Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School 2

Posted August 07, 2011
- a parent
All girls seem to be favored here, boys are ignored. Teachers will make mistakes on child's grade and not want to correct it or even acknowledge it. You may be informed if your child is receiving awards at the school or you may not be.

Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School 4

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
My son attended McCowan in its inaugural year, his 6th grade year and recently finished his 8th grade year. I was pleased with the rapport between the teachers and students. Students are respected by staff and not treated like inmates, which I've seen at other Desoto campuses. The Administration address issues in a very professional manner which as a parent I appreciated and respected. I believe this school has some of the most talented teachers in the district and overall I was pleased.


Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School 5

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school they have a 99% passing

Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
Mccown is a great school. With many positve teachers

Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School 5

Posted January 29, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School 5

Posted November 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School 1

Posted June 06, 2009
- a parent
This school is horrible. The kids are out of control and the classrooms are over crowded. This school has the lowest TAKS scores in the district. I will send my daughter to East next year

Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School 5

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School 5

Posted May 19, 2009
- a student
Desoto ISD is an emaple district. Love the schools and the Teachers

Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School 3

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent
I'm on both sides of the fence with this one. We moved to the area about 3 years ago with my child coming from a Blue Ribbon recognized school in DISD. The cirriculum there was great. The teachers kept the parents involved in every aspect of the child's education. From classroom work to extra-cirrulum activities. The one thing about the DeSotoISD teaching staff that bothers me most is that the parents are so out of the loop when it comes to being able to help your child with the cirriculum for that school year. There is no parent/teacher communication at all unless you, the parent, take the initiative yourself to find out about how your child is doing in school. There are no intructions sent home with homework nor is there any feedback when your child scores a low grade on tests. Not a good look! Signed--- An unsatisfied parent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School
1500 Majestic Meadows Drive, Glenn Heights, TX  75154
(972) 274-8090
Last modified Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Curtistene S Mccowan Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top