Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Classical Center At Brandenburg Mi

Public | 6-8 | 1154 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Garland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $104,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2012

My daughter is a bright and friendly student. She was excited to go to CCB, but the dress code was something she dreaded. I reassured her that it would be no big deal. The principal was very strict about the dress code and it seemed excessive. They even required dress code on after school dances. If you were "caught" without a belt, you would have to go to the office and write yourself up. At lunch, there are teachers who stand by the lunch lines and force students to sit next to whoever they were behind in line; and when my daughter tried to wait outside the cafeteria so that she could get in line with a friend, that was forbidden. My daughter has never been in trouble at school and her anxiety now about these pervasive and strict policies have her begging me to find another school. She is set to go a second year, as she does enjoy the piano, art, and gymnastic classes. And they have a new principal . But if she still hates it, we are withdrawing her after the first six weeks. BTW, she makes near perfect scores on those stupid standardized tests. That is what people believe makes a great school. To me, a school is wonderful if it makes my child love learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

This is our first year at Brandenburg. I'm not clear about the previous comments on our school. We applied and chose this school because of the fine arts electives, zero period options, strong leadership and communication, and supposed parent involvement. However, the long time band director was fired without parent notification, there are NO zero electives like piano or chess, we do not get Principal regular call-outs (as Sachse HS does) to notify us of important events (early release, programs, etc.), and the PTA does not notify parents of general meetings or board elections. It's very non-inclusive lacking communication. What should be the main source of info and communication should be the website, which is severely lacking. It does not have club meeting dates, audition info, etc. Lastly, a majority of the teachers that we've had seem bothered by questions being asked when inquiring about specific of the curriculum. It seems that they are almost offended, perhaps because of being used to a parent population who does not question authority. Nevertheless, we are disappointed at what could have possibly been a great school at one time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

This is my daughters second year at Bradenburg. The staff is very supportive and proactive with the cirriculum, social issues, and potential problems with students. I appreciated the voice messages from the school for community events involved with the school, pta, and other social events. The children seem to be disciplined and the office staff is not rude. My child was involved in a number of activities which allowed her to become well rounded. The zero credit classes are great and the staff enforces time management with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

I don't know where to begin!!! First of all, I am about to enter the 8th grade at Brandenburg, and I've had the time of my life there! The honors classes are challenging, but the teachers are always there to help. They always help us to achieve to the high standards of the school, and have teaching methods for all learners. They're awesome! The electives are phenominal too. There band has gone to Seattle and Austin, and is one of the best in the country, and their choir rocks! I'm i choir and last year we received straight 1's in U.I.L, 14 people make All-Region, and at the Hurricane Harbor competition we received all 1,s (again), Best in Class trophies, and 4 feet tall Grand Champion awards! They're also the only middle school with dance and gymnastics, and the only school in GISD with a Gymnastics facility! I LOVE IT!


Posted May 19, 2010

My daughter is in 6th grade at Brandenburg. She has loved the learning and social environment at the school. As a parent and a teacher in another district, I have been very impressed with the staff at the school. Mrs. King is an amazing leader and the staff is very involved with the students. The opportunities for extracurricular activities at Brandenburg are amazing. At this age children need a place to fit in and something to keep them occupied. Brandenburg has something for every type of student. Next year, my daughter will be taking Latin, which I think is amazing! She also goes early to school three days a week to take piano. Wonderful school to go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

My daughter is over half way through her 6th grade year at Brandenburg. And she is still very excited to be there. She loves all the opportunities she has been given (dance & gymnastics), and is looking forward to all the opportunities ahead (piano, Latin, and year long dance). She never questions her decision to attend CCBMS. The teachers and staff are very supportive and communicative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

My son did OK at Brandenburg but when my daughter was coming from Vial they misfiled her paperwork and bumped her. They had overbooked the school by 300 students! We were told too bad. I had to quit my job teaching in GISD and drive her to our neighborhood school. It ended up being a blessing. She is at Houston middle school and the teachers are so much better. Brandenburg tends to let good test takers like my son slide by which has hit him hard in high school. Also going into GHS al the Brandenbugers l had to go down to regulars because they were not prepared for the work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

This is my daughter's 7th grade year at Brandenburg and I'm very pleased. The teachers all seem to be on target, enthusiastic and they bring fresh ideas to their classrooms. My daughter feels good about going to school every morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

This is one of the bestest schools i have ever seen.My daughter is learning alot there and she loves it,keep up the good work staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

i used to go to that school last year, but now i go to a school in fort worth. i have to admit that it is a better school district. but the teachers arent that great there. i really miss the teachers here they actually care about the students. i just want to thank them for teaching me so much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2009

this school is a wonderful school but they always are full even if you but ur name on the waiting list
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2009

Wonderful School to send your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

Well i used to go to CCBMS last year and i have to admit it was very fun there(: I learned alot that prepared me for my first year of highschool this year(: Math is much easier thanks to Mr.Berkey. Although it isn't that much fun anymore , i understand alot because of him. Also Biology couldn't be easier thanks to Mrs.Duncan(: && i wanna let her know, i am definitely taking my courses in biology,Chemistry,physics very seriously. Hopefully by the time im in 12th grade im already in the planetarium class learning about astronomy& astrology. Well Mrs.Bottoms! i don't know if your still there or not, but i wanna let you know our journals we had to keep up with are very handy for 10th grade xD thanks! Well i heard about the blue ribbon award to CCBMS and i wanna congradulate everyone of yall love Milli
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2009

Brandenburg is a remarkable School! It has many Electives to choose from(Choir, Band, Piano, Dance, Gymnastics, etc) and it is one of the best schools in Garland hands down. I have been attending Brandenburg for three years now, and I can tell you that if you send your child here, you won't regret it. It has a Great Honors Program as well as strict, but helpful teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2009

I went to brandenbug all 3 years and im proud to say that it is the best school ever. They prepared me for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2009

I am a parent of an 8th grader and am so proud that my daughter attended this school. She was on the waiting list for Austin in the 6th grade, but once we got to Brandenburg we never looked back. The teachers are excellent and Mrs. King runs a tight ship. The office staff are extremely helpful and the counselors really care about the kids. My daughter is so lucky to attend this school. We are proud Braves!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

Hey, Brandenburg is AWESOME! This is my first day for 6th grade, so i was scared... but most of the teachers made me feel right at home, besides the fact i never wear belts and i never tuck my shirt in! When I said 'most of the teachers' i don't mean, oh, there's some teachers over there saying 'She's from vial, lets just hate and ignore her!' I truly don't. There were all nice, but some (1) tend to ignore me. No offense, all my teachers were nice, but I'd have to say that (so far) Ms.Hewett, my science teacher, is the nicest. Though this IS my first day, so, you know... all you teachers out there, you have a chance to be MY favorite. :) From a AWESOME, really awesome, 6th grader. :) GO BRAVES! woo!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2009

This school was perfect for my child! She was having a hard time at first in the classes but with the help of Brandenburg's teachers, she got a scholarship to a magnet high school in Washington!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

My daughter is entering the 6th grade at Brandenburg for the 2009 - 2010 school year. Everything we have heard up to this point is been positive but they stress parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

Brandenburg is awsome! They have a great choir program. The teachers are great! This is my last year at Brandenburg and the teachers have realy prepared me for high school. There is also a great Honors pre-Ap program too. I'm in all Honors! CCBMS rules!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

374 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

375 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

376 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

375 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

372 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

325 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

325 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

321 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

319 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female97%
Male90%
Black or African American93%
Asian92%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education67%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)36%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Black or African American84%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education30%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)91%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female94%
Male97%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education73%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)91%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Black or African American79%
Asian80%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education55%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education50%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education78%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education67%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education75%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female98%
Male99%
Black or African American98%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education73%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students92%
Female94%
Male88%
Black or African American87%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education78%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)74%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female86%
Male87%
Black or African American68%
Asian88%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education41%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)17%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students87%
Female87%
Male87%
Black or African American63%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education47%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)13%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students79%
Female84%
Male70%
Black or African American58%
Asian96%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education24%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female96%
Male91%
Black or African American91%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education33%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education40%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students91%
Female91%
Male92%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education50%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education33%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 52%
White 31% 29%
Black 22% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 4%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • ELISE MOSTY
Fax number
  • (972) 926-2633

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

626 Nickens Road
Garland, TX 75043
Phone: (972) 926-2630

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Garland Aec
Garland, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT