Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westwood Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 629 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Friendswood

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $187,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2013

We moved from Ohio with our 3rd grader, and I was pleasantly surprised at how well my son did with the transition. Part of that is because he has wonderful teachers. Part is because the kids were kind and open to accepting him. I've never seen him get excited about doing a math competition. His only complaint is that recess is only 20 mins, and lunch is 30. I have to agree - kids need to get that energy out in order to be ready to learn! Regardless, I'm very happy with Westwood, and looking forward to Bales. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

Not only have we been extremely satisfied with the academics in the last 4 years, but with the extracurricular activities as well. They have a knitting club, choir, and running club among other activities all run by caring teachers and volunteers. The principals know the children by name. The 'character' education is unbelievable and top-notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

The overall quality of the school is great. However there is too much time spent to TAKS preparation and the children miss out on the some of the basic academics.I am sending our last child to private school to avoid all the hype over the TAKS test. There is too much pressure placed on the children to pass this test. If the basic fundamentals were being taught then there would be not pressure. PTO meeting are held at a time when working parents are not able to attend and therefor not encourage to participat in decisions regarding activities. The working parent is not encouraged and/asked to participate in the school functions. Having had a consistant principle over that last 2 years has made the biggest difference in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2005

Wonderful School with hands on approach that children love. Lots of activities including music, art and PE and extrordinary parent involvement. Very satisfied!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

Academics, parent involvement and teacher communication is outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I believe the academics are adequate. However, I feel the school is way too concentrated on the TAKS test and allows other subjects to become second or third hand as a result. Extracurricular activities that could be as educational or more educational than the basic subjects are far too under valued as demonstrated by the fact that parent volunteers are needed to conduct some of the classes if the classes are to be offered at all. The physical conditioning of the children is almost ignored. Parents do get involved but that involvement is not 'nurtured' as well as it should be due to some of the constaints of the PTO. I believe Westwood is a good school. I believe the new Principle is doing more to get parents to feel at ease with the school, yet, I still believe the success of the school is due to socioeconomic factors not curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

Excellent school with a focus on character building as well as academic achievement. Relies HEAVILY on parent volunteers for things such as reading group, folder preparation, and science lab (which I do not think should be volunteer), however, which is not scare in our affluent community. However, working parents are not catered to with PTO meetings at 0900 on a workday. Music, Art and PE are provided on a rotational weekly basis. Overall, I would highly recommend this school or any in FISD. R. Enochs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2004

It is a well kept school. Most of the teachers there are loving and caring to the female students. However, I have experienced some negative attitudes towards male students, even if they are good kids. You have to allow boys to be boys. For that reason,I have opted to send my son to a private school. I feel that teachers are not able to truly teach as the administration has placed a great priorty if they children can pass the TAKS test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2004

It's organized, they care about the safety of the students, the feedback has always been immediate, the overall staff is friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

Excellent school with great parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

170 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

170 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female99%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education100%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students72%
Female68%
Male77%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian71%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education56%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 29%
Hispanic 22% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Black 2% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 9%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • TERRI BRUCE
Fax number
  • (281) 996-2542

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

506 West Edgewood Drive
Friendswood, TX 77546
Phone: (281) 482-3341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT