Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
A little bit of background is necessary for this review. Garland ISD has choice of schools, where you can request to go to any of their regular schools. Then there are the magnet schools, where you must test to get in. Hillside Academy is a magnet school for GT kids. I have two children currently enrolled at Hillside. We have stayed in the school district because the education they are receiving is very good, and the students surrounding them are smart and motivated. I do recognize that other school districts may spend more on their students, have more funds and resources, and newer facilities. It has been a temptation to move. But what those schools don't have is classes packed with GT students. Other districts might have a GT program at their school, but it is a meet once a week for an hour. I've heard complaints from parents in these districts that their kids are bored and unchallenged. So we've stayed here. I appreciate GISD for trying new things, like GT schools, technology schools, foreign language and Montessori. If you can get your child into the GT programs, I highly recommend it.

Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
My son finished kindergarten, and he was excited about going to school everyday. His reading level jumped higher than we ever expected by the end of the year. Parents are very involved, which is wonderful to see. Most of the teachers seem to be extremely caring. I hope that the change in teachers work out well this school year. So far, so good! Keep up the great work, Eagles!


Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
Good school. Last year there. Will miss it. The teachers are wonderful and caring. Staff is knowledgeable.

Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted February 16, 2008
- a parent
My children attended Hillside and we had a great experience. There have been turnarounds in the math department, but it does seem to be stable now. Math is taught at an accelerated level at all of the academies. Several methods are used to teach concepts, so that every child has a chance to learn how they learn best. My child is now at Austin and doing very well in math, thanks to Hillside.

Hillside Academy For Excel 2

Posted April 23, 2007
- a parent
We have been disappointed in many aspects of the GT program at this school. While the ELA seems to be higher academically than a regular elementary school, the math program falls very short. The GT kids are not being challenged to their fullest potential through innovative, critical thinking activities. Instead, many of the concept practices are standard 'old school' methods of teaching. There does not seem to be a push to use teaching methods conducive to the type of learning the kids today need to be mastering. We have witnessed a lack of flexibility and desire to try new ideas. There doesn't seem to be a willingness on the part of some of the staff (teaching and admin.) to work with parents to try to find the best learning experience for the children.


Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted April 18, 2007
- a parent
I am the mother of twins completing their kindergarten year in the gifted and talented program. I am so impressed with the warmth and knowledge they have absorbed during this school year. Teachers can define how children feel about school forever. Mrs Hickman and staff have done a remarkable job!

Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted March 28, 2007
- a parent
Hillside is a great school, especially for gifted students. The regular students also benefit from the enriched curriculum and dedicated teachers. The students are involved in many creative projects and challenging assignments. All students have art, music, computer, and PE taught during the school day. Talented students can take enriched music and art. Fourth and Fifth graders can take Strings. They offer a variety of extended day classes two days a week including Piano. There is a very strong PTA and lots of parent involvement. My children have enjoyed friends from all races and cultures. There is a real feeling of family at this school. Last year, a student was killed by a car while riding his bike. The outpouring of support for this family was overwhelming. Our principal helped the Spanish speaking family with all of the forms and arrangements.

Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
Excellent education school.Magnet programs are good at teaching advanced programs. My nieces excelled at further grades because of the base learned here.


Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted August 09, 2005
- a parent
My child has been at Hillside for one year, and we could not be happier. The teachers are wonderful, and really challenge the children.

Hillside Academy For Excel 5

Posted April 01, 2005
- a parent
This is our first year at Hillside and our daughter is in the 1st grade. So far it has been a good experience and the TAG teachers are wonderful. Parents are very involved at this school, which is a good thing. There is a wide range of extracurricular activites for any child to be in.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillside Academy For Excel
2014 Dairy Road, Garland, TX  75041
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (972) 926-2550
Last modified Hillside Academy For Excel is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top