Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beaver Technology Center

Public | PK-5 | 582 students

We are best known for gifted and talented program.

 
 

Living in Garland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $86,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2012

This school by far, is the best school in Texas! I am a student, and the teachers here are amazing! I have had only 1 "not so good teacher". But the rest I miss dearly, because I will be going into middle school. I have gotten straight A's ever since I came here, which was in the 2nd grade. I promise you, I am not lying. They have many school contest including, March of Dimes. Which I won! We have lots of school clubs including LEGO Robotics History Club, Computer Club, Spanish Club, iBand and lots more! Our school has lots of technology including, iPods, iPads, Mac Books, and Microsoft PC's. I have had fun using many of those. What's also cool about Beaver is that we have class pets. WE can take care of them, too! I strongly disagree with the school dismissal process. We get out of the cafeteria pretty fast and they don't call our names one at a time. I also disagree with No Parent involvement. All of Beaver is about Parent Involvement! Anyway, I have loved Beaver so much and I cried on the last day of school, I was so sad to be leaving. I hope you send your child to Beaver because it will be one of the best choice's you ever make.


Posted January 23, 2011

My son was invited to Beaver in the second grade and is now in fifth grade. We were very hesitant to switch schools because he loved the school he was at. It was the best desicion we couldve made. He thrived even more so at Beaver. The teachers and the way the school is run is great. the school he came from before had one teacher in a classroom and they always seemed stressed out. It seemed like they were always trying to rush the students. This school has it split to where they have 2 teachers, i think it helps the students to have it this way. My son will be going to middle school next year and we will miss Beaver! They have a great staff and great program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

We have been there for 2 years now and I am very glad he got in. The teachers and curriculum are above and beyond. They use new and different methods and utilize current technology to motivate the kids. PTA seems good but I do not have a lot of experience with them. I love the principal and the asst principal. They are there for everything and you can tell they love not only their job, but the kids too. I will miss this school very much when we move on to middle school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

I have two kids that go to Beaver. I love the school and the teachers. One thing that I liked is that the school offered Saturday shcool (free of charge) to help the kids pass the TAKS Test. Most elem. schools do not offer that. I also like the diversity in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

Still love Beaver! I have never had a problem getting through the car pool line in an efficient manner. However, the bus situation is so well handled that my children often ride the bus. Their driver is great and the other kids either attend Beaver or Walnut Glen and are nice kids. I want to mention a couple of things... Beaver Technology Center was honored in San Antonio on February 19th, along with other schools from across the country, for being a National Title I Distinguished School, which was awarded to only 57 school in the nation and only 2 in Texas. Also, Beaver, has been named to the Texas Education and Business Coalition list of honor roll schools. Beaver has great teachers, involved parents and motivated students. The PTA is a team effort and both teachers and parents are enthusiastic in their participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

I disagree with the comment about dismissal. We dismiss at 3:10, and by 3:30 the front pick-up area is empty. We move approximately 250 cars through in 20 minutes. It does not take 30-40 minutes for student pickup. Six cars are loaded simultaneously, and the line moves quickly. Visitors to the building often comment on the efficiency of our dismissal procedures. We do not use the passing lane because of the obvious danger to children walking between cars.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 10, 2009

I'm a single parent and did not have a idea were to start looking for my son far as a elementary school because this was all new to me. But with help of friends and the web I was able to find Beaver and what a wonderful choice my son has been attending Beaver for two years now his progress of learning is excellent so far. Wonderful teachers, excellent attitudes and very caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

This is a great school as far as teacher and learning which is what we should care about most. However, some other areas aren't so great. The school is small and crowded. There is basically no parking for school events so you get ready for a walk from down the street. The absolute worst thing about the school is the length of time it takes to get your child after school. They have two lines they could use but they use one only and call each child one at a time. It can literally take 30 to 40 minutes of waiting to get your child even if you are 15 minutes early. I have been to many schools and Beaver is the worst by far when it comes to this issue. If you have 2 children in different schools then you have no choice but to pick the child up at Beaver last or you will be way late for the other child. Again, they have 2 lanes (after the bus leaves) and they don t take advantage of the 2nd lane. Considering the long line I would think that they would address this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

I have to disagree with the negative comment on parent involvement at Beaver Technology Center. Every parent is welcomed and enouraged to participate and be involved in their student's progress and each activity. There is not a school in Garland ISD with such a welcoming spirit as soon as walk into the doors. It is like having an extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

Although I do beleive is a good school. It is not GREAT...There are so many things that Beaver does not do for parents that other schools do. Parent involvement is there at a 50 percent. Not all parents are treated equally, PTA involved parents have a priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

My daughter has attended Beaver Technology Center for 3 years now. The school staff and administration is outstanding. We had a great loss of my husband in Sept 07. The school staff has been a great sorce of support and has helped us through this very hard time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

Beaver is the best elementary school in Garland! The teaching staff is outstanding! Beaver has mastered the art of making learning fun and school a GREAT place to be! The PTA is very active and really helps set the tone for an enclusive, can-do-by-working-together attitude that flows down to the kids. Beaver is in a league of it's own!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

This is a great school. The teachers are very good. They are very callenging, without being mean. The administration at the school is incredible. My kids have been there 2 years and rae doing just great. They love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

The school is awsome,my daughter was going to Vial the academic were far behind Beaver, the 2nd grades in Beaver were doing the same work as she was in 3rd. She is know attending beaver. The teacher are really involed with the children and the parents voice is rally heard, the PTA actually acomplishes what they setout to do with out putting pressure on the parents wallets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2006

The parents are really involved. The teachers are helpful in every situation. They listen to both the children and the parents' needs. It is an excellent school. The children are treated well and they are educated. The whole school has a family atmosphere. The principal is very down-to-earth. Mr. Price is an amazing person and administrator. The music teacher focuses on each individual student and helps them with their individual needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2005

Principal and teacher leadership as well as involvement is of the highest quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2004

This is my childs 2nd year at beaver and we love it! he is being challenged...The teachers are wonderful...The prinicipal is involved and caring...And the counselors are available and helpful. We love beaver technology center and i am eternally grateful that my son is part of the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

My children have attended Beaver for 5 years now. This school continually provides high quality instruction and high caliber teachers. I am extremely pleased that my children have had the opportunity to be educated at Beaver.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

91 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

91 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

93 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

93 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

87 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

91 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

100 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

99 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female89%
Male96%
Black or African American81%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education100%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)95%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female94%
Male88%
Black or African American90%
Asian93%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)87%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students94%
Female92%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asian93%
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education80%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students97%
Female94%
Male100%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education80%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Black or African American81%
Asian95%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)95%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingual100%

Math

All Students86%
Female83%
Male88%
Black or African American75%
Asian95%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)81%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingual82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female76%
Male85%
Black or African American40%
Asian96%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education67%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingual86%

Math

All Students79%
Female79%
Male80%
Black or African American60%
Asian96%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education40%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingual93%

Writing

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
Black or African American73%
Asian91%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education67%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female91%
Male82%
Black or African American71%
Asian89%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education64%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingual72%

Math

All Students92%
Female96%
Male89%
Black or African American82%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education82%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingual94%

Science

All Students83%
Female81%
Male85%
Black or African American76%
Asian89%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education64%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingual78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 52%
White 21% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 17% 4%
Black 14% 13%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 33%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Just for the Kids Award (2011)
  • Texas Education Agency Exemplary School (2011)
  • Texas Monthly Best Public Schools in Texas (2011)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • JASON ADAMS
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (972) 494-8702

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
North Garland High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3232 March Lane
Garland, TX 75042
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 494-8301

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT