Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Worth Academy Of Fine Arts

Charter | 7-12 | 355 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2014

Our kids have attended at FWAFA for 7 yrs. We are daily blessed to have our sons attend there. The teachers are beyond dedicated! The education, check out our national ratings, has exceeded our expectations and continually challenges our boys. FWAFA is dedicated to child success. There is so much help and attention given to each child. We have one son that needed an accelerated curriculum-he got it! It is awesome. Our other son struggled to read. Several teachers stepped up and gave thier personal time to him dedicating themselves to his success. Additionally, he was also assigned a tutor. She was amazing. He no longer needs he help. Our son now reads and is one of the top students in several of his classes. I cannot say enough about the education, supreme environment and dedication this school presents. It is fabulous. You could only be so lucky to have a child at this school. For anyone that may not feel so kindly about school, or our fine art fees, it's a shame! Take your child to another school. There is a very long wait list for kids that want to be @ FWAFA. It is an incredible school. Give the opportunity to a kid who is waiting and wants it. FWAFA is a rare opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

The prior post does not represent me or most parents. I LOVE this school. FWAFA emphasizes the arts, but the academics are exceptional too. My kids went on to great universities and excelled in part because they had a great academic foundation provided to them by FWAFA. I love the small school environment. With only 30 to 60 students per GRADE, teachers know and care about their students. I like that grades 3-12 are all at one school. I think younger kids see and learn from older students and envision what they might expect. I like many of the traditions that make this school unique and give students great experiences outside of the classroom. I like that my children had national and international travel experiences that they would not have had in a typical public school. I feel the arts component of FWAFA makes well-rounded adults whether they decide to pursue their art or not. Anyone interested should visit the campus, talk to students and parents, or attend one of the many fine arts programs produced by the school. FWAFA is more than a school it is a community of faculty, staff, and parents dedicated to giving students the best academic and artist experience it can provide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2014

This used to be a wonderful school. The decline over the past 5-6 years is shocking and very sad. The Administration is non-responsive to any parent-raised concern. This is well known and a running joke among parents. The biggest issue is the mean-spiritedness among students. This is the case from the youngest grades to the oldest. Students are used to being "top dog" in their art prior to arriving at FWAFA. They are downright mean to one another and the Administration never seems to notice. If a parent complains the call/email is never returned until the parent gives up. Academics are very weak and faculty turns over often. There are a few excellent teachers in 11th/12th grades (who arrived before the current admin) but from what one hears they are planning to leave as well because of the decline in the culture of the school. Students arrive at FWAFA as strong students but standardized tests over time (looking at any one student) decline with each year spent at the school. Please look beyond the "honor" of being accepted. Look at the potential long term affect on your child's heart (from the mean student culture) and educational future (from weak academics).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

I have been a student at FWAFA for four years. FWAFA is definitely a unique school. The students are all there because they are gifted in the arts and went through the audition process. Parents are supportive and encouraging. Teachers and faculty are also there because they have a passion for the arts and academics. Maybe they don't get paid a lot, but that helps to weed out the teachers who are there for the wrong reasons. Some people just can't handle the environment. We are like a huge family and we stick up for one another. Teachers push us because they know that we can handle it. We are ranked in the top schools in the nation and our test scores show that we take academics very seriously, especially in our English department, where we learn how to use proper grammar... We work hard for our grades because we understand that being a student at FWAFA isn't something to take for granted. We take pride in who we are. FWAFA is a fantastic school built around community, the arts, strong academics and students, parents, faculty and teachers that truly care.


Posted October 9, 2012

I totally disagree with yesterday's post...I am assuming this "previous" teacher must have been fired from the English department due to the fact that his/her post had incorrect grammar! My daughter has been @ FWAFA for 5 years and she is definitely excelling. I have personally had experience with a private school, public schools, & charter schools with my children. As with all schools, we have encountered minor issues with FWAFA but NOTHING to "write home about"! My daughter is highly motivated to make high grades in all of her classes. As her mom (a college grad), I know just how hard she works and just how hard the subject matter is that she is being taught...at least a year ahead of FWISD. All of her classmates are highly motivated and are realizing just how important their studies & grades are in getting into college. FWAFA is a "college prep" school...Everyone there wants to go to college. I feel extremely lucky for my daughter to have gotten into this fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

As a former Teacher one of the worst schools academically as well as student attempts to learn. They are so use to receiving grades they don't even try. This is the worst schools ever. If a student don't pass the state assessments they are sent back to their home schools raising the high test results. This is a farce, the state should investigate. Teachers teaching subjects they are not qualified for.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2012

The administration of this school seems to exist only to collect their paychecks. Many of the staff are unqualified and inexperienced mothers of current or former students. The children of the staff have access to all private and sensitive matters discussed in the office and brag about this knowledge to their classmates. Upper School Students must spend 2 hours per day in "arts" classes, a waste of time for most, making the school day 2 hours longer than other high schools (8am-3.45pm, days preceding concerts can rehearse until 10pm). PTO is practically nonexistent, the principle must attend all committee meetings and all decisions must be personally approved by him, so every year no decisions are made and the principle tells the PTO what their fund-raising money must be used for. The theater department is excellent, as is upper school biology, but if you have a choice..run from this school - go to Booker T.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

My children have attended FWAFA, starting with my oldest, for 8 years now. We are very happy and blessed to have such dedicated teachers and staff. It is not your typical school, so it isn't for everyone. Academics are excellent and held at high standards, and artistic children are naturally inclined to be able to handle it. I also find that FWAFA prepares my children for the real world. My children have learned responsibility, respect, acceptance, self-confidence, just to name a few. The school has grown in size, and no longer has the feel of a "small school," where you know the names of all the children, but certainly has maintained its charisma, integrity and excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

As another year is coming to a close, I have to say that I feel so fortunate that my child attends FWAFA. Her high ACT and SAT scores are a direct reflection of the quality education she is receiving at FWAFA. Academics does not get put on the back burner to the fine arts. She has been pushed in her LA and math courses in order to prepare for college. As my child talks with friends that go to other schools, she quickly realizes that the high expectations at FWAFA academically and in the area of fine arts is a gift. Yes, she has a large academic load on top of her performances; however, this will give her the time management skills she needs to be successful as a college student/performer. Thank you FWAFA staff for challanging my high achieving student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

FWAFA is a great performing arts school. But other than performing arts, I am very concerned. My child has been taught numerous things incorrectly. Has gone from an "excelled" student, to one that is barely passing in a couple of classes. The school is very disorganized. You get several different emails and changes of information at the last minute. The administration is very lax. I am not happy as a parent with the academics. If you are only looking for fine arts, this is a great place. If you are looking for structure, high academics, etc., I would look REALLY DEEP before I considered placing my child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

FWAFA offers challenging academics and amazing fine arts opportunites that focus on a variety of learning styles. However, valuing students as individuals, professionlism, and adequate attention to concerns, whether minimal or serious, have much to be desired. On the surface, FWAFA is impressive, though once inside you find its a different story.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

FWAFA is a wonderful school with excellent teachers who really care about very student. Great students full of talent and desire to learn and work hard to achieve thier goals. Parents that are involved in thier children's lives and who invest time, love, money & devotion towards helping thier children succeed in thier goals & life. The kids at FWAFA recieve a great education & are well prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

I also agree that obtaining homework from middle school teachers is a challening task. All though the academics are on course and the staff is overall courteous, there are a few teachers who see it as their personal job to make the students life a as hard and unsuccessful as possible. Most teachers have posted tutoring times and are willing to stay and help. The few who do not find time in their scedules to stay after really make student success hard to come by. As a parent of a child with different learning style, it is hard to balance enthusiam for the arts and success in the classroom. It seems like a few teachers with a point to prove can ruin a good thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

The high school school has many good qualities for arts, but offers very little academic structure for those children who need it. It's difficult to get make-up work from the teachers when my child is absent. It's also difficult to get the teachers to respond to inquiries about acedemics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

FWAFA is an excellent school which is known for their performance groups, although not enough is said about their quality academics. Not only is FWAFA ranked 6th out of the Top 20 High Schools in the DFW but also has an exemplary accountabilty rating. FWAFA in my opinion is just as good or even better than some of the overpriced private schools in the area and can hold their own. My children love it there and say that they are being challanged by their teachers as well. We are pleased to be part of the FWAFA family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The children not only get all the basics of a good eduction, but can develop their artistic talents as well.


Posted September 15, 2009

This is the first year that my daughter has attended FWAFA and is a 9th grader. She loves it! There is a lot of homework but I think that would be the case anywhere going from Middle School to High School. They are committed to offering a quality education that balances the arts and high academics. I was so pleased to hear that FWAFA ranked 6th in the Top 20 High Schools in the greater Dallas Area based on a study that was published in the Dallas Morning News on September 13th. We feel blessed that she was selected to attend FWAFA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

My daughter graduated from FWAFA last year and is attending college with excellent talent and academic based scholarships. She transferred in from a 5A school and I believe that the 3 years she spent at FWAFA molded her as a student and performer in a way the other school could not. The faculty and staff are extremely supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

the Theater program is excellent. The music is a' favorites situation' and the leadership is lacking the teachers get away with not sticking to policy and making their own rules, sometimes at the cost of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

My childs second year at this school. Academically I dont think they are up to par. I found it hard to get assistance with my child from her elementary teacher and kept getting the run around.Very hard to get assistance with tutoring. The school is devoted to the performing groups and lack in other programs. My child loves the school so I am allowing her to stay another school year to see if it improves but may decide to put back in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

55 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

52 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

50 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

49 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

49 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

49 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
85%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female89%
Male80%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students92%
Female95%
Male85%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female100%
Male88%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female89%
Male82%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students92%
Female93%
Male88%
Black or African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students77%
Female79%
Male71%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented67%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students94%
Female95%
Male92%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students98%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students93%
Female89%
Male100%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students98%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students89%
Female88%
Male93%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented89%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students96%
Female94%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students88%
Female91%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students96%
Female95%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students98%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students95%
Female92%
Male100%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students97%
Female95%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 29%
Hispanic 15% 52%
Black 13% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 0%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 9%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • CRAIG SCHRECKENGAST
Fax number
  • (817) 926-9932

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3901 South Hulen Street
Fort Worth, TX 76109
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 924-1482

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Wedgwood 6th Gr School
Fort Worth, TX


Mclean Middle School
Fort Worth, TX


Mclean 6th Grade
Fort Worth, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT