Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkwood Hill Intermediate School

Public | 5-6 | 1141 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

To the teacher that posted on Feb 4, 2013... Ur a teacher so ur PAID to say all that so not surprised by the "biased and ignorant opinion" or the "anger issues" now THAT makes me laugh! Obviously, I'm not the only one who thinks that..look at the other comments but u want to pick on mine? ;) I'm scared that you could possibly be one of my kids teachers. Yikes!! Thankfully just a few weeks left of this school year AND with a new and improved principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

In response to the parent review on November 2nd, 2012. Mr. VanEgdom and Mrs. Tatar are excellent teachers who care a great deal about their jobs and their students. This parent obviously has some anger issues and has probably never taken the time to meet his child's teachers personally or seen the learning that takes place in their classrooms. So quick to criticize without anything but a biased, ignorant opinion.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 27, 2013

This school has been the worst experience I hope to ever endure in my child's education. He had the worst teachers for 5th grade, including a long term sub that was extremely rude and useless in the classroom. We prayed so hard for better teachers in the 6th grade. Sadly, his 5th grade teachers looped and went into the 6th grade with him! These teachers are constantly on their cell phones while their classrooms are unruly and out of control. Lots of bullying and inappropriate behavior. Obviously the principal does not care or the teachers would care. Looking forward to finally being done with this awful school. If you can help it, do NOT send your child here. It will change who they are for the worst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

Principal, Kathy Knowles, is the absolute WORST principal I have ever met! Some of the teachers (Tatar and Van Egdom for example) lack social skills and have a bad attitude..very mouthy! I think they only show up to the "work" to get a pay check and that's it...SAD! Honestly, I'm trying to make good memories for my kids while they go to school but with this principal and some of the awful teachers, it doesn't make it easy..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

Less than wealthy need not apply! The schools are nice, and the teachers seem to care about the kids, however if I could have put them in NW ISD, I would have. My son lives 1.8 miles from the school and only rides the bus 1 way and we have to pay $175 per semester for him to ride the bus! There are no discounts for 1 way trip only or short distance riders. If they ride the bus 1 time a month, its $175. I was called the 2nd day of school and was informed that they didnt have record of our payment, (It was paid they just didnt have it on line yet), therefore my son was not allowed on the bus and was to sit in the office until we could leave work and pick him up. This ISD will nickel and dime you to death. Their "required" school materials are extremely unreasonable. They offer a good education, great facilities, and good teachers, but by God you better be ready to break out your wallet. ALSO bus seats are first come first served, and routes are set up before the begining of the year based on paying riders. So if you transfer in, and they dont have a spot for you, your spouse might as well quit their job. But then you couldn't afford to send your kids to this "public" school anyway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

Terrible school. Administration is very uncaring about your children. Principle is very domineering. I only wish I could transfer my student to a different Keller intermediate school. I am thinking that home schooling for one year may be my answer just to get out of this environment. Hillwood (across the street) can teach Parkwood Hill a thing or two. Now that is an exceptional school!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2011

had a HORRIBLE 2 years there. SO glad to be done. There are some awesome teachers, but there also some bad ones. Principal is the worst here. Hoping she moves on before my son has to go there in 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

Wonderful teachers that provide challenging and fun activities. They provide a safe and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

new to the area. we came from an area out of state supposedly rated lower than Keller ISD ratings but so I am not impressed with the school. They seem to be teaching strictly for TAKS and not for critical thinking. The staff have been friendly and helpful. The classrooms are unruly, disrespectful and chaotic at times - very distracting for my 6th grader. There is no excuse for allowing such behavior. The busses are also rowdy allowing students to throw pencils, sharp objects, water bottles, and stand in the aisles. In my opinion, there is a lot of bravado and chest beating about this being a fantastic school district - so where is the beef?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

i love p.h.i.s.b/c there is so many good teachers .the downside of it is is that at lunch the 6th graders are so rowdy and loud
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2009

Great school, but, the principal is very domineering. I understand she was brought in to raise TAKS scores and she has done that job well. She has also removed fun from the school. Just not the same atmosphere as when my older son attended PHIS. Sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

It's pretty good there and my techers are awsome! It was a great school year!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 31, 2008

Parkwood Hill is a great place to be! I have taught at 3 different schools in my 13 years of teaching, and by far this is the most 'balanced.' Great administrator input, teacher collaboration, and student/parent involvement!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 29, 2008

I would not recommend this school. The administration has a very domineering style and parental input is not welcomed. Whever possible they attempt to make key decsions themselves without informing or involving the parent. The quality and professionalism of the teaching staff leaves much to be desired. I would encourage any parent with children at this school to be extra vigilant about their child's development and mastery of the curriculum. We basically endured my child's time at this school until we could make other arrangements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

Teachers here are very nice, but strict when needed. The school is very clean and whenever things get crazy the principal always gets it undercontrol.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2008

I love this school! Its great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2006

New principal has reduced recess. Quite sad. I believe this is in response to TAKS scores. Most teachers are quite good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2006

My son loves PWH, It was a big change for us. It is very diffrent than elementry, The kids are only there for two years, so you dont know as many people and they dont know you. Parent involvement is low so you see a lot of the teachers stepping in. I think its low due to the short stay and that parents that help are burnned out by the time 5th and 6th grade comes around. I wouldnt send my child anywhere else in Keller though I think its te best inter. school around here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

Excellent music program - just won first place for band this year just after 9-10 months of instruction!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

We moved to KISD because of the school system. Unfortunately, the city had poor planning for growth population. The school are overcrowded and the teachers are over worked.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

557 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

558 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

555 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

578 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

574 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female97%
Male96%
Black or African American93%
Asian95%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education75%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male99%
Black or African American91%
Asian98%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
White99%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education90%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students94%
Female91%
Male97%
Black or African American84%
Asian95%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education76%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female97%
Male92%
Black or African American91%
Asian94%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education68%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Black or African American84%
Asian94%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education64%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)56%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

511 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

513 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

518 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

551 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

546 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female88%
Male90%
Black or African American72%
Asian89%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education43%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male89%
Black or African American72%
Asian92%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial82%
American Indian or Alaska Native86%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education38%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female78%
Male84%
Black or African American61%
Asian85%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education33%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
Black or African American82%
Asian91%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Native75%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education48%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
Black or African American82%
Asian89%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial93%
American Indian or Alaska Native86%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education50%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 31%
Hispanic 19% 50%
Asian 10% 3%
Black 8% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8201 Parkwood Hill Blvd
Fort Worth, TX 76137
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 744-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hillwood Middle School
Fort Worth, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT