Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dallas Park Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 679 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2013

Dallas Park has been a wonderful experience for my child thus far. He is only in first grade and not in the gifted program but his teacher, Mrs. Lockard, has challenged ALL the students in her class by offering hands on lessons and class plays which my son has enjoyed! Hats off to this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

We transferred to Dallas Park when our son was diagnosed with ASD & the special ed department at Oakmont was being cut. That has been the best thing that has ever happened to us! We went from a school which was a hot mess to a wonderful, warm & caring school. From the principal to the janitor, this staff of individuals is amazing! Every concern & question is handled quickly & efficiently. The BIC department is AWESOME! Their Zero Tolerance for Bullying policy is exactly that, Zero Tolerance! Teachers are friendly, supportive & they communicate! Phone calls, emails, conferences; which ever is best for you. I even get text messages during the day if there's something I need to know ASAP! Every student is different, but our experience with Dallas Park has been wonderful & we will deeply miss everyone as we move forward this next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

Dallas Park is a good school and has some very good teachers. The downside is that high performing students aren't challenged. Budget cuts leaves things very bare bones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Our family is very thankful for the great environment at Dallas Park. My children have enjoyed learning here and have had some of the best teachers in the district. They go above and beyond even though they are already stretched to the limits. We are very happy here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

I think Dallas Park is a wonderful school with many opportunities for all children. Both of my nieces were challenged and encouraged to be creative in many different ways. As their Aunt I enjoyed watching them grow, developing into great students with the help of there teachers, staff, and parents. DP has a saying "Dallas Park is the place to be!"


Posted July 31, 2009

I think DP has the challenges that most schools do. The great thing about them is that they try to figure out different ways to reward the studnets. Far too many times, all you see is tutor, tutor, tutor. Well I am happy to say that DP had a wonderful Piano Lab Club, thanks to Ms. Weaver and the PTA's donations, this year and the children preformed admirably. We, as parents have to take the responsibility of the education of our students as much as the school does. I love being there and I have a new kindergartner coming this year. This will be our second child going through DP. Dallas Park is the place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

My daughter was transferred to Dallas Park Elementary two years ago. The first year was a nightmare in trying to get the proper paper work filled out and signed off on. But that was the other school,(Meadowcreek Ele.) Even when the personell at Dallas didn't know us, they tried every way possible to help me get the required forms and signatures needed in order to make the transfer. Since that time, going on three years, they continue to be of Great assistance and always willing to help. The teachers, as well as, Mr. C. have gone above and beyond what is asked of them. They have always been very encouraging and supportive of the children and interested in what they are doing. I would highly recommend this school to any parent with children in elementary school. I appreciate them more than words can say!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

We moved to the 'Crowley ISD' area at the begining of the school year, with high hopes after a visit with the school! Within the 1st six weeks I was shocked at the teachers, the lack of interest, the lack of concern, the rudeness,& the sarcasam the teachers showed the kids! My daughter came home crying many days because of the teacher smarting off. He appologized once after I confronted him. They dont send home weekly newsletters because they want to save paper, yet trying to get a teacher to email you is a joke! My daughter went from being an A honor student to a C student. Her teachers had no orginization, or communication with one another. On top of that both our teachers were 1st year teachers who knew NOTHING about being teachers! Just needed a paycheck. I would not recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

We have been at Dallas Park from the beginning and while this school has seen MANY changes, I think the teachers are phenomenal and care so much about the students. I am extremely happy with Mr. C and am relieved that he has beaten the record by staying a 2nd year with the school. It's very refreshing seeing him talking to parents, greeting the students, and actually listening to what is being said by both parents and students. As for the staff being rude, I will say that the women in the office really do need to make the extra effort to be courteous to parents and children. I have heard 'Who are you?' said in a demanding tone far too many times. Unfortunately, they are representatives and give a first impression that isn't so great. This is the only reason I'm not giving a higher rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

We have been at Dallas Park since the first year it was opened in 2002, even though there has been 4 different principals, I still love the school and the teachers are wonderful and caring. I have always been very involved in the school and see that it is gaining new ground for improvements. The comments made about the current principal singing lyrics to a bad song are inaccurate and taken out of context. My children are very well cared for and have excelled in their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

We are very happy with Dallas Park. The principal is very accessible and the teachers work hard to meet the needs of the children. Both of my boys have excelled academically while at Dallas Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

We have been at Dallas Park Elementary for 4 years now. I must say that this is by far the best year we've had in our experience with the school. The new principal has an open door to parents--and even hosts a 'Principal's Roundtable' discussion each month- one in the morning and one in the evening--just to get feedback from parents. The principal and all of the staff--especially the assistant principal and the secretary and the attendent and the receptionist are all warm and welcoming. The entire atmosphere of the school has changed! My kids talk about their principals with much respect and love for them--what a blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

We started this year at Dallas Park after my children attending it for the past 4yrs. I was completely turned off by the new pricipal this year. Dallas Park seems to have alot of administration changes and I do not understand why. I withdrew my student a few months back and think is was the best choice I could have made for him. We are attending another school within the district and can not believe the difference, the Dallas Park staff was always rude to the children and at the new school everyone takes the time to be nice to the parents and students. I would not recommend Dallas Park to anyone as long as the new principal is there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

My children have attended Dallas Park for 4 years now and we saw dramatic changes last year when Mr. Jenkins left as principal. I think the new principal this year is going to be very hands on and accessible for everyone. I look forward to a great year. I also think the PTA is greatly imporving and will definitely be an assett to the school. We just need more parents to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

My children enjoy their school and love their teachers. The school is clean, well lighted and maintained. The staff are professional. The student body is a diverse middle-class entity that all seem to be well dressed and obedient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

I have high expectations for this new school year at Dallas Park with a new principal arriving. Hope new encouragement/ motivation arises, art and music re-enforced, not so much emphasis on TAKS test, but yes in academics and go beyond the basics. I have been an involved parent for 4 years in Dallas Park and this past year was difficult for all. Too many changes at once, poor communication from administration and lack of presence in activities. I expect more hands one and less do it yourself teaching. It has been proven boys learn different than girls, all kids need all kinds of different methods to learn, not just reading and piles of papers flowing around your table. A lot of good teachers leaving. Crowley is keeping the small town mentality and we have grown too fast!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

I was pleased with Dallas Park a couple of years ago, but have noticed a decline in several areas. When Mary Harris was the principal, the children learn their academics, the teachers communicated with the parents, and Ms. Harris was accessible to parents. When Chris Jenkins was principal, the children learned academics, the teachers communicated with parents, and Mr. Jenkins was accessible to parents. The current principal is an ineffective leader, communicator, and administrator. The teaching methods now focus primarily on passing the TAKS, and good teachers are leaving the school. The office staff has become inefficient, and there are too many students who have moved into the area who are poor performers, and its adversely affecting the school overall. Dallas Park needs a major overhaul if it's going to be exemplary agian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Over the years I have noticed the good teachers leaving. The principal this year was not readily available. I see a tension between the principal, teachers and parents. The academic standards seem to be going down. Way too much emphasis on the TAKS test. This school needs much better leadership and communication between the principal and everyone else. A change is needed and plenty of parents have complained about this. Hopefully next year will improve. We'll see!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

I have seen a significant decrease in the overall quality of Dallas Park this school year. I believe that the new administration is less invested in the students and the school itself. This was demonstrated by the nonpresence at evening activities including the Spring open house. I am also aware of many of the more desirable teachers leaving the school due to lack of administrative support. Crowley ISD will have difficulty retaining highly qualified experienced teachers due to the lack pay raises over the last three school years. The greatest concern is that when administrators are not invested, teachers receive less support. Less support equates to a decrease in motivation. In today's worksheet driven curriculums, students need teachers that are excited about the profession and administration that that available for students as well as staff. If students are to succeed, they need an administration that is supportive and available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

After 4 years this school has gone from good to bad. It is over populated and has lost many of it's good teachers to a near by school. This school has never had an Art teacher. There is a huge lack of communication with teachers and the Principal. The office staff have a hard time with a standard operating procedure and cause much confusion. The drop-off/pick-up procedure is very dangerous. Many broken rules by teachers and staff. Very disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

158 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

158 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

159 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

161 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

158 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female80%
Male82%
Black or African American73%
Asian95%
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education67%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students77%
Female71%
Male83%
Black or African American66%
Asian95%
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education71%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female85%
Male83%
Black or African American77%
Asian100%
Hispanic81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students79%
Female81%
Male76%
Black or African American69%
Asian100%
Hispanic81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education60%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students87%
Female91%
Male82%
Black or African American77%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female81%
Male82%
Black or African American65%
Asian96%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education67%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students75%
Female68%
Male81%
Black or African American63%
Asian90%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education56%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Female70%
Male65%
Black or African American46%
Asian84%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education67%
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted64%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students69%
Female65%
Male73%
Black or African American53%
Asian89%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education33%
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students67%
Female71%
Male64%
Black or African American54%
Asian89%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education33%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)74%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant67%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted64%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 13%
White 25% 29%
Hispanic 19% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 9%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8700 Viridian Lane
Fort Worth, TX 76123
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 370-5620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT