Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bethesda Christian School

Private | K-12 | 400 students

We are best known for academics and character training.
 
 

 
 

Living in Fort Worth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $122,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2009

Our child has been at Bethesda for 8 years and we tell others that we will 'sell our house and go to using one car' if that is what it takes to stay at Bethesda! The academic program is outstanding; at every math, science, or speech meet we've attended this is proven by the number of Bethesda students that achieve top honors even though other schools have more students present/competing. Our students want to learn, have confidence in what they know but are humble about it, and always DO their BEST in everything they attempt. The students have a positive outlook of life, they aren't 'lost and without purpose' like so many young adults/students are in today's society. They are respectful to one another, to adults and to younger students. Our outstanding staff is always positive, encouraging, and enjoys teaching students that WANT to learn! Parental support is superior!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

I wish i could have afforded to keep my child there, the best care a working parent could ever ask for. My daughter was apart of the family at Bethesda. She will always take with her in life, the values and education Bethesda gives to each in every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Bethesda is a wonderful school with terrific teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

our school is awesome...i wouldn't want to go anywhere else!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2008

It is a good school, I should know. I went there from k-6 and then for financial reasons had to leave. I feel they do not have adequate facilities compared to public schools (classes and tech). The teachers are nice, but I feel that they pressure and shelter you. I am now in a good high school and was the best in my class at my middle school. It gives your child a good foundation, but after 5th grade they fall behind in some areas. If you want a marching band program, I would urge you to go elsewhere there is not enough students for a marching band. It does not offer a very large selection of classes but I have been told they are changing that. If you are having bully problems you may have to figure it out on your own. I speak from experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2008

Everyone there is so friendly. They all have a real love for the Lord, and are extremely accepting to new people!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

We just completed our first year at Bethesda and couldn't have been more pleased with the school. Our children previously had been at another Christian school out-of-state; but Bethesda definitely raised the bar academically. Administration emphasizes a spirit of excellence. Well-behaved kids, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

I have been attending Bethesda Christian School since kindergarden. It is a wonderful school. It has a great acedemic program and great field trips. In 4th, 6th and 8th grade you get to take trips to San Antonio, Huston, Austin, and Washington DC. I believe this is one of the best schools around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2007

Bethesda Christian School is the best kept secret in Fort Worth. With a full 24% of the class of 2007 (30 students) receiving recognition in the National Merit Scholarship program (Ranking in the top 4% of the nation s college bound seniors.) the curriculum is clearly exceptional. Students at BCS are accepted at the end of each school year for the following year so trouble makers or children who don t want to be there aren t returning year after year to disrupt or slow class progress. When observing a group of students from several of the premier private schools in the area the Bethesda students stand out as far more dignified, centered, well-mannered and mature. BCS appears to turn out far more prepared and refined students than other programs offered in the Fort Worth area. Before you sign up with a private school and pay exponentially more for a lot of glitz, glamour and status - - visit Bethesda Christian School and see for yourself the long-term substance instilled into the BCS children. I have found the Christ-centered leadership, dedicated teachers, compassionate and accepting students and welcoming families create an environment where children thrive and flourish while generating exceptional educational results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

I find the the students very accepting of new students. The teachers go out of their way to help you meet your goals.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2006

As a student at BCS, I see how the teachers genuinely care about our education. They develope personal relationships with each and every one of us. The academics are challenging, the sports teams are award-wining, the students care for each other, and the fine-arts are amazing. If you are looking for a clean, uplifting and friendly environment...all I can say is Bethesda!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2005

Good school, good athletic program, makes students work hard but lets them have fun at the same time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2005

Bethesda Christian School appears to be one of the better choices for Christian based education in the Fort Worth area. They are accredited by ACSI and SACS which are recognized by the TEA and Southern colleges. This is important for college bound students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

Good test scores and curriculum. However, I would like to see an expansion of offerings in math, science, and foreign languages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2005

My son has attended BCS for 5 years. It is truly an outstanding school and Mrs. Vaughn and her staff do a remarkable job. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

We have had one graduate with two still in high school. We researched the area heavily before putting our children in Bethesda many, many years ago. Our youngest started in kindergarten. We have not been sorry. We made the right choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This school is the most awesome school. The teachers are so wonderful and the staff in the office are very kind and always want to hear from you regardless good or bad. If you have a complaint they will address it right away. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 31%
Hispanic 10% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Black 6% 13%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 32% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 68% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of North Texas
Texas A & M
University of Texas Arlington
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • TAPPS 3A District 1 Academic Champion (2013)
  • TAPPS 3A District 1 Academic Champion (2012)
  • 4th Place Tapps 3A State Academic & Speech (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Carter Blood Care (2010)
  • Carter Blood Care (2011)
  • Carter Blood Care (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Vicki L. Vaughn
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Assembly of God
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (817) 581-5123

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Concurrent Courses
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • morning bus pick up
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Bethesda Christian School is a K-12 college preparatory school founded in 1980. Bethesda’s Christ-centered program endeavors to equip students in achieving academic and spiritual excellence. Located in Fort Worth, Texas, BCS is an evangelical and interdenominational school with selective admissions. Bethesda’s challenging and enriching academic program is infused with biblical truths and character training.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$4000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Oklahoma University
Texas A & M
Texas Christian University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 32%
4 year college - 68%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4700 N Beach St
Fort Worth, TX 76137
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 281-6446

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT