Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5|Private
40 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

St. Philip's Academy was founded in the 2011-2012 academic year as a private elementary school on the campus of St. Philip's Episcopal Church. The school began with a kindergarten class and a plan to grow a grade each year to become a K-5 program. The Academy shared space with St. Philip's Preschool until May of 2014 when St. Philip's Hall was completed. The admissions process for students has been designed to ensure a good fit between the school program, the students and their families in order to maximize each child's opportunity for success. Classes are small so that teachers can provide individual attention to develop both character and academics.
May 21, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Philips Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 08, 2015
- a community member
In our experience the teachers are mostly effective. It would be nice if they offered more challenges to their students or tried to go the extra mile to do more than they have to. Sent several emails asking for explanation of methods and for more challenging work but was mostly ignored by the teacher. Administration did far more than the teacher to help.

St. Philips Academy 5

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
We are new this year and we love SPA. All of us. Lots of parents involved and we are always welcome. In only a couple of months I see a big difference in my child's ability to write and be interested in reading. Patient teachers. Great chapel. Really good programs. Looking forward to new playground and seeing this school grow.


St. Philips Academy 1

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
SPA is not what it is cracked up to be. Many of the departments are lacking. I feel that the principal could do a lot more to make the school succeed, but is too concerned with not having the 'perfect' students that might ruin her 'perfect' atmosphere. Many students have been singled out and made to feel dumb, different or shamed. It's a nosy environment as well so keep your private information to yourself if your don't want the world to know. There were some things that our family felt were good, (like Chapel and music) yet still, the things and people that stick out to us were really hurtful. Do not recommend this school.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
St. Philip's Academy was founded in the 2011-2012 academic year as a private elementary school on the campus of St. Philip's Episcopal Church. The school began with a kindergarten class and a plan to grow a grade each year to become a K-5 program. The Academy shared space with St. Philip's Preschool until May of 2014 when St. Philip's Hall was completed. The admissions process for students has been designed to ensure a good fit between the school program, the students and their families in order to maximize each child's opportunity for success. Classes are small so that teachers can provide individual attention to develop both character and academics.
Posted May 21, 2014

St. Philips Academy 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Small classes with individual attention in a Biblically based atmosphere of respect and love for students. New building and classrooms Fall 2014! Daily chapel. Both of my children are in the school, and the oldest has been a student there since it opened Fall 2011.


St. Philips Academy 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
The small class size coupled with exceptions academics is why we attend St. Philips. The educators are able to cover more in-depth in topics and move as the entire class masters skills. Children are challenged on a daily basis to grasp concepts and put them into use. There is a focus on the "whole student" as well which is important for the next generation of leaders to change the world.

St. Philips Academy 5

Posted November 13, 2012
- a parent
The educators for this academy are top notch. There is a lot of individualized attention to encourage the children to excel. We have seen our child truly flourish. The lesson plans and academic educaiton seem to be continually challenging in important academic areas such as reading, science and math. We feel very blessed to be part of this amazing school.

St. Philips Academy 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
This is an amazing school! We started mid year after trying the local public school. I have to say now that I am so happy the local school was not a fit for us. St. Philip's Academy exceeded our expectations in every way possible. My son learned so much there. They do not have to follow a state curriculum so they do advanced work in reading, writing, math, science, technology, art etc. They use iPads in class, and also have a chance to skype with children in Belize at a school as part of a mission program. They go to chapel daily and get to sing and praise the Lord and have bible lessons each day. This gem of a school makes sure to teach the whole person in wisdom, faith, and love. You will not be disappointed!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Philips Academy
6400 Stonebrook Pkwy, Frisco, TX  75034
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (972) 335-8171
Last modified St. Philips Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Top