Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Frisco, TX
Students enrolled: 646
 

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

19 reviews of this school


Smith Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
Both my kids have attended Smith Elementary, and my younger one still does. I just got back from attending one of their Celebrate Smith assemblies - a weekly celebration that happens every Friday. The infectious enthusiasm, the spirit that the the principal and the teachers infuse in the kids has to be seen to be believed. The principle is a visionary, he wants to make a difference. He gives teachers and parents the latitude to introduce new and wonderful programs. 8 years ago I went to him with a request to introduce Destination Imagination ath the school, he supported me and today the school has won Global 1st place for about 4 years in a row. And this is just one example. He has introduced a program called SMITH talks, modeled after TED Talks. The school hosts science fairs, spelling bees, Kindness challenges, in additon to the academic excellence that the staff fosters. We are truly fortunate to get to go to Smith Elementary.

Smith Elementary School 1

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
This school is the testing ground for new FISD programs and new tests. So the children's time here is wasted with overtesting rather than teaching.


Smith Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2011
- a parent
This is my second school year as a parent at this school. It is a wonderful, tight-knit, neighborhood school. The principal is fantastic, and I hope he continues to lead this school the entire time my children attend. The teachers are so wonderful, and truly have their hearts in their positions.

Smith Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2010
- a community member
Smith is a fantastic elementary school. It was named a national Blue Ribbon school a couple of years ago. The teachers are wonderful, the principal is connected to the kids and participates in their activities with them. Our son, who is a junior in high school, went there from 1st through 5th grade, and our daughter is just finishing 5th grade there this week. We have considered moving to a different neighborhood a few times over the past 10 years, but always decided to stay because we didn't want our kids to move out of Smith. It really is an incredible school.

Smith Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
We moved from Carrollton to Frisco and started this school in January. 5th grade teachers are outstanding. This rigor and excitement is over the top. Project based experiential work for the kiddos and a principal who truly has school spirit. Only recommendation I would add is for the school to consider 'buddy' programs for new students AND to have the homeroom teacher meet week 1 or 2 with the new student and parents. We had to 'figure' a lot out on our own initially without an 'orientation' to the new school or classroom. Overall highly recommend this school


Smith Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
This school is great as far as the energetic spirit and the Principle is the best. The kids are a different story. There are more bullies in this school and the teachers don't seem to do anything about it. The parents of these bullies should be ashamed of themselves not teaching their children morals and values!!

Smith Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
My kid's in 1st grade now and our experience with this school is excellent :) Love the school, teachers and the energetic spirit of the principle.

Smith Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
Keeping our two daughters (1st and 2nd graders) at Smith is keeping us from moving into a much needed larger home. Smith is a wonderful school with amazing teachers and staff!


Smith Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has attended Smith for the last 5 years and overall it's a wonderful school. The teachers are great and attentive to every child's needs. The academics is top notch and the children are highly challenged in all subjects. The principal is the best - hands down!

Smith Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2007
- a parent
Smith is absolutely top notch! All 3 of my children attend Smith and I can tell you that it would be break my heart if any of my children would have to leave before they completed elementary there. My expectations for another school could never be met anywhere else. My kids have been educated, loved, and well taken care of! The looping program is great too- all 3 of my kids have gone through it and it has been awesome- a truly great program!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Smith Elementary School
9800 Sean Drive, Frisco, TX  75035
(469) 633-2200
Last modified Smith Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Smith Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top