Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
193 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Firewheel Christian Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Vess engages her students deeply. They use discussion, conversation and other tools to help the students really learn. Her patience and extra effort have made a world of difference.

Firewheel Christian Academy 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
This school has changed my son's life. We transferred from a small public system mid year because he was having trouble academically and personally. The school was not equipped to provide attention to individual learners. Because of the attentive, creative and dedicated teachers and administration, he has started to love school again. He has been shown love, patience and is learning faster and more completely than I can believe. The Christian foundation upon which everything is centered brings him a sense of peace that was missing before. We love FCA!


Firewheel Christian Academy 5

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
My child has attended Firewheel since K4, and it has been absolutely worth it. His reading and math skills are above that of his public school peers. The teachers and administrators do an amazing job. Their vision of the future of the school is exciting. I think we'd be hard pressed to find a better school for our money.

Firewheel Christian Academy 5

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
My child was in K-5... I have to say it has been a blessing. From the teachers to the admin, it is ran with excellence. The academics are awesome. Challenging but achievable. The teachers go the extra mile for these kids!!!

Firewheel Christian Academy 1

Posted April 10, 2015
- a parent
This school is the worst christian school i have ever encountered. DONOT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE. YOU ARE BETTER OFF LEAVING THEM HOME ALONE. My child came into the school late. Before entering the principal said that they provide free tutoring for children struggling. Well the school he was in before didnot think he was struggling but this school thought he was. I asked about the tutoring 3 times and was told it was not available for him. My child was bullied but other children. This is in kindergarten so much that he didnot want to go to school and begged me to take hin to another school. The teacher showed favouritism towards another child over mine because the child's mother was also a teacher there. They didnot even try to teach my child. The teacher was rude and you can tell there was no love there. They donot watch the children. My child came home with bruises. I went several times to have lunch there and the things i saw i cannot even post here Parents who cannot be around have no idea whats going on FCA. This place needs to be shut down seriously Thank God for GCA who showed more care and concern for our family


Firewheel Christian Academy 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing!!! The staff is always welcoming and they love children. Can't say enough good things. The vision and the future of FCA is exciting. Glad to be a part!!!

Firewheel Christian Academy 5

Posted April 06, 2012
- a parent
We did a lot of research to find a school for our son. We had tours of larger schools but coming from a small environment directly into the 5th grade we were hesitant to place him in a class of 30 children when he was used to a class of 10. We LOVE his teacher Mr. Broadwell, who also coaches several different sports (and has the patience of a saint). :-) I knew we found the right place when I dropped my son off the very first day and Ms. Chapman (the principal) was standing there holding the door open for the children and she gave him a big hug. He was at ease and the rest is history. The teachers at this school believe in loving discipline and have high standards for academics. I'm involved in the Parent Teacher Fellowship and I enjoy every meeting. The parents are caring and the students are respectful. I am so excited to see how wonderful 6th grade will be next year! I am so thankful for this school....a place where my son learns about God and while he's learning feels God's love from attentive adults.

Firewheel Christian Academy 5

Posted March 04, 2012
- a parent
I love his school! I was scared of what I would "find" after reading one review. I know sometimes school staff puts on a good show for the parents and then you end up finding out it was just that, a show! :( I feel beyond blessed to have found such a great school! Academically it is great. My son is thriving. His teacher is amazing. Every kid is different and she helps each one thrive in their own way which I appreciate so much! The principal, Ms.Chapman is always so sweet and involved. Discipline is the way it should be. All children NEED discipline, but it is done with love. It has helped my son transition from being a home school kid to loving school! He is confident because he is respected as a child, but given direction at the same time. The tuition is reasonable and the grounds are way better than many others I visited. Blessing to our family! I have no idea what the other review is about?! I am a very involved parent, and i have never seen anything inappropriate. And trust me, I'm always asking and looking. My son is my angel and it is my duty to protect him. I plan to enroll my other two babies when the time comes. Definitely recommend!


Firewheel Christian Academy 5

Posted November 30, 2011
- a parent
I can't say enough wonderfu things about FCA! The staff truly cares about your student, and they show it each and every day. Your child is in a safe and loving environment. Academically speaking, they are top notch! The classes are small and taught by excellent teachers. The seasonal programs are AWESOME and will build amazing memories for your child. Best of all, the families that attend FCA are the BEST. Your child is sure to make life-long friends! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND FCA (as does my student!)!

Firewheel Christian Academy 5

Posted November 09, 2011
- a parent
This school is AMAZING!! Our oldest attended FCA for kinder for the 2010-2011 schoo year! She did amazing and when testing into a public school was at the end of first grade level in math!! Unfortunatley do to finanacial reasons we had to let our daughter attend public school for the 2011-2012 school year and FCA was not an option according to our pocket book. It was the worst 12 weeks of our lives! She was bulled, her academics decreased, she did not want to wake up and go to school. Essentially her smile was gone. I knew the day she came to me and said she missed not singing her hymns that it was time to regroup. We prayed and prayed. And God delivered in a big way. She is now thriving in her enviroment adn reading like she never lost interest. Drop off is my favorite time! She is greeted by either Mrs, Barnes or Mrs Spiask and that makes me feel wonderful knowing that she is leaving my protection and entering Gods. They all truly llove their job and the children.

Nearby schools

Firewheel Christian Academy
5500 Lavon Dr, Garland, TX  75040
(972) 495-0851
Last modified Firewheel Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top