Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Smith Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
My son just finished his first year at Smith as a Kinder. We have had a great experience, his teacher was well qualified (Masters with 10 yrs experience) and she was so awesome with my very shy child. All of the teachers were very caring and the new principal seemed very competent and approachable. Our son gained so much confidence and really liked this neighborhood school. I definitely would recommend Smith to others.

Smith Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
Both my kids have attended Smith Elementary, and my younger one still does. I just got back from attending one of their Celebrate Smith assemblies - a weekly celebration that happens every Friday. The infectious enthusiasm, the spirit that the the principal and the teachers infuse in the kids has to be seen to be believed. The principle is a visionary, he wants to make a difference. He gives teachers and parents the latitude to introduce new and wonderful programs. 8 years ago I went to him with a request to introduce Destination Imagination ath the school, he supported me and today the school has won Global 1st place for about 4 years in a row. And this is just one example. He has introduced a program called SMITH talks, modeled after TED Talks. The school hosts science fairs, spelling bees, Kindness challenges, in additon to the academic excellence that the staff fosters. We are truly fortunate to get to go to Smith Elementary.


Smith Elementary School 1

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
This school is the testing ground for new FISD programs and new tests. So the children's time here is wasted with overtesting rather than teaching.

Smith Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2011
- a parent
This is my second school year as a parent at this school. It is a wonderful, tight-knit, neighborhood school. The principal is fantastic, and I hope he continues to lead this school the entire time my children attend. The teachers are so wonderful, and truly have their hearts in their positions.

Smith Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2010
- a community member
Smith is a fantastic elementary school. It was named a national Blue Ribbon school a couple of years ago. The teachers are wonderful, the principal is connected to the kids and participates in their activities with them. Our son, who is a junior in high school, went there from 1st through 5th grade, and our daughter is just finishing 5th grade there this week. We have considered moving to a different neighborhood a few times over the past 10 years, but always decided to stay because we didn't want our kids to move out of Smith. It really is an incredible school.


Smith Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
We moved from Carrollton to Frisco and started this school in January. 5th grade teachers are outstanding. This rigor and excitement is over the top. Project based experiential work for the kiddos and a principal who truly has school spirit. Only recommendation I would add is for the school to consider 'buddy' programs for new students AND to have the homeroom teacher meet week 1 or 2 with the new student and parents. We had to 'figure' a lot out on our own initially without an 'orientation' to the new school or classroom. Overall highly recommend this school

Smith Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
This school is great as far as the energetic spirit and the Principle is the best. The kids are a different story. There are more bullies in this school and the teachers don't seem to do anything about it. The parents of these bullies should be ashamed of themselves not teaching their children morals and values!!

Smith Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
My kid's in 1st grade now and our experience with this school is excellent :) Love the school, teachers and the energetic spirit of the principle.


Smith Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
Keeping our two daughters (1st and 2nd graders) at Smith is keeping us from moving into a much needed larger home. Smith is a wonderful school with amazing teachers and staff!

Smith Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has attended Smith for the last 5 years and overall it's a wonderful school. The teachers are great and attentive to every child's needs. The academics is top notch and the children are highly challenged in all subjects. The principal is the best - hands down!

Nearby schools

Smith Elementary School
9800 Sean Drive, Frisco, TX  75035
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (469) 633-2200
Last modified Smith Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top