Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southgate Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Great school but change was needed. Love the direction the new principal, Mr. Darden is making. The staff is friendly and most teachers work hard for the students, others really should retire.

Southgate Elementary School 4

Posted December 10, 2011
- a parent
The school is good. I have 1son that attended @Southgate & another who is still there. Only one complain with one teacher who was very unfair&lazy! Made my son feel unsure of himself&low self esteem. I was very unhappy with her(Mrs. James). That's the only problem I have had. But otherwise all teachers are great starting with Mrs. Francis&Mrs.Buckman. Both are awesome! Understanding,fair,helpful,etc. And the principal as well!


Southgate Elementary School 1

Posted April 08, 2011
- a parent
This school brings neighborhood home values down. You should visit this school before buying property anywhere in the area. If you are expecting a normal education for your child, do NOT send him/her to Southgate.

Southgate Elementary School 1

Posted November 22, 2010
- a parent
I really expected more from my neighborhood school. There seems to be a lot of bad behavior/immature behavior on the part of the kindergarten teachers especially who like to single children out and treat them badly. I have heard absolute horror stories about the librarian. She is cruel to children who are unluckey enough to get her attention during library time. She's made little girls cry.

Southgate Elementary School 1

Posted September 02, 2009
- a parent
My child went to school at Southgate for one year and that was enough for our family. Terrible neighborhood school. Thank goodness we were accepted into the gifted program. If not, I do not know what we would have done.


Southgate Elementary School 1

Posted September 02, 2009
- a parent
My child went to school at Southgate for one year and that was enough for our family. Terrible neighborhood school. Thank goodness we were accepted into the gifted program. If not, I do not know what we would have done.

Southgate Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2009
- a parent
I love Southgate. My kids have been there for 4 years. Everything about this school is fabulous.

Southgate Elementary School 1

Posted August 28, 2009
- a parent
This school has terrible communication between teachers and parents. Teachers ignore notes and doctors orders. If you have an interest in a good edcuation for your child and especially if your child is a special needs child, do not send him/her to this school.


Southgate Elementary School 4

Posted January 09, 2007
- a parent
The teachers at southgate are wonderful! Ms. Francis, Ms. Hill, & Ms. Barto made a huge difference in both of my children! Mr. Schilling is an ideal principal. The entire school cares very much about all their students.

Southgate Elementary School 5

Posted December 23, 2006
- a parent
My child is in Kindergarten and has some special needs. He is so happy and content. I am pleased with the extra attention he receives, and I see that he has made incredible progress in the last six months. I think Ms. Francis is great; also the Asst. Principal, Deborah!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southgate Elementary School
1115 Mayfield Avenue, Garland, TX  75041
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (972) 926-2590
Last modified Southgate Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top