Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Garland, TX
Students enrolled: 648
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Handley El 3

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
The first two years it was good, but this yr it has been about nothing but money its always send money they even made those kids pay 5 dollars to walk down the street like really what are yall making them pay for? Their time,energy and effort its just crazy my kids want attend here next yr..

Handley El 1

Posted March 17, 2014
- a parent
One of the worst experiences of my kids attending school. My kids will NOT be returning. The kids have so much bad behavior there, the teachers focus more on discipline than teaching, and the discipline isn't that great. This is my kids first year here, and if I'd known this was not a good choice school learning wise and with the students' behavior, they would've never attended.


Handley El 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
This has been a great year overall for my daughter, especially because I got to know her teachers so well. I would suggest parents to be as involved as you can be. Don't wait til something "happens" to request a conference. This is a great school.

Handley El 5

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
this is a best shool ! teacher take time to know the students, my daughters are very happy

Handley El 5

Posted January 01, 2012
- a parent
This is a GREAT school! Teacher take time to know the students,like my son was in kinder and other teachers knew him by name.I love that, security is A+ at this school.And the principal / vice principal ,well I've never seen one take the time to be outside after school making sure everyone is safe let it be crossing the street or even directing traffic.THERE EXCELLENT


Handley El 1

Posted April 09, 2010
- a community member
The students at this school are disrespectful and out of control. Do not send your child here if you want you him or her to get a good education ,

Handley El 4

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has attended Handley since 2003, the last year they had pre-k there. I have been very happy with her education at this school. Handley was a recognized school in the 2008-2009 school year. As with any school, the best way to get the most out of it, is to be active as a parent. The teachers and the principal are always available to discuss your child's progress. Handley also has a great music program, maybe even better some respects than some of the magnet elementary schools. 4th and 5th graders get world class drumming instruction through a grant, and the music teacher sets up numerous performances through out the district and city not only for the drumming group, but also Honor Choir, and other musical performances.

Handley El
no rating

Posted April 17, 2009
- a parent
I am very pleased with this school. My children have been attending since kindergarten. Every year they have great teachers. And the front office ladies are always so nice!


Handley El
no rating

Posted January 21, 2009
- a parent
Great school faculty and campus location as well as nice landscaping. Just need someone to open the doors at 7am instead of 7:30am..Yea before and after care could be offered i would pay for that...Mr. Jones

Handley El 4

Posted March 27, 2008
- a parent
My son did not know how to read when he started school this year he is know on the honor roll and reading at a second grade level i am so impressed with the teachers

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Handley El
3725 Broadway Boulevard, Garland, TX  75043
(972) 926-2540
Last modified Handley El is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Handley El Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top