Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
Good school. Last year there. Will miss it. The teachers are wonderful and caring. Staff is knowledgeable.

Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted February 16, 2008
- a parent
My children attended Hillside and we had a great experience. There have been turnarounds in the math department, but it does seem to be stable now. Math is taught at an accelerated level at all of the academies. Several methods are used to teach concepts, so that every child has a chance to learn how they learn best. My child is now at Austin and doing very well in math, thanks to Hillside.

Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted July 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hillside Academy For Excel 2

Posted April 23, 2007
- a parent
We have been disappointed in many aspects of the GT program at this school. While the ELA seems to be higher academically than a regular elementary school, the math program falls very short. The GT kids are not being challenged to their fullest potential through innovative, critical thinking activities. Instead, many of the concept practices are standard 'old school' methods of teaching. There does not seem to be a push to use teaching methods conducive to the type of learning the kids today need to be mastering. We have witnessed a lack of flexibility and desire to try new ideas. There doesn't seem to be a willingness on the part of some of the staff (teaching and admin.) to work with parents to try to find the best learning experience for the children.


Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted April 18, 2007
- a parent
I am the mother of twins completing their kindergarten year in the gifted and talented program. I am so impressed with the warmth and knowledge they have absorbed during this school year. Teachers can define how children feel about school forever. Mrs Hickman and staff have done a remarkable job!

Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted March 28, 2007
- a parent
Hillside is a great school, especially for gifted students. The regular students also benefit from the enriched curriculum and dedicated teachers. The students are involved in many creative projects and challenging assignments. All students have art, music, computer, and PE taught during the school day. Talented students can take enriched music and art. Fourth and Fifth graders can take Strings. They offer a variety of extended day classes two days a week including Piano. There is a very strong PTA and lots of parent involvement. My children have enjoyed friends from all races and cultures. There is a real feeling of family at this school. Last year, a student was killed by a car while riding his bike. The outpouring of support for this family was overwhelming. Our principal helped the Spanish speaking family with all of the forms and arrangements.

Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
Excellent education school.Magnet programs are good at teaching advanced programs. My nieces excelled at further grades because of the base learned here.


Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted August 09, 2005
- a parent
My child has been at Hillside for one year, and we could not be happier. The teachers are wonderful, and really challenge the children.

Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted May 13, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillside Academy For Excel
2014 Dairy Road, Garland, TX  75041
(972) 926-2550
Last modified Hillside Academy For Excel is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hillside Academy For Excel Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top