Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pink Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 714 students

 
 

Living in Frisco

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $276,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

I'm honestly shocked at the number of 5 star ratings. As another post stated, if you have a child with different needs, don't go here. Even my typical child loved the new school that he moved to after leaving Pink far better. The PE teachers and music teacher are not creating a love for learning. The regular teachers - some are great, but others are snooty and don't want to deal with a child that is outside of the box. The overall feel of the school is snooty and unfriendly, especially the PTA. The principal is distant unless you make her mad. She doesn't hide her feelings well and does tend to blame parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2014

We came from out of state and our previous elementary school was #1 in the state so I cannot help but compare. Academics here are good and the teachers communicate every week via email to the parents. I appreciate all homework for the week is given on Monday. They are mostly paperless and a lot of the homework is completed online which I think is good. It's the way of the world right now. Unfortunately, this school is severely lacking in arts and music which is why I am only giving 4 stars. It's also not very culturally diverse. Nice, clean campus; fairly new construction and I can't complain about the 2 block walk. The recess area is a bit barren and small. Overall satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

I liked this school at 1st. Most teachers from 1st-4th work well with parents & are helpful. Watch out for 5th grade! We faced the first F & Cs. The teachers don't tell us until it's too late. They hardly tell us when anything is due. They contribute to the problem & lowered my child's self esteem. It's not just the 5th grade teachers. The music teacher is burned out & didn't bother to show the parents her room during open house. Also, Pink keeps using the same substitute that doesn't work well with parents or kids with special needs. If you love this school, great, since you're blessed with motivated, non-special needs kids w/out behavior concerns. Be grateful! But don't dismiss those with negative experiences, for their bad experiences are genuine. You can love the neighborhood and dislike the school. Ask the school how many pulled their kids out due to not meeting their needs. I know of for sure 3 & now I might be one of them. I keep trying to make it work. I want it to work, but I see it is not. I scored them low because I don't wish this on anyone. I may pull my youngest out before 5th if the same team is there and nothing is done about the substitute and the music teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

We love this school as well. This is our third year at PINK and we come from a family of eductators (though neither of us are educators). As my parents always said, there are always going to be people who believe the school is at fault.... In this case, as it happens in many well-off areas - its most likely the parents and not the school. The Principal and the Assistant Principal are very caring and extremely involved. Don't let a few negative posters fool you.. There is a reason the houses sell almost immediately in our neighborhood - people want in to PINK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

We love this school. This is only our second year at Pink, but we have had nothing but a positive experience. Our kids have thrived in this school. We feel that the administration truly does care about our kids. We moved from another state and have another school to compare to. We are all so much happier at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

It is my opinion that the principal is unprofessional to parents. Children at the school are restricted to the extreme. It is a culture where parents paint a fake smile on their faces and act as if they are involved with the school when they are really only allowed to provide free office work. If your child has a problem or issue the principal points fingers at the parents as if the school issue is instead a problem at home. In my opinion, she really only wants parents out of her hair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2011

Overall we are extremely pleased with Pink. Our involvement is encouraged with Watchdog DADS and the PTA and we feel welcome on campus. The teachers are very caring and they challenge my child daily to help him grow and learn. If you could give 4.5 stars I would because no one is perfect, but this school is Excellent! We purchased in GP to be close to school, and we know we made a great decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2011

It is unfortunate that a few people had bad expericences, and want to slander a very highly sought after elementary school, with an outstanding staff. My daughter is treated very well while being challenged, but not pressured. I love everything about Pink, and also specifically bought in Griffin Parc for my child to be able to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

This is a very bad school, principal can't care less about the children, she has her own "circle of favorite kids", she is a phony and very unpleasant individual. I was sooo happy to move out of that neighborhood, my every day was spoiled because i knew my kids need to go to that horrible school. Stay away.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

Run as fast as you can from this school. It is THE WORST CAMPUS in Frisco. Bethany Rowan, principal, is only in it for the TAKS test and recognition of exemplary campus. She could CARE LESS about children that are outside of the "perfect student". The special education department is a JOKE. Children are not allowed to be individuals here. Find another campus - if you have a child with any kind of disability, AD/HD, autism, dyslexia, or the like, DO NOT GO TO PINK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

I absolutely LOVE this school! My son began his education in a Montessori school. When I asked him which school he likes the most, he said Pink. The environment is set for learning. The students there appear happy. It is unusual to see students walking through the halls with a bubble in their mouth. However, it they are allowed to walk through the hallways making noise, it disturbs those in the classroom. And we are not from Texas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

The principal of this school, Mrs. Rowan has set a very defensive and unapproachable culture. Most of the staff is very unfriendly and unprofessional. If you have a child that always follows direction, is always quiet and never questions, then this might be an OK school for them, but if you have a child who is an independent thinker, you might want to consider a different school. This school is more like a prison for children. No talking in the hallways and classroom. Kids have to walk with a bubble in their mouth throughout the campus, and 10 minutes before lunch is over, the disco lights go on, and again children must put the bubble back in their mouth. Very unjust! It seems like at this school children are to be seen and not heard. So sad that we are taking their voice away and stifling their creative spirits. In my opinion we are digressing instead of evolving in our schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Not sure what the couple of 'negative' posters experienced, but I find it very unlikely that a large percentage of Pink families feel or view anything negative about this school. Just take tour! Everyone is friendly! We specifically built in this area so that our daughter could attend this fabulous school. She has been there for 4 years now and absolutely loves it. She is in the gifted and talented program, so if your child needs to be challenged, they will! The Principal and the Asst Principal know my child by name and that in itself makes a child feel special. Every one of her teachers have been great and wonderful communicators. Parent involvement is at the level you want it to be. Yes, I have lunch with my child, but do I want to invade on her time at recess with her friends... no... what for? LOVE THE SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

We love this school and Mrs. Rowan and Mr. Anderson. They are very visible, unlike some other schools in the district and know the kids names. It is a real family community. We have two kids in the school and one is in special ed. It took awhile to get the help, but the teachers are all great! I don't know what the one parent was talking about when they said parents aren't encouraged to help. I help all the time and it is very much appreciated and asked for! As far as not being able to go out with the kids at recess - go have lunch with your child and then give hugs and kisses and let them have fun and exert some energy. You can always come back on the weekend to the playground if you want :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

The school is really bad, apparently only local people like, but if you are from another state you will see how bad the school is..... No parental envolving, very low-level teachers, you can't get to the child's classroom, can't meet him on the playground during the recess, overall i am extremily dissapointed, even though when we moved to Texas, everybody was saying that that's a great school. There is absolutely nothing great about this schooln to say the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2009

Best Elementary school in Frisco. Parents are trying to get their children into Pink. I have a daughter there in first grade and the teachers and administration are very special. Involvement is very open. My wife volunteers every week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

Really really bad school, parental involvment is limited, the principal and the assistant principal are very unpleasant individuals, lots of unnessary brainwashing, if you can avoid this school , do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

I was extremely disappointed with Pink. True parental involvement is very limited. My experience was that parents are discouraged to be on campus at all. And personal experience with the principal was extremely unprofessional. The curriculum was really easy for my child -- the bright kids are not challenged; my child was not allowed to read beyond 'average' level. The kids spend time away from major subjects to memorize the Pink Pledge of Allegience. My child is now very happy at a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

We have one child that will begin his 4th year at Pink. We love this school. The teachers are fabulous and Ms. Rowan and Mr. Anderson are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

We love PINK. We have two children there that are doing excellent and they love the school. The teachers, and staff are excellent, willing to go the extra mile and provide great leadership. The parents in this area are very involved. Overall, I am really impressed with the school and neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

97 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

106 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

101 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

86 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

86 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

86 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education88%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education89%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female95%
Male100%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education86%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students98%
Female95%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian90%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education89%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students94%
Female94%
Male95%
Black or African American86%
Asian90%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education70%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education82%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students95%
Female94%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education83%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female98%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education100%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female95%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education67%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students97%
Female95%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 29%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Black 4% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3650 Overhill Drive
Frisco, TX 75034
Website: Click here
Phone: (469) 633-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT