling with the local school district to get the help our child desperately needed, we finally found our answer at Starpoint. Words can't describe the feeling one gets of stress lifting from your shoulders, knowing you are finally in the right place with the right people - getting the help your child needs. It has been almost two years since our child's diagnosis at Scottish Rite Luke Waites Center [another group of remarkable people] and we can't imagine how else this could have been. Can ya' tell we like the place?

Starpoint School 5

Posted April 25, 2009
- a community member
I have known about Starpoint for many years. As a TCU alumni I have followed the progress and witnessed the success that each child has had the opportunity to achieve. The teachers are of the highest calibre, educating and nurturing children with learning differences with love and a firm but gentle hand. As a public school board member, I wish our schools could offer the level of personal and individualized instruction that Starpoint offers


Starpoint School 5

Posted November 29, 2008
- a parent

Starpoint School
no rating

Posted September 03, 2008
- a parent
If your child cries because they are unable to read and spell give them the gift of hope, give them Starpoint. Our child was in a Texas recognized school, she was also in their 'Dyslexia Program' boasting of their high success rates. However, two years later our daughter was still crying. Starpoint is refreshingly honest and open. They speak the language children with learning differences understand. Starpoint understands children that cry. Our evenings are no longer a horrible and tearful mess. Instead our daughter completes her homework and has many experiences with success. We drive approximately 60 miles per day and we would double it, even with present gas prices. What is an education, the gift of laughter and returned family time worth to you?

Nearby schools

Starpoint School
Tcu Box 297410, Fort Worth, TX  76129
(817) 257-7141
Last modified Starpoint School is a Private school that serves grades 1-6
Top