Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lake Jackson Intermediate School 1

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
I moved to Lake Jackson in the early 70s and went to LJIS. On my first day, I was told you had to say "Yes ma'am and No sir," and girls could ONLY wear pants on a COLD day when the school board approved it, but NO JEANS ( I noticed boys could wear jeans anytime.) Also, if a student acted up, he/she got paddled. Then, I had a really MEAN gym teacher who yelled at me everyday and embarrassed the ****out of me. I thought the electives were crummy, the kids were cliquish, and the teachers were weird. I felt the whole school had a 1950's feel about it (kind of like 20 years behind the times) and a good name for the school would have been the STEPFORD SCHOOL, because all the students looked, talked, and acted like little southern dress-coded robots. All in all, Bad Experiences, Bad memories.

Lake Jackson Intermediate School 5

Posted September 11, 2012
- a community member
Excellent school, teachers, and people! I like the building especially and the food. 5 stars for sure


Lake Jackson Intermediate School 5

Posted April 11, 2012
- a parent
This is a an awesome school! Teachers are amazing, administrators are wonderful! Front office treats every one with respect and makes you feel at home! Am pleased to have my child attend that campus!

Lake Jackson Intermediate School 5

Posted April 11, 2012
- a parent
LJIS has been a great experience. The school is warm and welcoming to parents. The administrators and counselors have been a wonderful help.

Lake Jackson Intermediate School 5

Posted April 11, 2012
- a parent
The older reviews on this site are outdated and inaccurate. The current staff and leadership at LJI are awesome. Our child loves this school.


Lake Jackson Intermediate School 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
This is a an awesome school! Teachers are amazing, administrators are wonderful! Front office treats every one with respect and makes you feel at home! Am pleased to have my child attend that campus!

Lake Jackson Intermediate School
no rating

Posted November 01, 2008
- a parent
LJIS has been a great experience. The school is warm and welcoming to parents. The administrators and counselors have been a wonderful help.

Lake Jackson Intermediate School 1

Posted July 28, 2008
- a parent
My child attended this school this year, and I must say it was an awful experience for all of us. The principle of the school is very rude and is constantly yelling at the students is also very arrogant. Some teachers are okay others don't seem to care about the students education. parent


Lake Jackson Intermediate School 4

Posted June 28, 2006
- a student
As a soon to be former student of this school I decided I'd tell you what my school is like from a teen's point of veiw. The dress code is strict, but mostly uninforced. This school is also focused on academics and teamwork,rather than athletics. However, our girl teams are awesome despite a lack of effort on the school's part. Example of carlessness: I was late multiple occasions to school{i carpool}and I would just waltz past the ladies at the attendence desk& never be counted tardy thanx to my understaning teacher. On the other hand,there is a lot of parent involement, sometimes to complain other times to just help out or to just be kept involved. So all in all its a pretty decent& brand new school as of '06.

Lake Jackson Intermediate School 2

Posted August 23, 2004
- a parent
I took my son out of this school. The administrative personnel are arrogant, untruthful, and uncommunicative. The teachers are nice, but it's hard to get them to communicate regularly outside of the normal channels.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Jackson Intermediate School
P O Drawer Z, Freeport, TX  77541-1926
(979) 730-7250
Last modified Lake Jackson Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Jackson Intermediate School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top