Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tom Hicks Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 633 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2014

School is run by the PTA. If you volunteer in the PTA, your voice will be heard and your child will be popular. The school caters to these kids and parents. A kid of a PTA parent can bully mine, and everyone looks away. PTA moms are rude to the general public. My kids as well as myself, we are invisible at the school. You cannot look at a yearbook and see my kids. We are never in any clubs though we have tried and tried. The same kids are picked for everything. I guess I couldn't write a big enough check. It's a shame because there are some great teachers and the principal is great with the kids... Just be ready to volunteer if you want your kid to get ahead or be treated nicely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Tom Hicks Elementary: Our family LOVES this school. We have 4 children and have experienced 3 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, & 2 high schools and have found Hicks Elem to be among the BEST. Our teachers are so amazing, there is a lot of parent involvement, & our new principal, Mr. Martin is amazing. Not only am I a parent, but I also substitute within the district so I feel I have additional experience with the school life. Mr. Martin is top notch, knowing all of the children by name, doing special things for his staff, and having an open door policy to his parents who he truly listens to. We could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

When you are a Foster Parent, the first thing you do is take the child to school the next day. We've had 3 separate children enter the doors of Tom Hicks in the last 3 years. Each and every time, the dedicated staff has been amazing. Whether the child is brilliant or special needs, the entire organization is focused on the child achieving incredible goals. The process of quickly assessing and providing so much support from so many levels has been great. The school's leadership team has to be given much credit for creating and mentoring such a well performing team of professionals. It's a joy to walk in the front doors. Positive energy abounds from the first greeting. Your child will love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

This school is pretty awesome. I went here as a student years ago and it was fun but also educational. Teachers pushed me to work harder and helped me overall.


Posted June 4, 2013

I totally agree with the reviewers below. Hicks is not academically focused. If your kid is studious, gifted, high achiever... This isn't the right place for him. Teachers only care about the PTA kids and gifts. Staff in general is OK. Hicks is all about favorites and fundraising, " Fanatical PTA " to re-use one of the reviewers word. Principal seems to only care about the PTA and their kids and fundraising of course! And as a reviewer said he doesn't know the kids or interact with them unless they are the PTA's kids. In the year book, you will only see the kids of the PTA, same thing for the website. Very unfair atmosphere! I think that there is too much disruption at school. It is nice to have lunch with your kid but it should be limited to a certain number of days. The principal needs to be more present and set boundaries for the PTA. At first, I thought that I was maybe seeing too much into it but by reading the reviews below, It just confirms that I am not the only one who thinks the same. Our kid is obviously leaving this school... And yes! Parents park illegally, drive too fast and sometimes don"t even bother Stopping at a Stop sign.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

Cannot speak to the school performance as far as teaching goes. However, the school is a very bad neighbor! The grounds are poorly maintained, not up to the neighborhood standards. On special functions, parents park illegally all the way up to the stop signs and alley ways. This creates a dangerous situation for kids and neighbors alike. And parties - while they are ok, it is not very considerate to have continuous booming noise for days on end that residents are forced to listen to. Hicks kids party, while we as homeschoolers are forced to take days off due to excessive noise from the school. Ridiculous!!! From my point of view, the school is unable to maintain a courteous and safe environment for everyone.


Posted May 26, 2013

Hicks is a fabulous school with outstanding leadership and caring teachers. The principal encourages progressive staff development and challenges his staff to strive for excellence in themselves and in the students. You will see students engaged in problem based learning where they are researching and producing quality real world products based on their grade level content. All of my children have all been challenged and encouraged to reach their full potential. The resources available for children with special needs, learning disorders or exceptional talent are top notch. The school is very safe and no one is allowed in the building without being screened through a drivers license check (even regular parent volunteers are checked daily). There is great parent support & an active PTA that helps supplement enrichment opportunities to make up for where Texas cut our public schools in the past two legislative sessions. Being a former teacher, I have high standards for what I expect in the education of my children and all children in Texas....Hicks Elementary goes above and beyond my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

I have two kids at this school - we are new this year. Our teachers are a mixed bag - one is really fantastic, and one has no business teaching at all. The spelling and math systems they use are "progressive" which means confusing and pointless - my kids are not learning, they're just preparing for tests. The front office staff is very nice but kind of incompetent; they can barely operate the computers and phone systems and they never check my ID when I pick up my kids, which is very scary. The school is totally focused on fundraising - we get constant requests for donations. The PTA is very active but snooty and cliquey and unwelcoming to new people. The principal seems rather absent - I never see him interacting with kids and my children don't know his name or what he looks like. This school is good but it's not great, and it cries out for competent, committed leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

This school is a joke..teachers cannot teach and high performing students are left behind as they focus on kids that are struggling, they will not give extra challednging work to students that are high-performing- they put too much emphasism on fund-raising than anything else, this school is definately not academic focused- we left after being there for 3 years my daughter now goes to a private school- we are much happier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

We had a bad experience at the school overall. The teachers did not help at all with my sons needs. My son's are both gifted students and they were not learning to a standard that I found satisfactory. My older son asked if his teacher would give him some more challenging worksheets to do. In response, she gave him a book and didn't say a word. Overall, why some people may have had a good experience, we did not. However, I must compliment the art and music teachers who are both very lovable and energetic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

Snooty fanatical fundraising PTAs, teachers who teaches to TAKS... Are your thing, then by all means but If you expect higher standards this isn't the school for you... It is all about money and favorites here... High performing kids usually left this school from my experience there...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

Tom Hicks was already a terrific school. With the addition of several new teachers this year, it's even better! It's so comforting to know that my children are receiving the very best education at Hicks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

It's a very safe school. Staff and faculty demonstrate that they take security and safety seriously. When I drop off lunch or something to my kids, it's obvious that it's as secure a school as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

The faculty is caring, and experienced. The structure is clearly established and the environment is results driven. The facilities are pristine and the PTA is involved and determined to provide an excellent learning environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

The parental involvement and teacher care and knowledge of each child is unmatched. We have a private school atmosphere with higher expectations and performance! This all was fostered by a great administration with careful attention to every detail. This is an excellent place to teach and also a great place to send my own child for her final three years of elementary school. Go Timberwolves!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 11, 2008

My son started school at Tom Hick this year. The staff is amazing and the actual school is the best I've ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

My Daughter has been at this school since the doors opened. We are very happy with EVERY aspect of this school. Our son will be in Kindergarden next year and we cannot wait to have him enrolled at Tom Hicks, they are THE BEST! Teachers are very responsive to parents, take special care of the students. After school programs are great as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

We are just about amonth into our first year at Hicks and it has been a wonderful experience. The kindergarten teachers are exceptional and they are wonderful about letting parents be involoved, which helps so much with the transistion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2006

Great academic programs, extracurrucular activities, teachers, principle and involved parents make this a wonderful school to send your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2005

So far this school has been absolutely wonerful in eery way. The number of school sponsored after school activities is tremendous. The quality of students and teachers makes this a highly deisrable school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

115 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

110 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

111 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

113 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education86%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education83%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students96%
Female100%
Male92%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students95%
Female100%
Male89%
Black or African American100%
Asian92%
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education60%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students96%
Female94%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian91%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female95%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education82%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students85%
Female82%
Male89%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education90%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female84%
Male82%
Black or African American80%
Asian87%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education63%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students69%
Female66%
Male71%
Black or African American100%
Asian80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education40%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education86%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Black or African American100%
Asian87%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education67%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students87%
Female89%
Male85%
Black or African American70%
Asian93%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education71%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female84%
Male83%
Black or African American80%
Asian80%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education57%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 13% 4%
Hispanic 10% 52%
Black 6% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 5%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 16%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3651 Compass Drive
Frisco, TX 75034
Phone: (469) 713-5981

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT