Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cora Spencer Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 493 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2013

Cora Spencer is an outstanding school with great, caring teachers and a leadership team that is deeply involved. Our daughter is in the Gifted and Talented Program and it provides the extra emphasis she needs to be challenged. We look forward to our son starting Kindergarten in the upcoming school year and having our children grow more each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

I transferred my child to this school in mid-year. My child was behind as far as this school goes and the only thing they wanted to do was retain my child! As far as the teacher, she was nice and not sure if she knew how to deal with my child. I communicated with her on a regular basis. The school that my child came from, my child wasn't considered behind. With that said, my child was considered behind at Cora Spencer. Had a meeting with the teacher, principal counselor, they all agreed to retain my kid. Is that the only solution, really? So I asked about summer school surely this school has it, right? They offer only a two week summer school program, only for the kids that are right there on the tip of passing. That's not offering no chance for a child to catch up. So they just throw them to the side to be retained!! I have never seen a school that expect for 6-7 yr olds to act like little soldiers. They assume just because your kid is not a quiet kid, he/she needs to be put on medication. I am not putting my child on medication, do your job! News flash, all kids are not the same!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

The only reason to send a child to this school is if you want them to be trainined to be a little robot. I am so dissatisfied with this school this year that I have removed my child from it for next year. It's really sad when a child is bullied by a teacher and nothing is done, despite solid evidence to support the bullying. Other students were allowed to publicly humiliate my child and no one stopped them! I know this because my husband was there to witness it. This principal, while miles better than the last, failed to take care of my child when my child most needed him. The assistant principal is no better. While she pretends to care, all she cares about it blowing smoke to get you off of her to do list. The parents at this school aren't much better. Most parents are cold and unaccepting. If you are not a SAHM, your child will get placed in the worst teachers' class and you will be treated like an outsider. If you have a choice in where your child attends school, don't choose CSE. My child suffers from anxiety and stress headaches, and is now in therapy because of the hard time the teacher gave this year... trust me, nothing is worth that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

My child has been a student at CSE since kindergarten and I have to say that while I agree that the previous principal was unapproachable and kind of cold, the teachers have always been great. They are invested in our kids an want them to succeed as much as we do as parents. I am constantly emailing the teacher to ask questions and advice on how to address specific lessons and she is always open, friendly and helpful. My child is more motivated to be better and do better because of the new direction the school is taking by encouraging discipline, education and fun with their new college "houses". I'm also very happy that they are involved in helping families and kids in need. My child wanted to make sure I knew to donate shoes and canned goods today. Great direction and very happy with the new principal who greets parents and kids each morning when we are dropping out kids off in the car pool lane.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

We have a new principal! Yeah! This year is by far the best year we have had! The teachers and staff are wonderful! I can feel a complete transformation this year compared to previous years at Spencer and it's an answer to prayer! We love the Colleges that are new this year! My kids are even happier and notice many of the teachers and staff are as well! BEST YEAR EVER!!! The principal even eats lunch with the kids! So glad to be a Spencer Bronco this year!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2012

awful school. They cant even control 5 year olds. If god forbid they dont act like little soldiers , they are targeted as problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Although I do agree the the main focus of this school is the TAKS test I still believe the teachers and staff care very much of the students. This year is my son's first year at this school and after his first week he had to be moved to a different class to accommodate all the new 3rd graders this year. At first I was very worried but after they had a ice cream social so the kids could get acquainted with their new teacher I felt much better about the decision. She a great teacher and is doing every thing she can to make sure my son is doing his best in class. Two thumbs up for Ms. Molinar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2010

The school has under cover problems with teachers and the admin staff.. individuals new to the area may not be aware of the problems. The school has a turn over rate of teachers. Many of the current teachers are new to the school. I agree with the review that states the admin is cold, because they are. I also agree that they only care about the taks, because that is all they care about. Be aware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Spencer has such great and caring faculty and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

My girls started this school mid year, but they were welcomed with open arms. They made so many great friends (sooo many nice families in this area) and my oldest even got a perfect score on her TAKS test (after being discouraged last year b/c she needed tutoring). It would be hard to move again and leave this school. P.S. Drop off and Pick up for Car Riders, is the best and most organzied I have ever seen. P.S.S. Miss Tammy in the cafteria is the sweetest, kindest, most loving Lunch Lady. Every school should be so lucky to have someone like Miss Tammy!!! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

The teachers of this school are excellent. They really care about the kids. However, the admin is a little cold and really cares too much about the state rating. The TAKS test is the sole focus of this school. The parents and the community is great as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

Cora Spencer is a wonderful place for my children to learn everyday. The faculty genuinly cares about each child and you can tell they love their jobs. My girls are getting an excellent education and love going to school everyday. CSE is still a new school and the PTA works very hard to raise funds to get the children everything they need to succeed (and their events are fun, too)!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

Teachers and School are first class. There are issues with the Administrative staff and with the PTA. If you are not a 'chosen' one, then you might as well not even try to help out. Over all, the school is a great place for kids to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

My son loves going to school. The teachers are great, it's brand new and the education my child is getting is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Best school hands down. The principal, teachers and PTA are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

As a military family our kids have attended many different schools, some good, some bad. Cora Spencer is one of the best! The education that our kids received far exceeded our expectaions. The kids have learned so much and they have fun doing it. The teachers and staff are so kind and welcoming. Who can complain when you kids love school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

81 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

80 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

76 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

76 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

73 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female100%
Male91%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education78%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Black or African American87%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education88%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
Black or African American87%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education20%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female96%
Male100%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education80%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Black or African American87%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education60%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 31%
Black 25% 13%
Hispanic 20% 50%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3140 S Camino Lagos
Grand Prairie, TX 75054
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 299-6680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT