Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 68 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


73 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakeview Centennial High School 4

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
WOW what a difference a few years makes! This school has changed so much for the positive. The programs offered... the sports offered... so many great new faculty who really care. I promise no one paid me to say this. Kudos to Mr. Rivera and his team. There are some amazing teacher and a very positive atmosphere. My kids love it there now. SO GLAD we came back to LC. I think it is slowly becoming a crown jewel in the area. DO NOT believe the past stories - go see for yourself. ask the kids. kinda shocking really.

Lakeview Centennial High School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
Lakeview's Principal Mr. Rivera has really opened up this school's communication paths with students, parents and teachers...a feat that is incredible especially at the high school level! Lakeview now has so much more than the magnet programs and college opportunities, it has real school spirit a welcoming spirit for all families!


Lakeview Centennial High School 4

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
Lakeview is a diverse school with many opportunities for a variety of students. The academics are top notch with students able to graduate with an associates degree as well as their high school diploma. LCHS also serves as a magnet and gives students the chance to try hands on the legal/criminal justice field, entrepreneurship, and television. If that wasn't enough dance and gymnastics are also offered. Assimilating into the school culture for students is easy as the student body is welcoming and students are very active.

Lakeview Centennial High School 4

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
Lakeview Centennial High School, Garland, TX We finally have a WONDERFUL and VERY SUPPORTIVE Principal. Mr. Rivera is such a BLESSING! he is always there for students, parents, and staff. he supports the students and is very positive! I am so glad he is here and is already making a difference. We need more parent involvement! Better communication between teachers and the "goings on" just because they play announcements doesn't mean all the teachers play them, all the students are paying attention! that information needs to reach the PARENTS! I'm proud to be a Lakeview parent! we have a lot of GREAT things at Lakeview and need to improve on a few. Teacher parent communication needs improvement. Teacher student communication needs improvement. Some teachers are really great and help the students achieve. Some do not care and that is a shame! I'm glad to see that Lakeview has academic pep rally's and academic recognition its not always just about sports and band. Great magnet opportunities. Great College opportunities!

Lakeview Centennial High School 4

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
Lakeview High School. Good college and career magnets. Plenty of activities and clubs. Need to work on dress code. New Principal, Mr. Rivera is doing a great job, is involved and seems to care a great deal. need more communication with parents! Need better teachers. A LOT of teachers here truly care about the students I wish I could list the great teachers we have so that the other teachers can learn from them. And then.... some teachers need to retire or get another job!


Lakeview Centennial High School 3

Posted October 23, 2013
- a student
Lakeview High School. Better access to tutorials! too many lock downs! Good school. okay teachers some are great. some not willing to help students. Lunch too crowded. School dances too crowded. I am a proud student and like Lakeview. just a few changes needed.

Lakeview Centennial High School 4

Posted September 14, 2013
- a parent
This school has an emphasis on developing college and career skills and focusses on students. They just got a new leader for the 2013-14 school year and so far, the changes implemented have been positive. I am looking forward to the rest of the year.

Lakeview Centennial High School 5

Posted November 13, 2012
- a student
grad from this school. i was the popular kid in class, still its about the student , AND how they let their friend effect their studies. teachers do care, its just the student in the class, if u get stuck in one of those REGULAR classes where teachers dont care, sit in the front and tell them youre interested in learning and they will teach you, i did this and more people stop talking and listened. Grad as a Collegiate student (: accepted to TWU/ UNLV.


Lakeview Centennial High School 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a parent
My son is a junior at this school and he loves it. He has thrived , becoming more involved with his classes. He likes and respects his teachers and I only hear good things when he tells me about his classes. He enjoys the choir, the music program. He's very enthusiastic about taking psychology this year. I am so glad that I chose this school for him. He's been a student here since the 9th grade and it's just getting better.

Lakeview Centennial High School 4

Posted May 30, 2012
- a parent
My son has been at Lakeview since 2009 he will graduate in 2013 and Lakeview has been great to him. My son is not the typical popular kid he is just a good kid who focuses on his studies. He will graduate with an Associates degree in Law and with many other accomplishments. Some teachers have been tough on him but hay there is no reason why any teacher should give the students slack. If you as a parent expect that then you are not helping your child at all. Dr. Hudson who is the principal is great to all parents and students. All students need to give it 100% effort because what they are doing is building their own future. The students are not there doing anything for the teachers or principals it's the teachers and principals who are there to help your student become successful and strong. Us parents should learn how to appreciate what this teachers and principals do for our students. A good student will succeed any where and a bad student will fail any where. Your students success does not depend on the staff of the school your student attends it depends on both them and you as the parent. Lakeview is an awesome school and has given my son an outstanding high school experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeview Centennial High School
3505 Hayman Drive, Garland, TX  75043
(972) 240-3740
Last modified Lakeview Centennial High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakeview Centennial High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 73 reviews. Top