Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

N Garland High School

Public | 9-12 | 2330 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Garland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $86,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2011

Our son attended North Garland High School because he was accepted into the MST program. He focused on one of the engineering disciplines as well as the liberal arts programs. His experience there was positive from both an academic and a personal growth point of view. The involvement of the teachers and administrative staff was always proactive and generally positive. As with most academic environments today, the administrative staff is somewhat restricted as it relates to being totally creative based on the makeup of their current class (i.e. over focus on TAKS tests). The student population cultural mix was broad which in some instances presented issues, but overall it was well accepted and adapted to. Based on the categories being rated here, additional parental involvement, ownership, and leadership is the only major area that would provide additional benefit overall. Overall, a solid school to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Im currently a student in NGHS. Im a softmore in the school. NGHS is a great school the band in wich im currently in is great we put alot of compason and dedication to our music the band directors are the best that any school can have. We take great pride in our football team and our school i love it here and i recomend NGHS to any upcomeing freshmean. NGHS 4 Life
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2009

My sons graduated in 2004 and 2006 from the MST program at North Garland. They both had excellent educational learning experiences there. They were able to continue their technology education and find careers that are both personally fulfilling and financially stable. For students interested in MST, NG is an excellent place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

I graduated from this school in 2004 and currently have a younger sister in 9th grade there. It is not the best school out there by far but I feel like in comparison to other GISD schools, I recieved a quality education with great extracurriculars. However, I assume, just like other schools, NG had a few teachers that probably had no place teaching and should have retired far too many years ago. Some of the more seasoned teachers are not really changing with the times very well.


Posted January 13, 2007

North Garland offers a great math and science curriculium for students. My son has excelled well beyond my expectations and continues to strive for excellence. The Raider Band Staff are fantastic! They continually strive for 100% from all of its band members on a daily basis. The staff are very supportive, interactive, and challenging. I would recommend North Garland High to any upcoming student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

Great Orchestra Program and friendly staff! The Multimedia Program can't be beat at any high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2004

This school has come a long way in a short time. NG's football teem is on the rise and has a good chance of going to playoffs. The band is going all out as well as the vollyball. As in the past we have high expectations for our basketball team. I can't get enough of the great teachers especialy Mrs. Suliven, she really cares. As for the earlier coment about clases being too crouded I only wish that parent would have looked at the other schools in this city. All but garland have a higher average of students in a class. Also pertaining to the comment of the school having too many distractions and students grades droping off I know many students that are still on the honor roll so maybe it was just your kids not working. I love NG and I always will.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2004

I think this is the worse school my children have ever went to. I have never seen a school that has so much red tape in my life to excuse a child for being tardy or absent. It's ridiculous. I would hope someone investigates this school's practices. Not only this school, but the GISD period. It is unfair to minorities. No my child is not rude, a trouble maker, as a matter of fact she is in advanced classes and is doing pretty well. I would not recomment this school if you are a minority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

My children were students at this school 2003-2004 and I was very dissatisfied with the leader ship and the teachers. My daughter has always been a a/b student but at this school it is too many distractions, bad routie kids no control over the classrooms and not enough teachers who care, so when my childrens grades dropped I decided it was time to pack up and move around so my children can get a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2003

In the last year I have had to interface with the principals and many teachers of North Garland due to my son's illness. I have never encountered a more caring, professional group of people in my years as a mom. They bent over backwards to help him. My daugher is also here. She is in the Math, Science Technology program. It's the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The North Garland band has great leadership. The band directors are a great insperation to our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I have 2 students at NGHS. I feel the school is over crowded. Kids with needs fall through the cracks. Because of the teacher/student ratio in each class, I feel the teachers are overwhelmed causing some of them to be indifferent rather than involved in the students success or failure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I am currently a student at this high school and I think it is a great school. This is the most diversified school there is. There may not be a lot of teachers who taught at the school for a long time but there is dedication in every teacher. NGHS is a great school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

531 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

531 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

556 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

550 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

545 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

552 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

479 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

480 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

472 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female96%
Male91%
Black or African American94%
Asian95%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special education50%
Limited English proficient (LEP)31%

Math

All Students87%
Female90%
Male85%
Black or African American88%
Asian95%
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Special education39%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American95%
Asian96%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female98%
Male97%
Black or African American98%
Asian99%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

583 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

480 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

611 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

643 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
57%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

487 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

487 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

507 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
98%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
61%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

581 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students82%
Female86%
Male79%
Black or African American82%
Asian97%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education44%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
Black or African American90%
Asian96%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education52%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)34%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students86%
Female91%
Male81%
Black or African American93%
Asian94%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education50%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students70%
Female75%
Male65%
Black or African American65%
Asian83%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial38%
American Indian or Alaska Native83%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education11%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)17%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students54%
Female61%
Male49%
Black or African American48%
Asian77%
Hispanic48%
Multiracial38%
American Indian or Alaska Native67%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education18%
Not special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)22%
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted52%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male80%
Black or African American89%
Asian93%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education50%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students56%
Female59%
Male53%
Black or African American60%
Asian72%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education14%
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)24%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Gifted/talented88%
Non-Gifted54%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Black or African American91%
Asian94%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education55%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students86%
Female85%
Male86%
Black or African American88%
Asian96%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education64%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)31%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students80%
Female76%
Male84%
Black or African American88%
Asian85%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education58%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 17% 4%
Black 15% 13%
White 11% 29%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 7%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DAN CUMMINGS
Fax number
  • (972) 675-3145

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2109 West Buckingham Road
Garland, TX 75042
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 675-3120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT