Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Worth Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 880 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Fort Worth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2011

I have been a parent at FWC for 14 years. My oldest son graduated 2 years ago and now I have another one in FWC. The school has been a blessing to our kids and this family. The teachers care about all the students. The high school principal is very well respected by the students and his leadership is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2011

As a sophomore who has attended FWC since pre-k, I can honestly say there has been some favoritism issues since the beginning. The school claims to simply be a Christian school, but the behavior of the children suggests otherwise. I've been struggling with bullies for the longest time and the faculty does nothing about it. In fact, those students who make fun of me are the ones recognized as being the most "Christ-like." Since when was bullying Christ-like? Many of the students all attend the same church and those are the favorites of the stadd. If you are not affiliated with the Church of Christ, you will be treated as a second class citizen. It's been that way the last twelve years. The school is only centered around athletics so if you are not an athlete, you will be treated as nothing to the school. The fine arts program is lousy and nobody takes it seriously. It's only athletics that's valued. For anyone looking to come to FWC, I do not recommend it because the students there will pick on you for your individuality. If your an athlete who likes making fun of others, being like everyone else, and not care about academics, then FWC is the place for you.


Posted February 28, 2011

I have two children who currently attend Ft. Worth Christian High School. One has been at FWC since middle school and the other recently started high school at FWC. The principal is a model administrator. He knows each student by name and his rapport with students is amazing. The teachers care deeply for the students and want to see them succeed. Almost all of the coaching staff shows a deep care for the student athletes. However, with recent athletic success, it seems more focus on winning and less priority as to what is in students' best interest has become evident. A Christian education is strong focus at this school. As a parent, I would encourage those looking at placing their child at this school to investigate the religious beliefs to be sure that they will be a good "fit" for your child/family. If so, then Ft. Worth Christian can make an incredible difference in your child's educational experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

This is a great place to be. There is such a family feeling and the teachers are excellent. My three children have been nurtured, educated, and disciplined fairly. They have Bible classes daily and they have a devotional time or "chapel" every day in their building with all the other students. They also have the opportunity to go on wonderful class trips and they have several choices of mission trips in the high school. I have had two of children graduate with several college hours too. My husband and I just love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

A great warm, welcoming staff but beware of the "nickle and diming". At first glance you'll think their tuition prices are considerably less, but once you do the math on all the added fees you'll find otherwise. Also, they have been around since the 50's, they are a christian school - where is the CHAPEL?! Considering the new families pay a $1500 "campus enhancement" fee this should have been a priority a LONG time ago! Great school, but no excuse for this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

Love this school - worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

This is the second year for my two sons, one an 'HONORS' middle school and one a freshman in the high school. I would rate FWC above the area schools. The academics are above average and the administration, staff and faculty seem dedicated to the students. I am disappointed at the miniscule level of diversity among the faculty and student body. Otherwise, a generally positive experience for my sons and I would recommend FWC with a caveat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

As a current attending student at fwc, i can honestly say that i LOVE this school. I came last year as an 8th grader and at first i didn't like it because i was not willing to adapt, but now that i'm used to it, it's the best thing that has ever happened to me! All of my teachers are awesome (with the exception of one) and totally devoted to their jobs. The atheletics are awesome and the amount of fans that support our school at sporting events is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2009

i love the teachers and friends They make everything fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2008

Excellent school with 5-star sports and overly efficient academics, it tops any other school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

well some of the teachers are nice. there are a few kinks. just be good and youll make it through awesomly!!!!!!!!!! o and the scool trips r awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2008

I have 4 children at Fort Worth Christian School. We have been there since my oldest, who is now an 8th grader, was in Pre-K. I can not say enough great things about FWC. The teachers, staff and administration genuinely care about the students. This school offers wonderful athletic, academic, and fine arts programs as well as Bible and chapel daily. There is a brand new Science and Technology Building that will house High School Science Labs as well as Computer Technology classes. The teachers provide great academics as well as a loving Christian environment for the children. I would highly recommend this school to anyone interested in private education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

Unfortunately, I am not able to recommend FWC School. Our son attended two years adn three quater years there. It got SOOO bad we withdrew him three-quarter way thru the second year. I routinely saw favoritism toward students of faculty and administrative persons. There was no grace given children and very little, if any support from the administration when we experienced problems with a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

My son is a current student at FWC and I absolutely loved that he was recommended not for first grade right out of K but for D-1 (developmental first). Mrs. Chapman is the only D1 teacher and is just a blessing to these children. He was ready mentally but not socially/emotionally. I love their computer skills classes and am nothing but impressed with their staff. There are lots of opportunities to plug in at FWC for the parents and they are always welcome. The only thing that I would even consider a drawback from an education at FWC is that there are just so many things that seem to come up that just nickel and dime you to death. But that s such a small blemish on an otherwise spotless school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

I must say that FWC works very hard to develop the children in spirit and the teaching of the bible through daily chapel, a regimented Bible Class and prayer/devotional time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

Fort Worth Christian is a great school with several pre-AP and AP courses availible in the high school. The sports teams are fairly good, compared to the small school size and there are good theater and art programs. The level of parent involvement is huge, and the christian enviroment is wonderful for any age.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 27, 2004

This is one of the best schools i have been to since elementary. I promise if you send your children here they will love it and you will to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • TCSIT State Academic winners (2008)
  • TAPPS District Academic Meet winners (2009)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:10pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Don Hooper
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of Christ
Associations
  • NCSA
Fax number
  • (817) 281-7063

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parent teacher organization athletic booster club
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6200 Holiday Lane
Fort Worth, TX 76180
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 281-6504

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fort Worth Christian School
North Richland Hills, TX




Immanuel Lutheran School
North Richland Hills, TX


North Ridge Elementary School
North Richland Hills, TX


Holiday Heights Elementary School
North Richland Hills, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT