Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Heather Glen Elementary School 2

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
We've been at Heather Glen for a decade (and have a decade to go). Until the new principal took over a couple of years ago, we loved it. Now, 90% of the staff we grew with are gone. One of my son's teachers is horrendous. Fresh out of school and has no desire to help the kids. she's in it for the authority and is very rude and unprofessional. My son received his first detention ever for not writing his name in the correct place on his paper. He has a great teacher that he loves that balances it out, but we'll be switching schools before next year. You can't get in touch with the counselor, and after going through testing for my son and getting paperwork for the school, it took several months before we had a meeting to get a 504 in place for ADD and anxiety.. and it barely covers anything. My son has been waiting 2 years for speech testing.... Parents can only lunch with their kids on specified days now. You aren't welcome at the 2 school parties unless you've cleared it with the teacher and are a room parent. You can't attend field day anymore unless you are volunteering. It's just a lot more strict now. Less caring teachers and principal, which is unfortunate for few really good teachers. A few years ago, I would've recommended this school. Now, I say run!

Heather Glen Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Moreau and Mrs. King are great teachers. They go the extra mile to relate to the kids and make learning fun. They genuinely care.


Heather Glen Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
There are good teachers. Many of the past great teachers were ran off by the new principal and policies. Now, many teachers are new. Some are great. Some are absolutely horrendous. The old adage rings true. If it ain't broke.... Very sad my youngest won't carry out the tradition. We've been at Heather Glen for a decade now.

Heather Glen Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers are great. Many of teachers are new since the new principal came in and changed everything. The students don't seem have a voice anymore, nor do the parents. Focus seems to be more on discipline now, rather than having a fun, nourishing environment that makes kids want to learn. Parents aren't even allowed at the two parties anymore unless you are a room parent and aren't allowed at field day unless you're volunteering. First time in 18 years of having kids in school that parents are on the outside. Bullies get no consequences while good kids pay for other acting out.

Heather Glen Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
All students tend to get punished for a few bad apples. The kids who act out, or even bully other children, get little consequences. So, don't write your name on your paper and you get detention, but hit and threaten another child repeatedly and miss a recess.


Heather Glen Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
I have 2 daughters in Heather Glen, plus a niece that just completed her last year. This school and the faculty is wonderful. My only complaint is that a new principal came in 2 years ago and to me isn't very kid friendly. I have seen many wonderful teachers leave the school since this principal arrived. Heather Glen does have great teachers who are very caring and hands on when it comes to teaching.

Heather Glen Elementary School 3

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attends Healther Glen and is in the 1st grade. The best part about Heather Glen is Mrs. Collins!! She is a wonderful caring teacher. I agree that the principal and the school programs cater to the non English speaking students and parents. I quit going to the programs and meeting because you can not understand anything that is going on.

Heather Glen Elementary School 2

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
Two teachers stand out head & shoulders above the rest. Mrs. Collins & Ms. King are true inspirations! The principal seems to just be sleepwalking through the job! Effort to reach out to non-spanish speaking parents is not there. The principal exhausts all energies on lower income and non-spanish speaking children, while forgetting the middle class students/parents. I've attended 'family' night at the school for two years, and the whole program was in spanish! I asked my child why didn't the whole grade level participate in the program and was told that the school only asks the Hispanic kids. So my child didn't even get to participate. Others aren't even given an opportunity!!! I guess I should be greatful because when my child was in the 1st grade, only the Hispanic families were given an invitation to attend! the principal needs to wake up now before he loses the school!


Heather Glen Elementary School 1

Posted October 27, 2007
- a parent
My daughter attended this school for four years. I recomend another school. The only positive experience was Mrs. Collins her first grade teacher.

Heather Glen Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2006
- a parent
I like the school and feel very welcome, I really like the fact you have to be let in be the office. My child likes her teacher and has learned so much in these first few months of school. She comes home and wants to show me what she has learned.

Nearby schools

Heather Glen Elementary School
5119 Heather Glen Drive, Garland, TX  75043
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (972) 270-2881
Last modified Heather Glen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top