Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Frisco, TX
Students enrolled: 2,190

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Centennial High School 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a community member
I'm a student at centennial and I love the school. I've been to many others and it is by far one of the best in the area. The staff and teachers really try to support everyone but it always depends on the needs of the student. Although the school has it's faults. I don't think you can find a school any better then this. With all the other things FISD has to offer. This school has everything I want to learn at even a college level. The classes are difficult but when I leave that day I feel like I've really learned something and that's all that really matters about school.
1 person found this helpful

Centennial High School 3

Posted July 11, 2014
- a parent
Overall Centennial HS school and its administration offers opportunities in education that surpass many others outside the FISD and we have been a part of the community prior to the build of this and the other 6 HS in the area. As far as the athletics programs, I would have to say the Women's basketball program leadership is a JOKE! Being a parent of a talented student athlete who is athletically, along with educationally and artistically inclined, the Athletics leadership does not recognize these efforts and selfishly suggest to students to focus only on their sport and not be a multi-sport or elective student or else... What is the "or else" Coach? Coach rides the talents of student athletes, pics his favorites and does nothing to motivate / cultivate the others for long-term regional performance. His motto seems to be either they have it or they don't and has stated he's not there to teach them.
1 person found this helpful


Centennial High School 2

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
Frisco ISD as a whole is overrated. The primar, and sometimes it seems sole, concern is the district's exemplary rating. High-achieving, AP taking students are revered while regular and typical students are not really valued. The motto this year is "Every Name, Every Need" which is a complete joke. Centennial does not work with parents and considers us a bother. Falling behind policies is the name of the game rather than considering extenuating circumstances. Look elsewhere for a school that shows empathy and nurtures young people. School Board is basically unresponsive. Some of my sons' teachers were wonderful while many others couldn't teach their way out of a box. Athletic teams are generally very good but some of the coaches are complete knuckleheads. In some ways, Centennial prepares them for college. In other ways, it just makes high school a horrible experience. I would suggest a smaller district even further out where they may show concern and compassion.

Centennial High School 4

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
Great football program. Great Nurses. Great Computer Program. Terrible web organization/presence. Too much turnover in Band program.

Centennial High School 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
I have been very impressed with this schools Freshman orientation and the amazing level of resources offered to students. Teachers avail themselves and the CTE Center and counselors make good efforts to connect.


Centennial High School 4

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
Centennial has it's ups and downs but never is uncaring or not concerned for the students. The principal is very friendly and keeps the kids in order. The atmosphere is friendly and I have never had a problem with students being out of hand. Most of the kids are very in to going to school and doing what they have to do. Great school for anyone moving into the area. Although, most Frisco schools are the best in the country.

Centennial High School 5

Posted June 05, 2012
- a parent
This school is exceptionally well managed. You don't see the level of disruptive issues at CHS that you find at other high schools in the area. My kids complain that its too strict, but I believe when the time comes to send their own children to high school, they will appreciate the education they were given here. I do agree with the students earlier review: A generally higher income area has its own set of challenges.

Centennial High School 5

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
Centennial is an excellent high school that provides students with a superb education and college preparation. My son just graduated from Centennial and I have been extremely impressed by the rigorous curriculum and college-preparatory programs. Even the brightest and high-achieving students will be challenged.


Centennial High School 4

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
A safe suburban school in a republican town. Student expression not exactly suppressed but not really encourage. AP math instruction adequate, but nothing here for the truly gifted student. No coaching for the AMS competitive exam. AP Physics excellent. AP Chemistry good. AP Comp Sci poor; no coacihing for UIL CS competition. AP English spotty; Mr. Payne is outstanding; the rest are poor to fair. AP French prep not quite up to it. School resource officer freely handing out misdemeanor citations for minor infractions of deportment. Food service is poor.

Centennial High School 4

Posted January 08, 2011
- a student
You may see these posts about how the school is great, which is true in the sense of education, but as for the students they seem to like to spend there weekends at parties while some rich kids parents are out of town. To me this is school is filled with higher class kids which means more money for harder drugs. I've attended this school for three whole years and am working on my fourth and final. As for the allegations of an underfunded theater program, that is true BUT its also true for mechanics and art from what i know. The only budget that doesn't seem to have a cap on it are the computer programs. I know the broadcasting and photo journalism classes have mac computers along with all the best software. I would recommend this school to everyone who wants there children to go to college and as a student and a parent i would want my son to go here as well, although i would watch out, this school isn't perfect.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centennial High School
6901 Coit Road, Frisco, TX  75035
(469) 633-5600
Last modified Centennial High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Centennial High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top