Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Frisco, TX
Students enrolled: 900
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wester Middle School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
Overall, it's been a fantastic experience for my daughter. She entered the 8th grade this year, and she can't wait to get to school every morning! The teachers are extremely attentive, and everyone is taught the value of hard work and teamwork, and I'm continuously surprised by how much she has grown as a student and a person. There is no doubt in my mind that she is equipped to tackle any challenges as she graduates next year and moves on to high school and beyond.

Wester Middle School 1

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
I am extremely disappointed at how this year has gone for my student. The worst my student has ever done in school. The school is full of cliques that are nasty and mean, girls and boys, and racism is rampant. Even many of the teachers seem to cater to many of these kids who are in these cliques. Academically it is hit or miss. The girls sports program is excellent, the boys is beyond bad. I should have known it was going to be a bad experience when my student went to orientation a the beginning of the year and the parents were not welcome. Really? We have decided to move so that our student can go back to their old school. (Also a FISD school) This was such a bad experience for us, we can't leave fast enough.


Wester Middle School 5

Posted January 09, 2014
- a community member
I am currently a 7th grade student at Wester and I have to say it is a pretty good school. Nobody really bullies, maybe some people do but it gets taken care of. There are a lot of "dirty" students in the 7th grade, if you know what I mean. All the teachers are nice, except one kind of just slacks off and just tells us to do stuff. My favorite subject is science because of my teacher, Ms. Delozier! She is the nicest teacher and is super nice, and a great teacher! I have a 98 in her class! Also, being a band student, Wester has the best band directors. I play flute and I absolutely love band! The students are kind of stuck-up and they all wear like Uggs, Vans, Pink, and stuff like that so it kind of pressures the people that don't have that expensive stuff that "Oh your not cool unless you have this brand". Overall, I love Wester, and I feel at home here. I would recommend this school to anybody.

Wester Middle School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
It is a nice experience at this school where my son has gained confidence and has made friends from day one. The teachers are great

Wester Middle School 2

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
This was not a great experience. The kids are not friendly at all. The band teacher was terrible and ruined my sons confidence. Add to this getting in and out of there is a nightmare.


Wester Middle School 4

Posted September 29, 2012
- a parent
Good school my kids love going here. The kids are nice and respectful towards each other.

Wester Middle School 4

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
I am very pleased with the teachers and staff at Wester Middle. My kids did very well, and with the help of many caring teachers they succeeded nicely. They are now at Centennial High and can't be any happier. Great School.

Wester Middle School 5

Posted February 26, 2012
- a community member
Can somebody tell me if I should go to Wester or Clark? I know them two schools are practically rivals, but after school I could walk over to my mom's school (Centennial High School) and stay with her after school and plus I could have a "reunion" with one of my old friends I have known since pre-k. But at Clark, none of that would happen. I would just stay with the jerk "friends" that I know now.


Wester Middle School 5

Posted January 21, 2011
- a community member
Before i came here I felt like just another kid lost in the crowd. Cliche, but i felt like i had no important talents. Most of my other schools the teacher didn't pay and special attention to certain students who needed help (like me, I have ADHD) and let our talents be ignored. At Wester, they help focus on our best qualities and certain problems. They help remind us to turn in HW, they keep the agenda and online homework printouts updates (mostly), and find ways to make people who work differently work with the same subject and project. It probably saved me from giving up on my talents. A short example is that I'm good at History, Science, and English, and so a teacher recommended me for the Academic Pentathlon, and I can be a strong link there and feel important.

Wester Middle School 5

Posted January 21, 2011
- a teacher
Wester used to be awful because Frisco didn't expand fast enough when they had a quick population increase. However, his year alone 5 more schools were added. So yes, they used to be over-crowded, the teachers didn't have enough eyes to watch all of the students, and there was definitely a problem with how they treated each other, but mostly that problem has been fixed, at least as well as it can at a middle school. We resolved the violence problem when new schools opened, there are some students who don't even try to succeed, and some teachers are unorganized, but compare it to other schools and it's a great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wester Middle School
12293 Shepherds Hill Lane, Frisco, TX  75035
(469) 633-4800
Last modified Wester Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wester Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top