Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Smith Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
Both my kids have attended Smith Elementary, and my younger one still does. I just got back from attending one of their Celebrate Smith assemblies - a weekly celebration that happens every Friday. The infectious enthusiasm, the spirit that the the principal and the teachers infuse in the kids has to be seen to be believed. The principle is a visionary, he wants to make a difference. He gives teachers and parents the latitude to introduce new and wonderful programs. 8 years ago I went to him with a request to introduce Destination Imagination ath the school, he supported me and today the school has won Global 1st place for about 4 years in a row. And this is just one example. He has introduced a program called SMITH talks, modeled after TED Talks. The school hosts science fairs, spelling bees, Kindness challenges, in additon to the academic excellence that the staff fosters. We are truly fortunate to get to go to Smith Elementary.

Smith Elementary School 1

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
This school is the testing ground for new FISD programs and new tests. So the children's time here is wasted with overtesting rather than teaching.


Smith Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2011
- a parent
This is my second school year as a parent at this school. It is a wonderful, tight-knit, neighborhood school. The principal is fantastic, and I hope he continues to lead this school the entire time my children attend. The teachers are so wonderful, and truly have their hearts in their positions.

Smith Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
We moved from Carrollton to Frisco and started this school in January. 5th grade teachers are outstanding. This rigor and excitement is over the top. Project based experiential work for the kiddos and a principal who truly has school spirit. Only recommendation I would add is for the school to consider 'buddy' programs for new students AND to have the homeroom teacher meet week 1 or 2 with the new student and parents. We had to 'figure' a lot out on our own initially without an 'orientation' to the new school or classroom. Overall highly recommend this school

Smith Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Smith Elementary School 1

Posted February 12, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Smith Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Smith Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
This school is great as far as the energetic spirit and the Principle is the best. The kids are a different story. There are more bullies in this school and the teachers don't seem to do anything about it. The parents of these bullies should be ashamed of themselves not teaching their children morals and values!!


Smith Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Smith Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Smith Elementary School
9800 Sean Drive, Frisco, TX  75035
(469) 633-2200
Last modified Smith Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Smith Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top