Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Toler Elementary School 1

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
This school is good at indoctrinating children. Education is not top priority. They are forced to participate in the pledge (unconstitutionally). A teacher walked over to my son, forced him to stand, put his hand over his heart and told him that it's the principals decision, not his and he has no choice in the matter. My son was also told by his 3rd grade teacher there is no evidence to support evolution and she had pictures of Jesus all over her classroom. This is a public government funded school NOT a religious organization!

Toler Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2015
- a parent
Love this school my child is in the first grade and I must say that they are excellent and they really care about the kids and there education... Toler Rocks!!!!!


Toler Elementary School 3

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
I use to love this school until my daughter joined choir. She was very excited about this until her cousin got in trouble and she told my sister..When my daughter goes back to choir practice the choir teacher aske her why did she go tell and that wasnt nice..so I was upset about that because I feel that if my child did something wrong fine call her out but getting after her for telling... come on now that is why alot of our children dont say anything because of this.. After that I called to report this and the asst principal just really didnt seem to care. Oh well.. what can you do.

Toler Elementary School 4

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
toler is not a bad school at all, not saying it is agreat school, but reading some of these reviews its seem some the parents just don't follow there kids educations because my child was in performances that I went to see. My child had an awards presentation that I wen to see. I kept in contact with all of his teachers over the past 4 years. I definitly know the teachers he has had cared. I didnt post a grade on the principle leadership. 1st yr. so we will have to see.

Toler Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a community member
Great school! The staff works well with parents and students. Toler also has a lot of great parent training.


Toler Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2012
- a community member
I loved this school! im now going to 6th grade and will miss fourth and fifth. if your child is going to attend 3rd watch out for mrs.tallant, she is very disrespectful.

Toler Elementary School 4

Posted October 19, 2011
- a parent
Toler school is very good for Pre K, my son is attending this yr, Ms Harris my son's teacher updates everything what's going in the class every week.My son loves his school and his teachers:0)

Toler Elementary School 1

Posted May 12, 2010
- a community member
uncaring teachers it is wrong how these kids are treated and how they are bulling each other it is so sad poor job at this school plez dont bring your kiids here your asking for trouble god bless.


Toler Elementary School 3

Posted August 02, 2007
- a parent
My son attended Toler and he had some great teachers and then there was one that didn't care.

Toler Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 12, 2007
- a parent
Toler is a great school. My daughter just completed the 5th grade and I think they could have a least had a graduation and maybe a 5th grade trip like Shugart. They should have some type of award ceremony for the children. Hopefully with a new principal next year things will be better.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Toler Elementary School
3520 Guthrie Road, Garland, TX  75043
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (972) 226-3922
Last modified Toler Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top