Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Big Springs Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
The best school ever... We love to be part of this great school. My daughter love the teachers and every one at big springs.

Big Springs Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers! Great principal & staff! I would highly recommend BSE!!!


Big Springs Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
Having been at another RISD elementary school where the teachers didn't seem to care, I can't believe how much these teachers want to teach our kids! I love the communication all the staff has with parents. I can't say enough great things about this school!!!

Big Springs Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 11, 2010
- a parent
We moved here from Los Angeles a year ago and my son had a little catching up to do, I must say. Since attending Big Srpings, he has really blossomed academically!

Big Springs Elementary School 2

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Big Springs Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Big Springs Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Big Springs Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2007
- a parent
Great school. Fantastic teachers. My kids love it! Would like to see more PE and extra-curricular activities. But I guess there's school budget to consider. This 2007-2008 year, they're ranked as an Exemplary school. Top 10% in the state of TX. PTA of over 90%, what more can you ask. :)


Big Springs Elementary School 4

Posted February 07, 2006
- a parent
My child is in kindergarden there. The long-time principal obviously cares and is a good administrator; the school is well-cared for and sufficiently funded (computers, library, playground). Low teacher turnover, many experienced. The PTA is somewhat active; the school demographic is 70% middle-middle class (active parents) and part working class, with increasing Hispanic/first-generation Asian component, making for some ESL issues and parents less likely to get involved (different cultural predisposition). Like most Texas public schools, the pace of instruction is much slower than our private-school friends see; my child benefits from the positive social environment but finds boredom in the stutifying 'teach to the test' curriculum that plays to the narrow band of students who could fail the TAKS. Overall it is a very good school for Texas and absolutely fine for all but the brightest; just a bit below what someone from, say, Massachusetts, would expect.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Big Springs Elementary School
3301 West Campbell Road, Garland, TX  75044
(469) 593-8100
Last modified Big Springs Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Big Springs Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top